We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good sized rooms, nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geraldton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good sized rooms, nice breakfast”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

the hotel reception staff were very helpful. The. Room a good size, the hotel has a lift which is a plugin Europe. The breakfast was hearty and enjoyable, wifi available. Location in the town excellent. Totally recommended and I would definitelystaytheragain.

Room Tip: The room was just great, I could not remove my rating for the pool or fitness ctr which are not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    174
    44
    10
    12
See reviews for
111
201
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We wanted to visit Rothenburg and needed a place to stay. We found this hotel in the middle of the old centre of Rothenburg. The location is perfect. Next to the main square and next to the old church in a small street.

The hotel looks like a fairytale, until you check in..

The building is beautiful, but there are only a few very expensive rooms. When you book a doubleroom you will be send to the 'annex'. A building just around the corner with no character at all. There is no mention of this annex on the website, so this is really disappointing.
The room is the annex is nothing special. The room is a good size and has a clean bathroom. The room was at a courtyard so really quiet.

The service of the staff isn't very good. Breakfast was in a busy room. We asked for tea en got coffee three times! We had to ask the staff again and again to correct this and in the end the tea was thrown on our table.

When checking out the staff was again very rude.
It seems like the aim of this hotel is making much money on the location and not caring about anything else.

Our experience with German hotels is always very positive. So we were very disappointed this time.

Room Tip: Watch out for the annex! If you want to sleep in the main building with it's fairytale character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissesPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peniche, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Everthing is like the house of a grandmother, paper in the walls, old closets and chairs. But amazing, very tipical. With a superb location. The staff it's nice at the german way. The internet it's free in the lobby, but work very well. The unique less was the bell of the church begin to play at 7am, and it playes for a long time. Not guilty of the hotel, but after we wake up....

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here only for one night, but no complaints. Like the rest of Rothenburg, this hotel's setting is really old school . Room was big enough, with a brand new bathroom. Staff is helpfull, but sometimes a bit curt (understandable, they have a LOT of guests to deal with). Restaurant is very good, definitely try eating here, even if you're not staying in this hotel. Location is excellent, right in the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I found this hotel to be an excellent value. Great location right by the square. Charmingly furnished rooms, nice bathrooms. Breakfast not included but there was a nice restaurant and the city is full of fried dough balls and other bakeries so getting fed is not hard. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We did not stay there but ate at the restaurant which was great. The restaurant could not be rated separately. They have a pizza with a potato crust that was awesome. Chanter ell mushrooms were in season and we kept piling them on.The beer was cold and the service was good. The outdoor dining area was spectacular. and with a great plaza view. We enjoyed a town concert while we were eating.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We paid and booked from Australia months ago, shown to our room it was like two single cots pushed together, went back to reception and asked for a double room which we had booked. " we only have single rooms" after an argument I finally convinced the lady to refer to our excite holidays sheet which she had filed. Oh, it stated double room King bed, she quickly inspite of her previous protestations, found one. It was a nice room, but, it was a hot night and no air conditioning, we could open the windows but our outlook was the massive noisy kitchen exhaust. It was hard to get any courtesy or help from most staff, although the fellow doing the garden at the car park went above and beyond with his assistance, wish some of it rubbed off. It was clean and comfortable, the Internet was an added charge and parking €6 per day, ok.
The Beer garden was a great spot and the restaurant food was good and reasonable, but again the service a little lacking courtesy. It seems that this place has a bus mentality and maybe they should concentrate on their tour groups.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Property: Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, but noble and simply unique. The medieval Town of Rothenburg takes you on a very special Journey into History. Explore in the cobbled streets the Secrets of the Middle Ages. Take in the authentic flair of past times, which might be standing still and an atmosphere which will enchant you. Begin your Journey at the Hotel Reichskuchenmeister, your Home away from Home during your stay in Rothenburg. Experience a very personal, authentic and charming Hospitality for six generations and for almost 100 Years. Located in the very Heart of the historic Old Town, with spectacular views of the imposing St.-Jakobs-Church the Reichskuchenmeister is the ideal starting point for your Tour of the exciting Sights in one of the most beautiful and best preserved historic Old Towns in Germany. Join us for an exciting Journey into History. Enjoy your Stay in Rothenburg. Welcome to the Reichskuchenmeister! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing