We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Eisenhut
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
399
240
69
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
240
69
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas shopthe main squareperfect locationhistoric hotelno air conditioningmiddle agesroom was largecity hallold worldthe hotel staffbreakfast buffetantique furniturerothenburg odttauber valleyrental carlovely townfew steps
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were road weary when we stopped at the Eisenhut. We didn't plan on staying but the view and balcony and the well appointed, large room convinced us. Linens were wonderful, amazing views, bathroom had a tub which I had missed in Germany, and there was a fridge and safe. The breakfast was slightly expensive but it was a wonderful spread which we didn't regret. All in all, our stay here was one of our best on our three week vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Dennis D,

We were pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards from the Hotel Eisenhut Team
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having been in Rothenburg o.d.T. in 2001, I decided to stay one night this year while returning from Prague to Alsace, France.
Lovely town, as I recalled.
I book their parking service, so my car was later driven to their garage location and taken back to the front of the hotel on next morning before our check-out.
We were three : me, my wife, and my 14 year old daugther. Our triple room was awsome, as another person stated before you might place two or three Paris hotel rooms inside it, not to talk about the bathroom size!
Beautiful furniture and decor, too.
Breakfast was very complete, for a reasonable price. We were served by Heidi, a helpful and nice young lady that was always attentive to our needs.
Definitely a recommended place to stay if you visit this town -which is really worth a visit!!-

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear HugoH1955,

we have been delighted by your great review. Thank you so much for your time to write this positiv comments about our service, your room and the breakfast buffet - especially about Heidi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us!

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Eisenhut is one of the best hotels you will ever stay in. It is historic first of all. The choice of historic and romantic rooms is spectacular, much like a movie set, and wonderful. The restaurant serves delicious lunch, and if you smoke a cigar, there is a humidor that you can investigate for a very good smoke. The hotel is well run and is centrally located, near the Christmas shopping you might want to indulge in. I think of our stay there very often with only smiles. If you have had your fill of plain rooms in hotels you will be delighted at the decor and service here.

Room Tip: You are permitted to take a little tour to look around at the rooms to choose from.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraonorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear miraonorma,

thank you so much for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this nice review.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Thank you for your positive comments about our service and rooms.

I look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes from the Eisenhut-Team
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here 10 days ago on our way to Austria from Denmark. Beautiful town, drove straight up to the hotel and could park outside. Had booked parking, in advance, so car was later driven away to a garage lock-up, and returned the next morning when we left.

Had booked 2 rooms (2 children aged 15 and 17) -. our room was huge - about 3 Paris hotel rooms could have fitted in it. There was sparkling wine waiting for us and the hotel had already, on my request, booked a table at a nearby restaurant for us (review of this under restaurants).

Breakfast was very good and Price was reasonable.

Only minus was that by the time we were ready to explore the town, the Christmas shop next door to the hotel had closed 1 minute before we arrived, so we ended up just peering through the Windows. This Christmas shop is open all the year round.

We are planning a 3 day visit to Rothenburg in the summer and will definately consider staying at this hotel Again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear C R,

thank you so much for your kind review. We have been delighted by your words.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in summer.

Best wishes from Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Eisenhut as a family just before Christmas 3 years ago and it was simply the most magical experience with the snow, christmas markets, shops & medieval surroundings.

Coming from Australia we were so desperate to return to Rothenburg ob Tauber as a result of our previous experience that we booked into the Hotel Eisenhut for a couple of nights during mid January.

The Hotel was not busy at this time of the year and the management were doing some major kitchen renovations which did create quite a disturbance from early on in the day.The smell was also quite overwhelming as teams of men dismantled the kitchen and threw the old equipment into huge skips out the front. The Restaurant was open of an evening but the menu was very restricted (to the credit of the hotel we were advised of this restricted dining experience prior to our arrival).

Our family room was very spacious, warm, clean & comfortable. The bathrooms are a fabulous size and are just perfect for families.We found the mattresses to be too firm and they could really benefit from feathered mattress toppers. I also believe Hotels at this level should provide in room tea and coffee making facilities for their guests as a standard amenity.

We had breakfast one morning at a cost of 12 euros per person which was good value for the food that was offered. Service was excellent and the surroundings are fabulous.

As the Eisenhut is located on one of the main streets in Rothenburg it can be a bit noisy (starting early in the morning) especially if you have a room facing the street.

The Hotel is charming with so much history and interesting pieces that it's a pleasure to be able to be transported back in time. If you want to get a good grasp of what happened in Medieval times then a visit to the Medieval Crime Museum just down the road certainly paints the picture - the implements of torture alone were totally gruesome.

As a family we have travelled extensively throughout many parts of Europe and we would have to rate the township of Rothenburg ob Tauber as one of the BEST we have visited. Wherever you stay I'm sure you will feel the magic that this well preserved medieval town has to offer. The Hotel Eisenhut is perfectly located, the level of service is excellent, the Hotel is fascinating and from previous experience the Restaurant is one of the best in the area.

We recommend and would stay at the Hotel Eisenhut again in the future.

PS. And there was free in room WIFI which is always a bonus especially for the kids!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear mjp66,

we were very pleased to welcome you again in our house. Thank you for your kind and detailed review about your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you had a nice time with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience again. We try to give all guests rooms, which are very quiet and far away are the renovation area. Thank you so much for your helpful comment to the rooms, which are located on the road. This we will consider in the future as well.

We look forward to seeing you again and send many greetings from Rothenburg.
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews