We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gastehaus in Rothenburg”
Review of Guesthouse Edith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Edith
Ranked #28 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Wonderful gastehaus in Rothenburg”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our third stay here. This time we were in room 101 on the first floor overlooking the Milchmarkt street. We'd previously stayed in the room just above (twice) and I intentionally asked for a different room just to see another room. We liked the decor of 101 better. Other than decor, the rooms are about the same size/style. There's a large schrank, a couch, and table with two chairs. The room and bathroom were very clean and bright. We'll be back next year to do Rothenburg's annual altstadt volksmarch (the reason for our three consecutive February visits). The owner is very friendly and helpful; great hotel inside the inner city wall, and a nice restaurant as well. What's not to like here? Breakfast seemed better this year than years past.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great place to stay at IN Rothenburg. Would highly recommend unless you are looking for a fancy place with a hot tub, exercise room, etc. Family friendly, large clean rooms, special linens to style each room, breakfast was great and came with the daily rate, big bed, furniture okay, WiFi, street parking. Staff is very helpful. While we were a mature couple, stairs are not an issue but rooms are on floors 2-4, so not for the disabled or those with mobility issues. All but 1 rooms are above the street (quiet side street), family rooms have best view. Everything in walking distance and the town is charming.
Rothenburg is a tourist center and best visited mid-week.

Room Tip: best prices mid-week. Pay close attention to check in times as family businesses in germany tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrErsatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Edith's place is beautiful old house in this quaint medivial city with cobble stone narrow streets and lovely restaurants. They say, the revival of this town happened because of the tourists in the early 1900s and it is still very nice and well worth a visit.

Edith has made up the room very nicely on the third floor. Large room with a separate room for kids and a passage for the bathroom with a large tub. Nicely done with cute touches to it.

Of course, the pain is the climb up 3 flights of stairs with bags and everyday. With wooden floors and steps, everything creaks when you step on it!!

Edith serves an adequate breakfast in her restaurant below. Her restaurant also serves very good food for other meals and is quite reasonable too. Only porblem with all small town Europe is that they all start dinner by 6.30-7 and shut by 8!

All is all, a great B&B to stay in and a fantastic city. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We spent one night here last weekend during Rothenburg's annual volksmarch (hike) through the town. We enjoyed everything about the weekend! The hotel is two short blocks off the markt platz w/ the town's rathaus. It's a 3 minute walk to the rathaus, and about one minute walk to Sankt Tomas Tur (St Thomas tower/gate), one of the many, many remaining city gates. Our room (201) was on the second floor with decent views. The owner did show us larger/family rooms on the 3rd floor that have outstanding views of many of Rothenburg's towers, rathaus, and 1/2 timbered bldgs. Our room was large, clean, warm and had a couch and mini-fridge. Everything was, interestingly, decorated w/ an Egyptian theme. We paid € 62 for the room and the owner provided street parking about 10 meters from the hotel/restaurant (no charge). There's also a small parking lot (paid) in the Milch Markt about 30 meters away. All of the sights/sites in Rothenburg are within a 10 minute walk of this gastehaus. We will definitely stay there again next year for Rothenburg's annual volksmarch. No matter how many times we go; it's worth going back. A word of caution about Rothenburg -- it's a huge tourist magnet in summer. Way, way too crowded to enjoy in summer with busload after busload of tourists dumped into the town each day. So, avoid summer and go any other time!

Back to the hotel/gastehaus. This is the third different hotel we've stayed in at Rothenburg. This is the only one I'd recommend returning to. Rothenburg has many, many hotels/B&Bs. We really enjoyed our night here. In addition, we finally found a great German restaurant (here, same place). We had homemade spaetzle (it's a German egg noodle) with pork tenderloin, cheese, baked and spaetzle w/ lentils and wurst. Both were great. Also (picture attached) a great maultaschen soup. And to just make the meal perfect, the restaurant served a really good (Engel brand) keller (unfiltered) bier. I'm a fan of kellers so I'm familiar. Engel was quite nice!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#43 of 45 in Rothenburg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Edith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Edith

Property: Guesthouse Edith
Address: Milchmarkt 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Edith 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Edith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing