We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restaurant with good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo

Michelangelo
Ranked #2 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We went to this place the second day in rothenburg. My friend and I shared calamari which was very good. Next we ordered the steak with mushroom sauce. We ordered medium rare and medium but both came out close to well done. We just are anyway since we probably shouldn't have ordered steak at an Italian restaurant. We just really wanted steak the night before and the restaurant we were at didn't have it. The tiramisu was very good also. I would go again but try a pasta dish next time.

Helpful?
Thank carlove86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    93
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great atmosphere and very good pizza. The vegetable soup was also good. The service was excellent. I would definitely go again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhackler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Michelangelo has a very nice location just inside the city wall. The interior of the restaurant is very sheik and cool and creates a nice atmosphere. The service was very friendly and prompt with drinks, order taking, and food delivery. We really liked the Bufala Mozzerella dish for an appetizer. Both of our dishes were their homemade pastas, and they were pretty good (not fabulous, but surely tasty). With an appetizer, main dishes and four beverages we paid around €50, so not too bad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UGADawg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelo1000, Inhaber at Michelangelo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte/geehrter UGA Dawq2006,

wir bedanken uns ganz herzlich für diese tolle Bewertung. Besonders stolz macht uns ihr Kommentar hinsichtlich der Ausstattung und Atmosphäre unseres Restaurants.

Es ist schön zu lesen, dass die Servicequalität gut war. Dieses Lob und ihre Bewertung leiten wir gerne an unser Team weiter.

Wir bedauern nur sehr, dass wir ihre Erwartungshaltungen nicht zu 100 Prozent erfüllen konnten.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns eine weitere Chance geben und unsere anderen Gerichte probieren, in der Hoffnung damit Ihren Geschmack noch besser zu treffen!


Das Team des Michelangelo Rothenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All round excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently had an amazing meal in this delightful Italian restaurant on a snowy evening. Other places we tried were not opening before 6.30 or 7 but this place appeared to be open all day long. The service and the food were of top quality. They have an eye for detail - the croutons were served with the soup in a separate dish so they were not soggy but crisp and could be added as desired. We had salmon steaks for our main course and they were very generous portions cooked to perfection with good fresh vegetables. We chose creme brulee for desert and this too was magnificent. An all round winner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AceReviewerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelo1000, Inhaber at Michelangelo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Mr/Miss AceReviewerEngland

thank you for your great rating and feedback for our restaurant. For us it is always a pleasure if we are called "An all round winner". We always try to keep our quality level high and when people come back again and are always satisfied, we know that we are at the wright way.

We hope to welcome you again at our restaurant. Till then.

Best regards,
The Michelangelo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't get duck special get something simple”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

EverythIng was fine here except my duck leg. Either they have no idea how to prepare this or they ran out of pre cooked duck leg and did not want to admit it. As soon as I got it I knew there was a problem because it was impossible to cut. We had waited 45 minutes for our food to arrive at the table. So I think they only cooked it 45 minutes. I have cooked duck before at home. A small leg which this was not took a full hour to cook to an edible point. If a restaurant is going to offer a special like this it must be pre cooked in part. This large leg would likely take an hour and a half total cooking time. So either they do not know how to prepare this or they just do not care to give a tourist a bad meal. As soon as I got it I said it is not cooked. They looked at me blankly. Then they watched me struggle to try to eat it for another hour. I sawed at the duck with a steak knife and it almost flew in the face of the lady next to me it required so much force to saw a piece off. When I had eaten what I could they asked me how it was. I said honestly it was very difficult to eat. They said nothing. They offered nothing for my inconvienience. Luckily the salad I ordered was decent as was the wine. My husbands salmon was over cooked. All I can say is it was not German food, but it was still a disaster.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsAnnaNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelo1000, Inhaber at Michelangelo, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Restaurant Michelangelo and the comments you made during your last stay at Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our guests taking their time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

I was very sorry to hear about your disappointment about your visit in our restaurant and I would like to take the opportunity to express my regrets about not meeting your expectations. 

We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted. It is my sincere hope that this experience does not keep you up from coming back to the Restaurant Michelangelo in Rothenburg.

With best regards

Restaurant Haerlin
at Fairmont Restaurant Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michelangelo also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing