We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't ask for a better hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can't ask for a better hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel Herrnschlosschen was recently renovated and it looks awesome! We stayed in one of the suites and we highly recommend the rooms as they are very upscale and extremely spacious. The hotel staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is located just outside of the town square. As a guest of the hotel, you are permitted to drive into the walled city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    26
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
148
455
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham WA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Based on the rave reviews on tripadvisor, I chose this hotel for our 4 night stay in Rothenberg, and we were looking forward to this quiet stay toward the end of our month long trip in Malta and Germany. Things got off to a bad start right away. We had booked a junior suite with the hotel manager directly via email and had a confirmation. When we arrived we were told that there were no junior suites available, but they could put us in their largest deluxe room. I asked how this could happen in an 8 room/suite hotel. The person that checked us in and then the manager gave a lot of odd "supposed to be" explanations, and then the next day the manager said something about how Booking.com must have made an error. I reminded her that I hadn't used that service and had booked with her directly. She blew that comment away with some chatter. It was all very strange. We accepted the room, the Amaryllis, which was large and quite nice.

I agree with the very positive comments people have made about the hotel itself and the general eagerness to assist the guests. The restaurant was closed when we were there, and we were advised about this in advance which was good. What we didn't understand was that there were no inside areas available for common use in the evenings. There wasn't a lounge available for sitting to read. This probably wouldn't matter in the summer when their garden areas would be delightful, but it did this time of year.

We found the room to be very comfortable and the bathroom was large and well lit. The bathrobes were very small, and didn't approach fitting two tall people. There was an old schrank in the room, but the hangers provided were too big for the area where they hung, so we couldn't close the door. The location of the hotel made for easy access to the areas inside and outside the wall, and there were several places to dine at night.

My dissatisfaction with the handling of our confirmed reservation was increased when at check out, the manager tried to pass off giving us a discount for the problem, by "discounting" a rate for the Amaryllis room that was inflated from the rate for that room which we were offered in an email earlier for the same dates. In essence, for the inconvenience of not giving us our confirmed room we got a discount of 5 euros a night. We did not like this deception, and it seemed cheap for a place of such repute. They were gracious about driving us to the area train station gratis upon our departure.

I must say that this is the most critical review I have ever written, and I don't even like doing it. However, we thought this was cavalier treatment from a hotel so consistently praised. I gave the hotel a good rating for the possibilities for another couple, not for how we were treated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Our family with girls 20 and 23 visited several places in France and Germany. hotel Herrnschloesschen was the best hotel AND dinner we had all week. The previous reviews have said it all but the staff was amazing, the manager even hugged me when we arrived. The room, breakfast, welcome drink, car parking, was done to perfection. You have to stay here when you visit Rothenburg ob der tauber!!! It was incredible!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sbduvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rothenburg for 3 nights in early October. We've traveled extensively through Europe and this is far and away the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the staff couldn't be more warm and welcoming. The breakfast is easily the best we've come across in our travels. Our favorite time in the town was in the evening when the outside tourists were gone and the town was ours to wander around. Great visit and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don0256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
373 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been in Germany for over a week now and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed at, and the others were quite nice. Rothenburg is a quaint small town and the hotel is centrally located on a quiet street near the town square. It is in a very old structure carefully restored and maintained. Wifi is robust throught the hotel and the room we were assigned, number 1, was very large and tastefully done. The owners are in attendance and they are very friendly and helpful. There are so many amenities in the room that the list would be too long for the space left. Suffice it to say that when we returned to our room at the end of the day, the beds were turned down and there was a welcome note from the owners with a tray of chocolates. We had an excellent dinner at their restaurant Zurn Höll and are looking forward to the breakfasts we have heard about. We shall return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel Herrnschlosschen was recently renovated. The upscale rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel staff are pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is located just outside of the town square. As a guest of the hotel, you are permitted to drive into the walled city. GPS is very helpful.

Room Tip: Must walk on top of the wall, go to top the top of the tower in town square, and do the night watchm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony03801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rothenburg is a beautiful place. You should definitely go. Write wherever you would be much better. If you go to Rothenburg, you will surely have to stay at Hotel Herrnschloesschen. The hotel's location is very good. Staff were very friendly and interested. The dinners were wonderful, breakfast was awesome. Definitely take a full 10 points out of 10.

Room Tip: Suites are large and like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing