We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Wanted to Leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never Wanted to Leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Not only is the location perfect, but the hotel is so quaint and cute on the inside!
We ended up staying in the apartment, as we were five people. The apartment was so much more than I was expecting- it was beautiful with winding staircases, a common area equipped with a dining room table and wooden chairs, a furnace, an ironing board, a tea pot, a refrigerator, a tv, and a couch. The main bedroom stemmed from that. Right by the stairs was a balcony and a beautiful bathroom with a deep tub separated from the toilet and shower. Upstairs, there were two bedrooms, four beds and a bathroom with a toilet. The rooms had slanted ceilings- you either overlooked the countryside or the street side, both beautiful in their own right. The desk in my room made me feel like I was living during medieval times, it was beautiful. The rooms also had plenty of storage space and slippers!

A tip if you're getting the apartment is that there is no elevator once inside, and there are two floors. You must carry your luggage up. The staff did offer to help if you needed it, however!

The staff also showed us the basement, all original from the castle wall, where a sauna, small hot tub, and chairs were located. There were star lights on the ceiling and wooden chairs for you to enjoy. There were also exercise bikes.

Breakfast was delicious, and they offered you freshly made eggs! The soft boiled were the best!

Overall, I had a wonderful experience here! Beautiful views, amazing staff, and the largest hotel apartment I probably will ever have the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    92
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
167
294
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the front desk welcomed us warmly and walked us to our apartment just a short way up the hill from the main hotel.
We felt as if we were not tourists but residents of this most beautiful German town. The views out of the rooms were all of flower gardens and the German country side. The dining area is set exactly against the fortified wall that surrounds the town providing uninterrupted views of the green rolling hills below. Our experience here was certainly unique.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very nice rooms, good location and very helpful owner. I'd love to stay again.
Not the most disabled friendly but staff did every thing they could to help solve any problems.
Wifi connection was surprisingly fast for such a medieval town/building.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This a wonderful small historical hotel built into the city walls. As we booked rather last minute all they had left was a three bedroom apartment, a bit over the top for the two of us. I am so glad we did it has a balcony, more a small terrace which looks out over the surrounding countryside outside the city walls. Had we been there for more than one night it would have been a great spot to enjoy a glass of wine or two. The breakfast room/outside terrace has the same views. Parts of the building are hundreds of years old, it was great to be able to stay in something that elsewhere in the world would be a museum. The owners father who did our registration and showed us round is an absolutely charming gentleman, we could have listened to him for hours on the history of the hotel and the town. His family has run hotels for generations and his children are the 7th generation. This really shows. The fact that its a family hotel makes it much more personal and friendly. They don't have a restaurant for dinner in the hotel (they only do breakfast) but they also own the restaurant across the road but there are loads of restaurants in the town to choose from. If you are coming via car the hotel is easy to find basically a straight run from one of the main gates, though when we were there they had road works which made it a bit more difficult to get to as some roads are quite narrow or have restrictions on traffic, but normally this wont be a problem. They also have a secure garage for parking. Being in the town means that you get the chance to wander round in the early evening/morning when its a lot quieter, a good time to walk the elevated section of the town wall as the walkways are quite narrow.
The main bedroom in the apartment is a very clever mix of old and new, the bathroom has wonderful views out from the city wall and it very modern, upstairs there are two other bedrooms and a loo. The main sitting room is furnished with antique furniture and has one of those large glazed tiled wood burners - not that we needed it July. Internet worked well. This is an absolute gem of a hotel and allows you to live in a historic building and really soak up the atmosphere of the place yet enjoy all modern conveniences and comforts. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 3 bed apartment with its balcony/mini terrace was brilliant even if you are only a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little B&B. Great views from the rooms upstairs as the building is on a cliffside. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. Great location in town. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Small place with about 20 rooms. Absolutely brilliant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Each room is decorated in a unique way. The beds are the main star of the room. We had a lovely four postal bed which made us feel like royalty.

Despite the antique, rococo facade, the rooms were clean and well maintained, and the toilets were very modern.

The breakfast room had a stunning view, overlooking the park that is literally around the corner from the hotel.

Service was great, and parking was no issue since they had 2 garages for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_l0ves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I loved the Burghotel. Otto at the front desk, was lovely and matched his old world hotel to a t. The breakfast was delicious- get there early so you can get a spot with a view. Our room was 25 with a great view of the valley and very quiet. A great mix of old and modern. Very comfortable and everything you would need. Internet connection was great. My only criticism was it was up several flights of stairs if that makes a difference to you and also the wonderful bathroom has a frosted sliding glass door with the toilet setting next to it. This should have been rethought as the rest of the bath is fantastic. We stayed early July and with the windows open it was comfortable. I would love to stay here again and would defiantly recommend. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaMa_C52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Property: Burghotel
Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing