We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baumeisterhaus

Baumeisterhaus
Ranked #50 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Cuisines: German, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had an evening to spend in Rothenberg and ended up here for our dinner. My son and I both had Schweinehaxe and it was delicious! Our waitress was funny and fast, and we enjoyed our meal thoroughly. The beer was excellent too! I would eat here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemini_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    54
    37
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Hand Fill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had lunch here on the recommendation of our tour guide - what a setting! the interior has to be experienced. We each ordered 'schweineshnitze' and received generous servings (could have fed four of us). The waiters were attentive to our needs perhaps we were fortunate that the place was not crowded . A large beer is very large. We enjoyed our lunch and would recommend the place both for its food and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting deco, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stumbled upon this place and was delighted by its interesting deer and gun decor that go all in the rustic ambience. We see a lot of tourists come in to eat here.

The service is busy as we hardly get any attention. The food was average as we ordered sausage and more sausage.

The seating areas are comfortable and if you aim for undisturbed conversations, this is the place to be.

The restaurant displayed their cakes and bakery up front and they look huge and good.

One last note, there seemed to be this practice of 1 high chair per restaurant in Germany. So if you bring a young child that needs a high chair, there might be a chance you have to wait for the others to finish using it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WingCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
324 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Yummy Desserts, But Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped by the Baumeisterhaus because our tour guide recomended it. We had already eaten lunch and decided to check out their desserts. They looked yummy in the case and I quickly spotted a cheesecake topped with peaches while my husband zoned in on a mango cream cake. We ordered at the counter and the gentleman there told us to grab a seat and he would bring our desserts to us. We received our desserts in no time, but we were told that a server would come over and take our drink order. We waited about 10 minutes before our drink order was taken and then it took another 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee and a glass of water. The desserts were delicious, but the service was really slow and I had nearly finished my entire cheesecake slice before my coffee arrived.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“broken glass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

It was a pleasant experience, the foods ordered were served in time(less crowded at that time). Superb interior. But one big thing , the glass in which the waiter served our ice cream was completely broken from the base, left with sharp open edges.A narrow escape from getting hurt.Wondering how come it did not come into notice?? Quarter of the base was missing!!!!!!!!!!!...It was replaced on reporting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baumeisterhaus also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Baumeisterhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing