We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, location and free parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Merian
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service, location and free parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very helpful staff: they made eggs over lightly, to order, at breakfast. Free parking next to the hotel. They have a lift. It was an easy walk to the old town center. They took my AMEX credit card with no problem. The view from the room balcony was not too great.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room that has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyEurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    30
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
18
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May, and only because there were no rooms available within the walls of Rothenburg. The staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and the breakfast is good. It was definitely overpriced considering you can (usually) find a hotel with charm and character in the old city for the same price or less. The hotel rooms are large but lack charm, and there is no A/C which means in warmer weather the room will be stuffy. I wouldn't recommend the beds for someone with back problems. The hotel is a short walk to the wall and to the train station. If you don't have an option in the walls of Rothenburg this is a good, basic option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeadventure2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were driving by and simply needed a hotel room to stay in, and arrived without reservations. The woman at reception was friendly and very helpful in showing us rooms and explaining the amenities and prices. She was also very helpful in finding us good parking for our car.

The rooms were basic, clean and functional, and the Internet was free, reliable and fast. A continental breakfast was also included. The hotel was also very nicely situated about five minutes from the walls of Rothenburg. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DietBoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Is on a corner intersection, but noise not too bad. Gas station on corner, great to get munchies. Great resturant across the street. Walking distance to the walled city. ALL day shopping!! Breakfast was the best that we had on our 5 country trip. Staff very helpfull and spoke english well. GREAT piilows and comforters.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

The service there is really good, but the rooms really need to be updated. The breakfast that was included was nice, but internet was not included in the price. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the town square so that is a plus, and parking is really easy there too. Everything was good, but the rooms, the bathrooms and the beds all needed to be updated. My wife said it gave it character.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2007

Wonderful small hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful, gave us great suggestions for lunch or dinner. The room was plain, but comfortable. No air conditioning as others have mentioned, but in May it was comfortable. Pleasant dining area for breakfast -- they were very accomodating. Sitting on a small balcony off the dining area for drinks in the early evening was pleasant and relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel directly across the street, very good dinner in a courtyard (or you could be seated indoors).
Convenience Store for munchies or any necessities down one block.
Short walk (10 minutes) to the walled city.

  • Liked — Friendliness and accomodating
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane wa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

Stayed one night in Dec '06. Woman at the front desk who appeared to be owner or manager was very helpful and spoke great English. Room was large and had desk, couch and coffee table. Bed slats snapped the first time I sat on the bed. I weigh about 275 and not the first time this has happened. Repaired them myself and took it easy for the rest of the night with no problems. Those familiar with German beds with no box springs know what I'm talking about. Easy walk into center of city, about 10 minutes to main gate. Breakfast was good. I recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank agedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#23 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#31 of 47 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merian

Property: Hotel Merian
Address: Ansbacher Str. 42, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merian 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome to our family-owned three-star hotel in the historic city Rothenburg ob der Tauber in Germany. It's perfectly situated in the beautiful Tauber valley, with its rich cultural heritage and natural wonders, and along Germany's most beloved scenic highway, the Romantic Road. We provide an ideal starting point for a rewarding and relaxing vacation experience. Our hotel consists of 40 modern, comfortable rooms. Start the day off right with our generous breakfast buffet and enjoy snacks and drinks until midnight at our hotel bar. We also offer half board and full board rates. Hotel Merian is centrally located and easily accessible from the A7 Autobahn. Our convenient parking lot accommodates both automobiles and travel buses. Please pay us a visit. We'll be most happy to welcome you in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Merian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing