We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of charm!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Familie Gerlinger
Ranked #9 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Full of charm!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Gerlinger in May 2014. It was our first night on our first trip to Germany and after reading the reviews, I was quite excited to experience Rothenburg and the Gerlinger. We were not disappointed! It was easy to find and there was plenty of parking, right at the wall. There was no one when we rang but it was early afternoon. Quick walk and we were right in the middle of things. When we returned around 5 pm, we were very warmly welcomed by Herman (?) and felt right at home. Our few words of German were quickly exhausted and he graciously spoke English to accommodate us. Our room was the perfect size, cleverly decorated and very clean, comfortable and quiet. We loved being able to park the car and only have to walk a short distance to get to town. We were both quite jet-lagged, so it was perfect that when we were done with the Night Watchman tour we only had a quick walk before climbing into our first German style bed! Breakfast was very well presented in a charming room. We would definitely recommend and we would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY State
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rothenburg is always a great place to visit. We decided to stay in a guest house instead of a hotel this time. The Gerlinger is just off the main road inside the town and its quiet , comfortable and easy to walk to the town square. We rented two bedrooms and each has its own bathroom/shower. Clean, comfortable and very quiet. Herman greeted us and got us settled in no time. He speaks good English and was very helpful. Internet worked fine. The breakfast was good, typical European style with sliced meats, cheeses, rolls, jams. Cereal and milk, coffee and tea. The center of the village is a 5 minute walk. Herman made a recommendation for the Ochsen Winstub. The food was great and very reasonable. Large portions, and casual. We would stay at this location again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntgrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

this place was recommended by a local store keeper ( anneliese freise) and I'm so glad we took their advice to stay here. Very clean, host was wonderful, We didn't spend much time in the room, but found it very comfortable. A little tight if you have a lot of luggage. But for the price it was perfect.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthebarretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been fortunate enough to stay here on 4 separate occasions. Each time was wonderful. The location is perfect for exploring the city. A short walk to the city center, great restaurants, shopping. Rooms are always spotless and the beds are very comfortable. Evenings are quiet. Breakfast is simple but delicious...breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs, coffee tea and juices. Always fresh and beautifully displayed. The house is storybook Bavarian charm. Rothenburg has become one of our very favorite places to visit, and this Gastehaus is a big reason why. Make sure to catch the Night Watchman tour at sunset at the courthouse steps, and don't forget to stop by the Rock Cafe for a currywurst or Rock burger and a beer!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, ask for the apartment suite. There are two bedrooms and a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had my Father's 70th birthday in Rothenburg in December and we are so happy we chose this Gastehaus. Herman, the owner, was a wonderful person, the rooms were nice and clean and with a proper heating. Breakfast was simple but made with good and fresh ingredients. The town was lovely in Winter, even without snow! The location of Gastehaus Gerlinger is great, it's close to the wall so it's easy to find and you can get your car parked close by. We recommend especially taking the walking route on the old city wall. I definitely might come back some day :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Pension Gerlinger...it was delightful! Easy to get to, easy parking nearby, good location within Rothenburg for seeing the sights/shopping.
We had a little trouble when we first arrived, as they were locked up and had some phone numbers to call if we needed to check in We did not have an international phone to do that. But we waited only about 15 minutes, and a young man (Jürgen's son I think) came and checked us in.
The rooms were spacious, warm, plenty of hot water for showers. We slept well! Breakfast was so good -- a typical European breakfast, with meat and cheese trays, plenty of Brötchen, pots of coffee. There were also beautiful colored hard boiled eggs available. We were served by Susan, Jürgen and Hermann at different meals.
Even though this was in Rick Steves book, we were VERY pleased to find that we were the only Americans staying there. Hermann helped us out with our luggage, "because you spoke German to me!" he teased.
We can't say enough good about Pension Gerlinger and the Gerlinger family. We highly recommend their Gästehaus!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A short few blocks from the center, beside the wall and you can park! We took the upstairs apartment, 2 bedrooms, full kitchen. It was wonderful, quiet at night, plenty of space for 4 of us. Owner and his son were very nice and accommodating. Plenty of good breakfast foods. Really enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Spacious family apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Familie Gerlinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Familie Gerlinger

Property: Gastehaus Familie Gerlinger
Address: Schlegeleinsweth 10, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing