We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burghotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
521
102
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
102
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburg hotelbreakfast roomtauber valleyquiet cornerowners fathervalley viewtown wallprivate garagea separate sitting roomquiet hotelsitting areaolder gentlemanposter bedold cityfamily suitegreat bathroomeggs to order
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got a valley view room for one night for approx EUR 210 (including parking). The town is very pretty and the views of the valley from the room and the breakfast room are quite nice. Do not expect views of the town from this hotel. It is located at one corner of the walled town but it is a short walk to the main church and main square. Very close to the town corner garden which has nice views of the town and the valley - must visit.
The room didn't seem particularly up-to-date. They did provide some toiletries and bathroom slippers to warrant the 4-star status. The elderly gentleman at check-in was most pleasant and recommended the Markustrum for dinner which turned out to be lovely.
There are lots of hotels all over town but very few of them appear properly on booking.com and have enough reviews on tripadvisor so it is hard to compare. But given the price compared to other hotels on our trip to Germany I would've expected more.
Breakfast was ample with eggs made to order and good fresh fruit juices. The Christmas shop under the Christmas museum is a must-see. Unbelievable collection!
No elevator so if you have a stroller/pram/buggy or large bags, beware.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AksNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I ought to have posted this earlier - better late than never though! My husband and I stayed here in February this year. We chose this hotel based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and once again we hit the jackpot and more! this is probably one of the nicest hotel we've stayed in our lives: based on service, quality of rooms, and location. Of course the city itself Rothenburg ob der Tauber is also one of the most beautiful places in Germany, even in the dead of winter! Wish we stayed here a bit longer, but we only came for one night, by train from Munich. The hotel is a comfortable 15 min walk from the train station, through the main city gate (the Rodentor, make sure you stop and take pictures here and prepare to step into a jawdroppingly beautiful village). Keep walking through the Rodentorstrasse till you get to the main market square, then on to Herrngasse till you get to the end of the street and just turn right on Trompetgasse following the city wall, you eventually connect to Klostergasse and there it is, the Burghotel! I can imagine why a lot of TA posters had trouble finding this hotel, they came by car and boy, it must be a nightmare, the city streets are narrow and the route by car must be super complicated. Please, please do yourself and your fellow tourists a favour, park your car outside the city walls and walk in. This city is designed for walking (it is quintessentially medieval afterall) and everything is so close to each other from the hotel. It's such a shame to take photos of awesome medieval towers and gabled houses with shiny 21st century cars in the foreground!

Back to the Burghotel, it is as everyone says, worth every penny for your stay. We stayed in Room 15 right on the walls with a grand view of the Tauber valley across to Topplers House. As we walked in, both of us gasped, 'wow, this is so opulent!': it was quite spacious, with a beautiful four-poster bed plus a small sitting room furnished with vintage oak furniture, tea and coffee-making facilities and a luxuriously fitted bathroom (heated towel racks, awesome showerhead, herbal amenities, slippers and lots of warm, fluffy towels, oh my!), absolutely decadent. Our room also had a TV as well as free wifi with strong signal everywhere. Even though we were here in early February and it was rather wet and cold outside, it was lovely and warm inside the hotel. We had one of our best sleeps here, nevertheless we forced ourselves out of bed as we could not wait to explore the city. But first there was the awesome breakfast to experience, definitely a good idea to be up early as we got the best seat in the house! Right at the corner, glass windows on 2 sides, what a view! Breakfast right over the city walls with nothing but the valley below, words fail me, but wow oh wow! And don't let me get started on the food! It's probably the best breakfast spread we've had in Germany (eggs cooked to your liking, freshly squeezed carrot and ginger juice, yummy muffins, croissants and other pastries etc), it was sheer will power that enabled us to tear ourselves away from breakfast buffet, the city awaits. And what a pleasant surprise to find out that the cathedral was just a few steps down the street and the imperial museum just around the corner. Walking down the cobbled road felt like stepping back in time into one those fairy tales one used to enjoy reading as a kid. The whole city is so achingly beautiful! Don't miss walking outside the walls (as well as on the walls) to experience what it must have been like during 30-years war whether you were the besieger or the besieged, my goodness, it must have been terrifying times. You can walk right under the hotel from outside the city walls for an interesting perspective and just a few meters further you find yourself in the city gardens with yet more breathtaking views of the valley and looking back, the city walls.

Overall, this hotel deserves the highest rating of all accommodation options in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city - it is really worth staying the night if only for the sheer decadence of being a guest in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful property in quiet location on town wall. Spectacular views; recommend a river view room. Great breakfast, huge room. Clean, clean, clean. Staff very attentive. Private parking. Do stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loyal2Cubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Burghotel during our visit to Rothenburg. Just like the town, the hotel is pretty and full of character. The staff were excellent and the room (1 - on ground floor) was really nice. If you are looking for somewhere relaxing to stay that is only a couple of minutes walk from the central square then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful stay! We had a large room with sitting area, overlooking the roofs of the historic town. The breakfast room had a breathtaking view of the Tauber Valley and the town. Being literally built into the town wall, the hotel is really special.

Service is quiet and sophisticated. Breakfast was generous with many choices and - a nice touch - freshly made carrot-apple juice with ginger. Delicious! This is a classy place but not pretentious. There are lovely gardens all around and of course you are right at the edge of the old town - which means you can easily walk to the more touristy places but are comfortably away from the crowds if you want to. We were happy with our choice and enjoyed Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews