We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed here many times and always loved it. The hotel is jut gorgeous - it is amazing to me to be staying in a building built that long ago. It is one of the main sites of the town - having its image on countless souvenirs. The rooms are unique and I like staying in different ones each visit. The family owners are very friendly and just great people - and they speak perfect English. Stephan brews his own beer - 3 types the last time I was there and I tried all 3 - all were great. Dinner in the hotel is very good as well. Wi-Fi works throughout the hotel. A perfect blend of old and new. If you visit Rothenburg ob der Tauber - this is THE hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joefromcincy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very nice traditional German hotel, no elevator. We arrived early and were allowed to take our pick of the available rooms, doors were open, just walk in and take a look and decide which one you want.
Old style furnishings and antiques abound. Beds were very comfortable. This was our first night in Germany on this trip having driven from Frankfurt Airport. Slept like a log. It was very, very comfortable, Breakfast was a good selection of different items and tea and coffee were both good and hot. unfortunately we couldn't have dinner here as it was the chef's night off!! I believe it is the owner...so I think he deserved it.
The town is just delightful, tons of little streets and window displays/ shops to explore,

Room Tip: Go early...pick your own!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephencanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

To me, the mark of a great hotel is you leave with no desire to search for another hotel for a future visit. There are several choices in Rothenburg, but I don't know why you would go elsewhere. The price is right at approx. 100 euros a night for a HUGE suite, the location is just a few steps from the city center/square and all other sites you want to see, and the owners/operators really make you feel like home. As a bonus, they also essentially provide valet parking for 4 euros a day; you don't need a car in Rothenburg, so you pull up to the front door when you arrive, they park the car for you, and then they bring the car to the front door when you live. And, as if it couldn't get any better, they have an excellent restaurant on the premises with a nice breakfast that was included with our room. For military guests, bring your VAT form--they take it! Loved it--and the name fits. It was a very romantic place for a Valentine's Day weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulliverTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and large. The location was very close to the center of town. The breakfast buffet was very good. We also had dinner in the hotel and were not disappointed. Parking is off-site but the valet service is good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinMom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our Family suite was perfect for my husband & I and our teenage son- very spacious. The bathroom was clean and very large. The location is perfect and close to center of town. The buffet breakfast was hearty & delicious and they cooked our cheese omelet to order every morning. A warm welcome from staff and everyone we encountered during our stay. Great service. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were delighted with a week in Rothenburg & this hotel - the Berger family are charming, welcoming, & eager to help you if they can. The staff were without exception, friendly, helpful & efficient. Our room was quite stunning - a 4 poster bed, spacious, attractive & with a bathroom big enough for tennis. No wonder several of the guests were on repeat visits. It is a photogenic building, just a very short stroll away from the main square. Popular - there must have been 80 people booked in for the Christmas Eve special dinner.
It is a bit tricky finding your way around narrow one way streets so as to circle & arrive at the hotel & park outside to unload. Car parking is a short distance away & the staff park your car for you & fetch it if & when necessary
Rothenburg is one of our favourite towns, & this hotel is a match.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we stayed here in 2011, we enjoyed our hosts, Herr and Frau Berger and their wonderful hospitality. The same held true for this stay. On this visit, our room was at the rear of the hotel on the second floor but at street level. Although the windows faced the street, there was little traffic or activity as it is a side street off the 'beaten path'. Check-in and check-out was quick, the included continental breakfast just as good, including the scrambled eggs and the Cappuccinos, and the rooms comfortable. The only issue I had this time was the bed being short. At 5'11", I had to lie with my head very close to the headboard so my feet had space at the baseboard or lie down at an angle on the bed. On a return visit I would request a longer bed. That aside, the Hotel Markusturm is an excellent place to stay with a premier location relative to the Town Hall, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a longer bed or one without a baseboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £120 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing