We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run pension, large rooms, nice place.”
Review of Guesthouse Edith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Edith
Ranked #27 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great place to stay at IN Rothenburg. Would highly recommend unless you are looking for a fancy place with a hot tub, exercise room, etc. Family friendly, large clean rooms, special linens to style each room, breakfast was great and came with the daily rate, big bed, furniture okay, WiFi, street parking. Staff is very helpful. While we were a mature couple, stairs are not an issue but rooms are on floors 2-4, so not for the disabled or those with mobility issues. All but 1 rooms are above the street (quiet side street), family rooms have best view. Everything in walking distance and the town is charming.
Rothenburg is a tourist center and best visited mid-week.

Room Tip: best prices mid-week. Pay close attention to check in times as family businesses in germany tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrErsatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Edith's place is beautiful old house in this quaint medivial city with cobble stone narrow streets and lovely restaurants. They say, the revival of this town happened because of the tourists in the early 1900s and it is still very nice and well worth a visit.

Edith has made up the room very nicely on the third floor. Large room with a separate room for kids and a passage for the bathroom with a large tub. Nicely done with cute touches to it.

Of course, the pain is the climb up 3 flights of stairs with bags and everyday. With wooden floors and steps, everything creaks when you step on it!!

Edith serves an adequate breakfast in her restaurant below. Her restaurant also serves very good food for other meals and is quite reasonable too. Only porblem with all small town Europe is that they all start dinner by 6.30-7 and shut by 8!

All is all, a great B&B to stay in and a fantastic city. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We spent one night here last weekend during Rothenburg's annual volksmarch (hike) through the town. We enjoyed everything about the weekend! The hotel is two short blocks off the markt platz w/ the town's rathaus. It's a 3 minute walk to the rathaus, and about one minute walk to Sankt Tomas Tur (St Thomas tower/gate), one of the many, many remaining city gates. Our room (201) was on the second floor with decent views. The owner did show us larger/family rooms on the 3rd floor that have outstanding views of many of Rothenburg's towers, rathaus, and 1/2 timbered bldgs. Our room was large, clean, warm and had a couch and mini-fridge. Everything was, interestingly, decorated w/ an Egyptian theme. We paid € 62 for the room and the owner provided street parking about 10 meters from the hotel/restaurant (no charge). There's also a small parking lot (paid) in the Milch Markt about 30 meters away. All of the sights/sites in Rothenburg are within a 10 minute walk of this gastehaus. We will definitely stay there again next year for Rothenburg's annual volksmarch. No matter how many times we go; it's worth going back. A word of caution about Rothenburg -- it's a huge tourist magnet in summer. Way, way too crowded to enjoy in summer with busload after busload of tourists dumped into the town each day. So, avoid summer and go any other time!

Back to the hotel/gastehaus. This is the third different hotel we've stayed in at Rothenburg. This is the only one I'd recommend returning to. Rothenburg has many, many hotels/B&Bs. We really enjoyed our night here. In addition, we finally found a great German restaurant (here, same place). We had homemade spaetzle (it's a German egg noodle) with pork tenderloin, cheese, baked and spaetzle w/ lentils and wurst. Both were great. Also (picture attached) a great maultaschen soup. And to just make the meal perfect, the restaurant served a really good (Engel brand) keller (unfiltered) bier. I'm a fan of kellers so I'm familiar. Engel was quite nice!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank silvio1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Arny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nblackface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mario Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith S, Inhaber at Guesthouse Edith, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthaus Alter Keller
Gasthaus Alter Keller
#4 of 34 in Rothenburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Edith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Edith

Address: Milchmarkt 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Edith 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Edith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing