We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It made my trip perfect!”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Rothenberg is a gem! And stay in the wall of the town? Yes, what an experience! 2-day stay in Burghotel made a perfect ending to my 21days trip in Europe. With all due diligence, I highly recommend the room with valley view. The view over the valley out of the town is spectacular. Room is charming and elegant, breakfast is good. Cannot ask for more!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triscart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Hotelguest,
thank you very much for your e-mail. Breakfast on the wall at our hotel is really special. From next year on we will even offer a suite with balcony, not only for breakfast but also for a glass of wine in the evening.
Hope to see you again.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel is built into the wall of this medieval city. It is a beautiful hotel with delightful rooms and amazing views. The staff are SO nice. We borrowed some bikes and raod around the town. This is a must not miss place and staying here is THE best place you could stay. We WILL come back here and stay longer!
What an amazing experience and a delightful breakfast looking over the distant hills.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndyLipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Hotelguest, thank you for your review. I am glad you liked our hotel. For families we will have even more options.
Hope to see you again
Gabriele Berger-Klatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My room (12 on 2nd floor) looked just as it does on the website. It had 3 windows: two facing the street/roof tops & one looking into the garden. The bed was comfortable although the pillows seemed to be filled with synthetic balls rather than feathers but they were soft & supportive.

There was a sofa & two safes (one was not bolted to the wall though). The bathroom could do with modernising but it worked well although the lighting could be improved. The wifi (free) signal was weak & could normally only reach the corridor or floor below. They had a nice flat screen TV but only German channels which seemed odd as most of their customers were English speaking. CNN was available for a brief window during the day which didn't help if you wanted a news fix before bed or in the morning! The room was slightly lacking in plugs now that so many things have to be recharged.

The breakfast room was undoubtably the prettiest room I have ever encountered in a hotel & had a fabulous view over the valley. There was the usual small assortment of ham, cheeses, breads, yoghurt, fruit, waffles, eggs cooked to order & cereals.

The staff were unfailingly friendly & helpful. location wise it was about 3 minutes walk from the town square.

Room Tip: I may have had one of the "older" looking rooms. It could do with refreshing, not because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabbekla, Owner at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear hotelguest, thank you for your review. You complained about TV problems, and we tried to explain to you that during the 3 days of your visit the chanels in German cable tv were changed and not useable. We even ordered a tv-technician to check and explain that to you. Meanwhile cnn works fine again, and soon we will have even more languages on TV.

Please note that we do not offer single room rates for solo travellers in high season. Had you shared your room with another person (it is a waste to use lovely room # 12 alone) it had been the same rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

When you walk in you see the 3 star ratings however I believe this is a 5 star. Many Americans stayed here and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The inn is beautifully maintained and close to town. The views are spectacular, the beds comfortable and rooms clean. Tea pot in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Hotelguest,
thank you very much for your e-mail. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We do not really care about the number of stars. It is not easy to gage a very small and very special hotel like ours. We received the addition "superior", which is kind of more than 3 stars only.
With best regards,
Gabriele Berger-Klatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

By the time we got to the Burghotel, we were already thoroughly enchanted with Rothenburg ob der Tauber. That our family apartment turned out to be terrific was just the icing on the cake.

The hotel is located literally "along the wall" as I'd read in other reviews. What was a nice surprise, however, was how ideally located it was for seeing the town. St. Jacob's Church was a block away and the Marketplatz at the center of town was very close by (less than a five minute walk). In spite of its convenience, though, the hotel is in a quiet corner-- just a great spot.

The rental apartment is not actually in the hotel itself but is instead half a block away in a different building. A parking place was included in the rental (which is very important if you are arriving by car as parking and even driving within the town is extremely limited). The apartment was located on the second floor and it is necessary to walk up a flight of stairs to get to it. It consists of two nicely furnished bedrooms with 2 twin beds in each (pushed together to make two kings, but could be separated). A third bedroom houses another twin bed. There were two bathrooms: one with a shower and sink area and the other with two toilets (one enclosed) and a large bathtub. Much to our surprise given the medieval setting, the apartment also had excellent, free Wifi!

The owner of the hotel accompanied us to the apartment, showed us around, and told us about the free full breakfast available in the hotel's breakfast room the next morning. He was very welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. Beds were comfortable and featured very nice hotel-quality linens (duvets), which is often not true of rental apartments. For us, this was the ideal combination of hotel caliber furnishings and service plus apartment-style spaciousness and sleeping capacity. Renting from individual owners can be a gamble, so this apartment's affiliation with the hotel was the perfect set up. Bathroom furnishings were also top notch-- nice towels, disposable slippers for our use, etc. (what you would expect from a nice hotel).

Ironically, this was our least expensive lodging during our two week Europe trip, and it was also our favorite. Finding accomodations for 5 is really rough, and when three of the five are teenagers it makes standard hotel rooms unlivable. This was a terrific option for a family of up to five, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night. We definitely could've used two and were sorry to leave.

The breakfast at the hotel was nice as well. Breakfast offerings were typical for a European hotel but also included made-to-order eggs, which was a welcome change of pace. My daughters especially enjoyed the heart-shaped mini-waffles. What was best about the breakfast, though, was the lovely room where it was held. The room was just adorable, and there was a very pretty outdoor extension for warmer weather where you can literally eat right beside the town wall. Very well kept and welcoming.

Overall, I thought this hotel in general and the rental apartment specifically were an excellent value for the price. I would recommend it enthusiastically and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripletmom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very nice hotel on the wall in Rothenburg, easy to see why this is a Rick Steve's pick! Great location, very nice room and friendly staff make for a great stay. Eating breakfast overlooking the valley was a very nice experience. Easy to find with the online map from their website or with a nav system.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandRfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Staying in Silence Burghotel is an unforgetable experience we have inside the walls of Rothenburg ob de tauber, the only regret i have is i could only stay here for one night. We booked this hotel one month in advance, with only family apartment left available. The apartment is located around 50m from the main building, and has a special parking lot should you are driving. The apartment has two huge rooms which are well decorated. The best of this hotel is the unique design of the rooms and its view especially from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £96 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing