We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A combination of luxury and old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A combination of luxury and old charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

When we planned for our Romantic Route trip, I was quite doubtful that we would have an easy trip as it was our first time travelling or 'hotels hopping' with our 6mths' old baby. Having been used to big resorts in the likes of Four Seasons etc, I was worried that smaller establishments would not have met our expectations. Upon arriving Rothenburg, Herrnschloesschen was easily spotted. It is located right along the main street of the village, easily accessible by car. There were ample of parking lots right in front of the entrance. We parked our car and was greeted immediately by a kind gentlemen who helped us with our luggage. He single-handedly carried our 4 large suitcases and escorted us to the reception. I regret not taking down his name. We will just refer him as 'the kind gentleman' from now on. At the same time, Frau Haike also warmly welcomed us by serving us some nice aperitifs. The entire check in process was flawless, extremely welcoming and Frau Haike made us feel at ease by explaining the hotel facilities, the village's attractions and even booked us a table for dinner at Zur Holl. Without us realizing it, the kind gentleman had already carried our suitcases up 2 fleets of stairs and placed them in our Tulip Suite. Frau Haike escorted us to our suite, orientated us to the hotel's surrounding. The room was tastefully furnished with modern amenities yet with hints of old charms such as wooden beams, crooked walls etc. Tulip suite is a split level suite where you will need to access some low staircases in order to reach the bathroom and living area. Not a big deal at all and it was not dangerous even for our baby. The hotel even took the initiative to decorate the baby crib with 2 cute lamb soft toys, our baby cuddled them right away when he spotted it. I had some relaxing quiet moment in the luxurious bath whilst hubby watched over the baby. Every night's turndown service was a great surprise with offerings of delightful chocolates. Tulip suite overlooks the hotel's small garden and courtyard. I will give the hotel staff (all of them) a rating of 5 stars, given their commitment, approachability and flexibility. Nothing is too much for them and they genuinely appeared to be happy working at the Herrnschloesschen. Since it was the first time for us to travel with our baby, we of course forgot quite a few essentials i.e diapers! We realised this only at about 6pm when all shops were already closed. Frau Haike reassured us that they will get the diaper for us, and immediately the 'kind gentleman' went to buy us a super large sized diaper pack! Also we kept forgetting things in the car, the 'kind gentleman' immediately offered to retrieve these items without a slight hint of displeasure. By this time, he had already re-parked our car in the hotel's garage which was quite a walking distance from the hotel. For your information, parking at the hotel's secured garage is complimentary. The kind gentleman valet- parked the cars for all guests. Breakfast was a delight as well. The hotel offered ala-carte selections which consisted of bread items, preserves (home -made), fresh juices, hot beverage selections, cold cuts, cheeses and eggs prepared to your likings. Staff at the restaurant were extremely accommodating. We realised that they've prepared a table with high chair for our baby even before we asked for it. The location of the hotel is worth every Euro that we've paid for. Travelling with a baby is not easy especially when you do need to go to and fro your room to retrieve items or to facilitate your baby's nap time. The hotel is so strategically located that we find it so easy to commute within the village. We did not get the chance to have dinner at the hotel's highly rated restaurant because my husband was too embarrassed to bring a baby to a formal/ high-class setting. Our little one tends to get impatient and rowdy during the evening time. But we were highly impressed to see that almost every table was taken or reserved for dinner during the 2 nights' we were at Herrnschloesschen. The check out process was just as easy as the check in. The kind gentleman had already parked our car right in front of the hotel during out intended check out time. The hotel extended our check out time to 1.30pm without much persuasion, they showed empathy that I needed more time to pack my 4 large suitcases. Before we left the premise, the duty manager so kindly provided us with bottles of water for our road trip. Like I said before, this hotel has exceeded our expectations in all aspects, I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rothenburg. To the team at Herrnschloesschen, thank you for your remarkable hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose the Tulip Suite! It's spacious, has a balcony overlooking the hotel's garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreasWiegand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
143
445
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has a long history and refurbished to be very modern in the inside. We only stay one night and facing to the street side seeing the church. We are a bit of unlucky when arrive the weather is not so great but was warmly gretted by the hotel staff.

We have stayed in a room whuch was very nice and spacious. We have tried out the Sauna on the basement which is quite an experience on the first day. The hotel staff has helped us to reserve a very nice resturant in town which me and my wife have gone to try out the food which is delicious. It helps to build such a good impression on the town Rothenburg.

Unfortunately we did not able to have breakfast in the garden due to the weather but it is a very nice garden that we seen and take some pictures.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This amazing gem of a hotel is in the "old" part of Rothenburg. Finding it proved to be a bit of a challenge, but it was worth it! The owners were so friendly & welcoming. The room was spectacular - complete with all the amenities one could ask for. The city itself was charming. We loved it here & cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apete1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

After a long drive from Frankfurt, we checked in and were warmly welcomed by Ulricke. We had welcome drinks in the secluded gardens, while our car was parked in the secure garage, and our bags were put in the room. We stayed in one of the suites. We had our own balcony as well as a little "den" area. The bedroom was spacious, there was plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was splendid with a fabulous free standing bathtub. Decor was very tasteful with lots of great little touches such as cute cushions and ornaments, all adding to the special ambience of the place. The only drawback was that there were a number of steps up to the bathroom, and the hotel has no lift so this could be a problem for guests with mobility problems.
Breakfast was super - not a buffet, but the choice was good. Everything was freshly made and exquisitely presented. We had dinner one nite, which was superb, including the wine. The other nites we stayed there the restaurant was closed, Ulricke recommended another restaurant called "Hell" or Am Holl" in german. It was super with good food and a great atmosphere.
The room was spotless and well serviced and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
I would defininitely stay in this hotel if I wanted a relaxing pamper break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salutethesunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A gem, no trouble in giving five stars to this hotel. The garden where one can have dinner and breakfast is like the rest: Absolutely top!

We stated here for two nights in juli 2014 - two very warm nights, and the possibility to have a late dinner in their beautiful garden was much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Revehiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After two weeks traveling all over Europe, we spent our second day at Hotel Herrnschlosschen in Rothenburg. The city and the local history is unique and well the stay. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city and had a slight tilt to the floor, however it has been updated and remodeled and was very comfortable and quite. The outside private garden and dining area are relaxing at anytime of the day or evening. The food was also excellent.
Saving the best for last, the staff were outstanding! They were polite, attentive, and informative. On the first day I thought it was only a single person, however, throughout the two day stay we met a number of staff members and we were thoroughly impressed. This one is a must. We will most definitely go back

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms on the main street across from the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

What can I say....

This experience has been exceptional. Our company has found our official meeting location for Europe.

The service, food, facility, etc. i would rank 5 out of 5. I have never done this.....

Room Tip: Every room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing