We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in downtown Rothenburg”
Review of Guesthouse Edith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Edith
Ranked #28 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our group of 5 arrived via rental car to Rothenburg on a very hot August 1, 2013. After arriving at this hotel, Edith met us and had her husband's car moved so that we could park directly in front of the hotel. This was a very clean place that is a block away from the town square. As we explored we could come back here to rest and refresh.......the breakfast was very good and plentiful. Edith really enjoys her guests and wants them to be comfortable. The only downside was not due to anything at this hotel. It was the weather with temps in the 90s and there is no A/C. It was very warm and at night we did open our windows and that helped somewhat. Also each room had a fridge so you were able to keep cold drinks avaialable. I had selected this property due to its location and price and was well pleased as it was as advertised. Overall an excellant place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyb3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Edith
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived by car and nobody was there. No problem! What looked like a doorbell had us immediately talking to someone who arrived in 5 minutes *and* reserved a parking space for our rental car. The room was excellent and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast was good. The location was just a couple minutes walk from the market square - EVERYTHING was within an easy walk. This was a welcome change from where we'd stayed the previous couple of nights so that might color the review a bit.

We joked that there'd be no sneaking in at night since the floorboards were so creaky - but in the room there really wasn't a noise problem (unless the window was open, as we had it due to the heat, and there are two people on the street having a LOUD conversation).

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family stayed here the night of June 1, 2013. Our rooms were up several flights of stairs, but we expect that when we stay in old, lovely hotels in Germany. The rooms were very spacious. We had expected a large room for the three of us, but our son was offered his own large separate room. The nice bathroom was only a few steps down the hall. Breakfast was quite ample and delicious. Location is great: a very short walk to the Rathaus square, but in a quieter location on Milchmarkt. Value was quite good.
My complaint: there were prominent "no smoking" signs on our room doors, but there was an extremely heavy cigarette smoke odor in the larger room. We opened the windows and it never went away the whole time we were there. I would rate Gastehaus Edith much higher overall if there was truly no smoking, but had to give it only 2 stars for sleep quality and 2 for cleanliness, both due to the cigarette smoke odor.

Room Tip: If cigarette odor is offensive to anyone in your family, ask for a room that has absolutely no smoki...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Great location with the town square being just a stones throw away.
We stayed on the 1st floor In a really nice clean spacious room and awoke to a lovely big breakfast (included in room price) of sliced meats, cheese, breads, coffee, jams and cooked eggs if requested.
Free wifi :-)
We would stay there again.

March is in the low season for Rothenburg OBT which is nice for a crowd free walk around the town walls etc. However some restaurants do tend to close early during this season.

Paul & Belen

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EggANDBelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our third stay here. This time we were in room 101 on the first floor overlooking the Milchmarkt street. We'd previously stayed in the room just above (twice) and I intentionally asked for a different room just to see another room. We liked the decor of 101 better. Other than decor, the rooms are about the same size/style. There's a large schrank, a couch, and table with two chairs. The room and bathroom were very clean and bright. We'll be back next year to do Rothenburg's annual altstadt volksmarch (the reason for our three consecutive February visits). The owner is very friendly and helpful; great hotel inside the inner city wall, and a nice restaurant as well. What's not to like here? Breakfast seemed better this year than years past.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great place to stay at IN Rothenburg. Would highly recommend unless you are looking for a fancy place with a hot tub, exercise room, etc. Family friendly, large clean rooms, special linens to style each room, breakfast was great and came with the daily rate, big bed, furniture okay, WiFi, street parking. Staff is very helpful. While we were a mature couple, stairs are not an issue but rooms are on floors 2-4, so not for the disabled or those with mobility issues. All but 1 rooms are above the street (quiet side street), family rooms have best view. Everything in walking distance and the town is charming.
Rothenburg is a tourist center and best visited mid-week.

Room Tip: best prices mid-week. Pay close attention to check in times as family businesses in germany tend to...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrErsatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Edith's place is beautiful old house in this quaint medivial city with cobble stone narrow streets and lovely restaurants. They say, the revival of this town happened because of the tourists in the early 1900s and it is still very nice and well worth a visit.

Edith has made up the room very nicely on the third floor. Large room with a separate room for kids and a passage for the bathroom with a large tub. Nicely done with cute touches to it.

Of course, the pain is the climb up 3 flights of stairs with bags and everyday. With wooden floors and steps, everything creaks when you step on it!!

Edith serves an adequate breakfast in her restaurant below. Her restaurant also serves very good food for other meals and is quite reasonable too. Only porblem with all small town Europe is that they all start dinner by 6.30-7 and shut by 8!

All is all, a great B&B to stay in and a fantastic city. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#36 of 45 in Rothenburg
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Adler
Zum Schwarzen Adler
#40 of 45 in Rothenburg
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Edith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Edith

Address: Milchmarkt 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Edith 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Edith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing