We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in a charming town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a charming town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Be careful driving into Rothenburg; many of the streets are impassable. Our daughter and I were trying to locate a recommended hotel to find there was "no room in the inn". We thought to drive and just check to see who had vacancy. Turning down one narrow street we had to reverse and back up as the trash truck in front of us also had to backup. Only one way in and backing up to return. That return put us in front of the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. Lovely front and sign, and ,yes, they could accommodate us. It was the last leg of our trip and money was running thin. We read that there is a 2% charge if you use a credit card. We paid 135 Euro for one night and charged the second night. The owner did not add on the 2%. There are a few steps to a lift. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The windows opened to a spectacular viel of the valley and mountains. It was a nice way to end our trip.
There is parking available for 7 Euro a day, just around another corner, within a block.
Breakfast was generous and very nice. The dining hall also overlooks the valley; a nice place to relax and not feel rushed. Owners and staff were very helpful and polite. We often saw their little son walking around and observing people; a good education for him.
Overnight tours often stay here as we discovered the next morning when we went down to breakfast and 50 some people had gathered waiting for the dining room to open. We went for a walk and returned later; there was still plenty of food and chafers were being refilled.
The hotel is quiet; we never heard any of these other guests. Lovely people and a lovely hotel in a lovely town.

Room Tip: Room 218 overlooked the valley and mountains; very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    103
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
96
125
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to find and the parking provided was simple to navigate.

We were really surprised at the size of the rooms. Ours was massive! We had a hallway/entrance, a smaller bathroom with toilet, then the main room with a little dining nook, a mini lounge area, sinks and of course the bed. We were at the back of the hotel so we had views out over the wall and beyond.

Service was great. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon after the tourist information centre had closed but the lady at check in gave us all the information we needed.

Breakfast the next day was really good in a room once again looking out over the wall.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just before Christmas, we had a room at the front of the Hotel, could not fault it, spacious and very comfortable.
Large bathroom with load of hot water.
Staff were friendly and helpful, only downside was the lack of a bar, although they did supply drinks from behind the front desk.
Good location within the City Walls and a large car park not too far away.
There are plenty of good eating establishments close at hand, but did enjoy the selection, though expensive, available in the Christmas Markets.
Don't forget to walk with the Night Watchman.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geranimo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

In an effort to explore local attractions, we stayed at the Goldener Hirsch. Our experience was delightful! The hotel and room was absolutely charming. The staff made us so very welcome! Ryan, was especially helpful and gave us great advice on local deals. Also, a very comfortable night sleep in a very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place was so perfect! They have free parking behind the building which is hard to find in town. Its pedestrian only. Right next to the main town square. Our room with king bed was spacious and the bath with shower was large as well. Breakfast was great! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelonmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The location is fantastic! When we checked in we were told the room would not be ready for 30 min. to an hour, which was not a problem since we were meeting some friends for kaffee & kuchen. When we did return to get checked in they couldn't locate the key to our room, we were sent to our room with the master key - once we got to the room we discovered someone else was already occupying the room. My husband went back to the front desk to explain the situation, the woman at the front desk didn't seem to believe my husband so she came back to the room to check. She then went to several other rooms (with us tagging behind) until she found a room that was unoccupied. The room she gave us had a phenomenal view, but was incredibly tiny and looked very shabby (and not in the shabby chic sort of way). My husband went back down to discuss the room and afterwards we were given a larger room just upstairs from our original room. I got the feeling that they may have been doing a bit of remodeling/refurbishing - I hope that is the case. The staff seemed a bit aloof and disorganized. It is a great location with some amazing views from the backside of the hotel, but I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our room at the Goldener Hirsch was rather small with a small bathroom but the view over the valley was great. Other rooms that we saw were much larger. We booked online at the last minute and it was, essentially, the last room in the town. The hotel is somewhat worn at the edges [so am I] although it was elegant in the past. Also. there were tour groups every night of our stay. There is no wifi but there is parking at 6 euros. That said, the location was perfect--the center of the old town, the staff very helpful, the breakfast quite good and we like antique hotels. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Address: Untere Schmiedgasse 16-25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldener Hirsch is centrally located in the Altstadt (old city centre). The spacious hotel offers a peaceful stay with spectacular scenic views of the Tauber Valley and historic sights. Enjoy a traditional buffet breakfast on the baroque-style Blaue Terrasse overlooking the Tauber River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing