We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Merian Rothenburg
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Short but sweet stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of our own Christmas Market trip as our half way point between Vienna to Cologne.
The hotel, I would say is, about 10 minutes to the edge of the city walls (Old Town). We stayed outside of the city walls as it is cheaper.
Room was large and had a balcony. Unfortunately was too cold to stand out on.
There was free fruit and biscuits, not sure if this is a regular thing as it was Christmas when we visited, but was a nice welcoming touch.
The hotel was like a grotto, decked out floor to ceiling with Christmas decorations of different kinds, staff were very festive and welcomed us to "Christmas Town".
Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from.
A note to make when out at night is to be careful of the roads as there is no traffic lights after a certain time and is dark in the surrounding area. Never known this before and is eerily quite.
Not sure if this is different in summer months. But please don't let this put you off staying at this hotel as I do very much recommend and would like to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    32
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
18
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here in mid-December. (We tried another place first, also on a convenient corner in town, but waited almost 45 minutes and were not yet waited on by that time so we left.) The room was clean, had separate beds for our two boys as well as our larger bed, fairly good size room. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the town. Lovely Christmas decorations around the lobby, stairs and breakfast area. Huge variety of things for breakfast-eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, juices. The staff allowed my boys to pick handmade ornaments from the advent calendar to take home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We always stay here on our tips to Rothenburg. It is located outside the wall with plenty of parking and only a 10 minute walk to the main square. The manager Frau Karin wiil make you feel welcome. Rooms are basic but clean and functional. Good breakfeast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetvoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very helpful staff: they made eggs over lightly, to order, at breakfast. Free parking next to the hotel. They have a lift. It was an easy walk to the old town center. They took my AMEX credit card with no problem. The view from the room balcony was not too great.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room that has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyEurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May, and only because there were no rooms available within the walls of Rothenburg. The staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and the breakfast is good. It was definitely overpriced considering you can (usually) find a hotel with charm and character in the old city for the same price or less. The hotel rooms are large but lack charm, and there is no A/C which means in warmer weather the room will be stuffy. I wouldn't recommend the beds for someone with back problems. The hotel is a short walk to the wall and to the train station. If you don't have an option in the walls of Rothenburg this is a good, basic option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeadventure2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were driving by and simply needed a hotel room to stay in, and arrived without reservations. The woman at reception was friendly and very helpful in showing us rooms and explaining the amenities and prices. She was also very helpful in finding us good parking for our car.

The rooms were basic, clean and functional, and the Internet was free, reliable and fast. A continental breakfast was also included. The hotel was also very nicely situated about five minutes from the walls of Rothenburg. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DietBoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Is on a corner intersection, but noise not too bad. Gas station on corner, great to get munchies. Great resturant across the street. Walking distance to the walled city. ALL day shopping!! Breakfast was the best that we had on our 5 country trip. Staff very helpfull and spoke english well. GREAT piilows and comforters.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Roedertor
Hotel-Gasthof Roedertor
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#33 of 45 in Rothenburg
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.4 mi away
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
#19 of 45 in Rothenburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merian Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merian Rothenburg

Property: Hotel Merian Rothenburg
Address: Ansbacher Str. 42, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merian Rothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome to our family-owned three-star hotel in the historic city Rothenburg ob der Tauber in Germany. It's perfectly situated in the beautiful Tauber valley, with its rich cultural heritage and natural wonders, and along Germany's most beloved scenic highway, the Romantic Road. We provide an ideal starting point for a rewarding and relaxing vacation experience. Our hotel consists of 40 modern, comfortable rooms. Start the day off right with our generous breakfast buffet and enjoy snacks and drinks until midnight at our hotel bar. We also offer half board and full board rates. Hotel Merian is centrally located and easily accessible from the A7 Autobahn. Our convenient parking lot accommodates both automobiles and travel buses. Please pay us a visit. We'll be most happy to welcome you in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merian Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing