We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for our stay in Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a family with teenagers. We got two double rooms, which was perfect because it was such a great price. We loved the hotel, the rooms were a decent size (considering we were in a Medieval Village). It was clean and comfortable. Our room even had a balcony where we enjoyed a bottle of wine. This is a fantastic village to visit and the hotel was perfect. The only thing was the towels were a little small, but other than that it was fine. Please note this is not the Ritz or a 5 star hotel if that is what you are used to, but it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Visited this hotel in December for the Christmas market. The hotel is family owned, and we loved the athmosphere there. Got a room on the top floor overlooking the Church Square. Very nice room. Great location. Friendly staff. Cosy "Weinstube" at the hotel. And the food in the restaurant is exellent. Would definately stat heretter again. BR Norwegian couple

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building at the top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiBe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights. From the outside it's extremely pretty, as many of the hotels in Rothenburg are. Inside the main building is very characterful, traditional and old with beautiful wood carvings, old weathered doors and stained glass.

The hotel has two parts to it. The main building and the annex. The annex is just round the corner on the next block- so a couple of hundred yards walk, and that's where the undercover parking is. We had a room in the annex. I was disappointed with it. Not in terms of size - that I couldn't fault, but it was just completely characterless. It was just another non descript modern hotel room and if you hadn't looked out the window at the surrounding buildings you could have been in any city. So the advantages of being in the annex are that the car is a short lift or run down the stairs away and you're just that little bit further away from the noise and bustle of the christmas market which is literally outside the back of the main building. The disadvantage is that you have to go outside in the cold and walk 200 yards around the corner to get to breakfast / dinner etc.

Full marks to the guy who came out to lead us round to the annex and car park and got very cold whilst we waited for the traffic to clear so we could get the car down the right lane. He had no coat on and was obviously very cold but he still smiled and was super polite to us.You get my gold star of the holiday.

Breakfast was ok, staff were very friendly and brought tea/coffee quickly. The food was all buffet style. During the day it was reasonably easy to get a table in the restaurant to get a coffee or snack or lunch. In the evening it was just impossible. We wanted a coffee at about 8:30 pm. The restaurant said no we're full you can get one in the wine bar. The wine bar said sorry we're full you can get one in the restaurant. The tables were not necessarily even occupied but just reserved. As hotel residents we had nowhere to go to have a coffee. No residents lounge where we could sit to drink one. Our only option ....buy a coffee and walk it 200 yards down the road in the cold and dark to our room in the annex. That's what we did, but we were really not impressed at that.

Location wise - it's very central in Rothenburg - right behind the main square, so a perfect location really, but then so are many other hotels.

So, when I stay in Rothenburg next time this won't be top of my list of hotels. There's nothing drastically wrong with but it just didn't tick enough boxes for us. Maybe if we'd had a room in the main building we might have felt differently - who knows.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main buidling!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixiewitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

With a beautifully central location (and a car park) this hotel is a great overnight place in Rothenberg. The room was rather dated but clean and well equipped. The view of the church was breathtaking. The basement bar was authentic and was busy with locals (and friendly)well into the small hours.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Perfect location with garage parking (although it's a couple of blocks away). Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are all different and have lots of character. Restaurant and wine bar are great and will stay open as long as you're thirsty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldmil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful with providing info and parking our car. Our triple room was large and pretty. Location is perfect. I chose it based on price, location and reviews and I was not dissapointed. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had a lovely triple room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chab186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a standard size room this time which seemed to be recently remodeled. Very clean, nice mattresses, great soundproof windows which is important in Rothenburg. Great little biergarten. We have eaten at the restaurant twice and both times it was very good. Typical Bavarian food. Breakfast was nice but around 10EU / person if I remember correctly. We have stayed at two other hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and this one is my favorite. From the town center the hotel is about a 1 minute walk uphill which keeps many of the tour bus visitors from heading in that direction.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBrown33547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £99 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, but noble and simply unique. The medieval Town of Rothenburg takes you on a very special Journey into History. Explore in the cobbled streets the Secrets of the Middle Ages. Take in the authentic flair of past times, which might be standing still and an atmosphere which will enchant you. Begin your Journey at the Hotel Reichskuchenmeister, your Home away from Home during your stay in Rothenburg. Experience a very personal, authentic and charming Hospitality for six generations and for almost 100 Years. Located in the very Heart of the historic Old Town, with spectacular views of the imposing St.-Jakobs-Church the Reichskuchenmeister is the ideal starting point for your Tour of the exciting Sights in one of the most beautiful and best preserved historic Old Towns in Germany. Join us for an exciting Journey into History. Enjoy your Stay in Rothenburg. Welcome to the Reichskuchenmeister! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing