We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Pillows Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Pillows Ever”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in September and wouldn't return.

The good:
Not far from the town walls (about a 10 min walk)
Good shower pressure and heat
Free Parking at back of hotel
Free wifi throughout hotel

The bad:
The pillows were insanely uncomfortable. Barely even pillows.
Bed sheets were yellowed from aging.
Bath towel was yellow and tattered. Not white and soft.
TV gave off a blue light when turned off that lit up the entire room.

Overall I had an awful night sleep and woke up sore so I wouldn't return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    56
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay even though it was very hot while we were there in late July and there is no air conditioning in the rooms; ended up buying a fan which helped a great deal. Most of the staff seemed to speak limited english but they tried very hard to help when they could. Breakfast was great and I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The hotel is basic, clean & friendly. Fine for a short stay. There is plenty of parking & it is a short walk into the centre. Unfortunately in the heat of summer with no air con it is very warm. The only solution is to sleep with the window open. However due to being by a busy main road & by a petrol station this is a very noisy solution. With the double glazed window closed the noise is blocked out, but the heat will get you. For this reason I cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vmnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Room was small and noisy as we had to have the window open due to no aircon . We overlooked the traffic lights right outside the hotel so lots of traffic noise. Sofa bed was uncomfortable. Food in restaurant was average . OK for one night but wouldn't want to stay any longer . Rothenburg is fantastic and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGwailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Nice rooms, even the road side of the hotel is quiet. Parking is ample. There is a supermaket down the street with everythng that you might not want to buy from the mini bar. It is within walking distance of the town center and has a great beer garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very clean and well kept, inside and out. What we noticed more than anything was the helpful and friendly nature of the staff. When we had last minute changes in plans, the management were very obliging and helpful. Their dining area serves breakfast lunch and dinner. Although we didn't have dinner there, breakfast and lunch were well above average. The hotel is right on the main street in Rothenburg and is quite walkable to the old city. Parking is supplied at the hotel.The rooms are mostly located at the back, away from the main street, as was our room. Clean, quiet and well appointed, wifi included. We would definitely stay here again. Fantastic value and a great staff well versed in the history and "must-sees" of the area

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were really impressed. Like others, I chose the hotel for convenience of driving. It was just off the main road leading in to rothenbourg, easy to find and loads of space for the car. The room was lovely, clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was amazing, the homemade jams were lovely and i liked the way they had drawn faces on the eggs! 5-10 min walk into the walls, such a gorgeous town, spent our eves there found some lovely restaurants. It was a great place to base oursleves on the romantic road, drove to wurzburg for a day which was fantastic and then headed down to the alps. Was a wonderful memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass

Property: TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
Address: Ansbacher Str. 39, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing