We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and had wonderful experiences both times. Great view of the Tauber Valley from room 15. Herr Otto is an excellent host! Rooms are very quiet and well decorated. Easy walking distance from the main square.

Room Tip: Room 15 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark and Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed valley view room.

This hotel had atomosphere and full of silence.
When I arrived this hotel I felt as if I was in a medival world because this hotel and Rothenburg has a great atomosphere and history.
Although the room keeps good old conditions the bathroom and WC is new.
The room is clean and confortable.

The family staffs were extremely kind and helpful.
Their service was first class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Didn’t plan on staying here but we enjoyed it so much we were fortunate enough to be able to extend our stay. The staff/owner couldn’t have been more accommodating making the stay even more pleasurable.
The room we had was on the first floor, a large room including a four poster bed, large bathroom, and a generous size living area.
The hotel had various rooms for sitting and relaxing, downstairs they have a piano where I believe they hold recitals from time to time.
The hotel is right up against the town walls and part of the breakfast room has been extended (glass box) which incorporates said wall, allowing for views over the valley. The breakfast was very good, certainly enough choice using very good local products.
The hotel is very well located and also quiet, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Location! If you can book it, do it. It was huge, by European standards, with a sitting area, and a four poster bed! We arrived late in the evening after a long day of driving, and the owner, had our rooms ready, dinner reservations made, and the garage ready for our car. We had a view of the gardens, and our traveling companions had the view of the river. Fantastic! Breakfast, which was included, was wonderful because of the fresh bread, carrot and orange juice freshly squeezed, and eggs to order, made it really special. The hotel has been in the same family for 7 generations, and they get it right.

Room Tip: We had a view of the gardens, which was lovely, but the view of the river and surrounding area was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totentanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in an apartment located a short distance away from the other part of the hotel. Very clean and pretty rooms with old style furnishings. One of the rooms had a view of a tower and another a view of the garden. Breakfast (toast, fresh pastries, cheeses, ham, smoked salmon, cereal, eggs - scrambled, bulls eyes, boiled, anything at all! fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea) was generous and delicious! You can enjoy it on the terrace overlooking the surrounding hills and trees which was just delightful! Everyone was very kind, friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wherewillwegotoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here in early December (last year). I should have wrote this review much sooner. I forgot about it until recently while I was looking at a puppet we brought back from our 12 days in Germany. We named the rabbit "Otto" after the very kind owner of Burg Hotel. He and his staff were so incredibly nice. The helped us in every way possible. You just don't see this kind of courtesy much these days.

Their website does not have a way to book directly through the hotel but they do have a link to a booking website. Do the owner a favor and email or call them to reserve a room instead. By going through the third party booking website, the owner loses a big chunk of income. You've got support good people like this and booking directly is a great way to do it. Trust me, they do appreciate it. You'll see what I mean.

Thank you Otto! Of the many places we stayed during our trip, this was our favorite!

Room Tip: Book directly by calling them! They will show you how much they appreciate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanster2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Beautiful hotel built into the castle walls of the old city. Nicely updated, great beds, wonderful service, terrific breakfast. We had a suite on the 2nd floor that had beautiful views. Of the 7 hotels we stayed at in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and France, this was our favorite (and not the most expensive)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmoulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £95 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing