We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quaint, Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a perfect & charming boutique hotel in Rothenburg. We stayed here 1 night while touring the romantic road. The location was perfect along with the entire city. We enjoyed every minute including the breakfast in the morning. Would definitely stay again, only longer. The location is perfect as were the host's. Make sure to do the "Night Watchman Tour" while in Rothenburg!

Room Tip: Rooms in front overlook the charming street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were disappointed, upon arriving in town, to find it was a (long) holiday weekend. We'd had a darling hotel inside the walls back in 2002 and hoped to replicate that. Not for 75 Euros(in or outside the walls!), on a holiday night we weren't! We were told by the tourist office it was the cheapest available (at 75 Euro with breakfast) so there we went. Aside from Munich's Oktoberfest accomodations, our stay on the top floor of Golden Rose's guesthouse was overpriced compared to those the remaining five nights of our travel in Germany.
The room was quiet and we were thankful there were no additonal guests in the remaining upstairs (single?), so that we had the bath in the hall lto ourselves. Our hostess was pleasant and informative and the breakfast was very nice ... but 'charming', 'quaint', 'unique' or even 'updated' were not words i would use to describe Golden Rose.

Room Tip: Guesthouse, if no others are staying there, at least presents a cheap(er) quieter option to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early June 2008. We arrived in the late evening and were greeted by a middle-aged woman who showed us to our rooms, and even offered us each a beer to take with us upstairs (which became our favorite beer of all time). The large bedroom we had was on the top floor. We shared the bathroom across the hall with either 1 or 2 other guests. It overlooked the street, which we loved. It was quiet at night, and sunny in the day. The bathroom was also nice. The inn keeper was very nice and helpful. The food in the morning was very good too. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This formerly family run hotel used to be a joy to stay in. So after arriving in Rothenburg after traveling 20 hours from the States I headed straight there for some shut-eye.

Upon arrival I found the place was now a boutique hotel. The downstairs was completely remodeled. They no longer have a restaurant and the prices have increased. The welcome was very business-like with a request to charge us before our stay which I found unusual in my European experiences.

For 65 Euro a night the room was clean. We were in the main building facing the street so noise was a factor. Breakfast was ample. NO PARKING is also a minus for those of us with rental cars.

All-in-all better places to stay for less money in Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We were allocated a ground-floor room in the hotel’s guesthouse (an annex behind the main hotel in the back garden), which I gather, is less salubrious than rooms housed in the main building. Our room was pretty awful—think cheap ugly ‘80s pine furniture, dark-blue carpet and a burgundy ‘feature’ wall.

The ‘bathroom’ was little better—everything was decades old and either brown or avocado. Annoyingly, our bathroom did not have a toilet—it was located in the building’s foyer. Guests have access to the unkempt garden (not that anyone was tempted). We paid €60 for our one night’s stay and although this isn’t all that much, it felt overpriced for this place.

On a positive note, the buffet breakfast was good and presented with care. The small street-facing breakfast room, although very dated, was bathed in morning sunlight. If you do book into this hotel, I would recommend that you request a room overlooking the street in the main hotel building (the boutique hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETAOXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben-Inside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que dan a la calle principal tienen la mejor vista!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
4.9 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.5 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose

Address: Spitalgasse 28, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £85 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet, celebrate, relax, enjoy...With quality and comfort, we ensure that your stay is a success. We want to take the opportunity to call your attraktion on our Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Our house is centrally and yet quietly situated within the historical city walls, is surrounded by Old Cit gardens and traditional "Fachwerk" houses in the “Spitalviertel”, and only five minutes away from Rothenburg's marketplace. A hotel where you can relax and enjoy. Our house is family-run and it shows, because we put our hearts into it - Hospitality with Heart! The venerable walls are steeped with the innovative spirit and sincere friendliness of our whole team. Our enthusiasm and dedication combined with personalized service for our guests is reflected in every corner and in every detail. We're very pleased to be able to welcome you to our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing