We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet sunday in Rotheburg”

Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chesham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wet sunday in Rotheburg”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a very good meal with the family on a very wet and windy day in Rothenburg. The restaurant was very family friendly and the waiter was especially good with children. Food was hearty and delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amersham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    220
    55
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
501 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Reliable but nothing special”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch. The outdoor seating is nice, service efficient but the atmosphere a little canteen-like. Very touristy.
We had local dishes (Sauerbraten, Schäufele), which were OK but nothing really special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a great lunch here on the outside terrace in early September, 2013. We stumbled upon the restaurant in search of a family friendly place to eat with a good menu! The view to the church and overall setting was great, and my mushroom and pasta dish was one of the best meals I had! My husband enjoyed typical German sausages, and our toddler was kept entertained by the fun location. Only downside was the service was very rude, but we didn't let that spoil our lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Rothenberg odT”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

For the second year in a row......this restaurant is hands down my favorite! As a matter of fact, I was in Rothenberg odT for 2 days this trip and I only ate here (because I love the food). The patio seating is wonderful and the food is soooo fresh! I love the pumpkin soup- it has pepita seeds and is sooo creamy. The pizza has a thin crust and is large enough to split. Our female server (first day) seemed less than enthusiastic to serve our group of 5, but seemed friendly with others????? If I didn't love the food so much, this would have turned me off from this restaurant. Of note, they will charge you for butter and tap water. I would have rated this restaurant a 5, except for the the issues discussed in this review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
373 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch spot”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We very much enjoyed lunch at this outdoor terrace. Great service, good beer and wine. My plate of Franconian sausages with saurkraut was great - be sure to ask for bread and mustard. The ladies enjoyed their salads. A very pleasant place to take a break from your Rothenburg stroll.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmcgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Reichskuchenmeister also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing