We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Germany and again on our last night. We did not have a reservation at either time, but the staff was able to accommodate us easily. Karola van Evert, the attendant at the front desk, was very friendly and showed us to our room and even loaned us a converter. The room was a little more than 100 Euros. The rooms were very comfortable, quaint, clean and large. The bathrooms were very different, one was small and a bit tricky to take a shower without getting water on the floor. The bathroom on our second visit was huge and very nice. Parking and breakfast were included with the stay. Parking was about a half a block away. Breakfast was served in a large room that overlooked a scenic valley The food included lots of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and soft boiled eggs were offered. The decor in the breakfast room had a very comfortable feel to it. It is in a great location in the old part of Rothenburg, easy walking distance to explore all sites and shops in the old town area. We would definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Our rooms were on the street side, the street noise may bother some but it was not enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janaharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    114
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
101
134
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stay at the Goldener Hirsch was more a lucky coincidence than anything – we hadn’t booked anything in the Rothenburg ob der Tauber area and we spotted the hotel while walking the garden paths below it. I walked in, inquired about a room, and was rewarded with a very quaint corner room with an awesome view of the valley for a very reasonable price.

We arrived at Rothenburg by auto, and although areas inside the walls are pedestrian-only, most if not all of the town is accessible by car. Following our check-in we were directed to a marked parking area about a half a block up the hill from the hotel, where we parked our vehicle at no charge.

The very conveniently-located hotel is in a 16th-century building, and the conversion to an inn has retained much of the charm of the original building. The common areas (TV room, billiards room, reception, and restaurant) are all very clean and well-maintained without appearing to be overly renovated. I very much felt like I was stepping into an early 1900’s-era hotel.

A large vestibule opened in to our large corner room, with comfortable twin beds and pillows, an armoir, and a small writing table with chairs . A nook with a table in the corner added character, and provided spectacular views of the valley while we sat and planned the next day or caught up on our email. Some of the exterior trim was a little weather-beaten and needed some touch-ups, but those small flaws didn’t extend in to the room.

Unfortunately the charm of the room didn’t extend in to the bathroom. Although clean and serviceable it was quite cramped with an unusual shower/tub configuration and a toilet that offered very little elbow room. The wear-and-tear was evident though, and certainly the room is in need of an updating.

Breakfast was served in a large glass-enclosed room off the reception area and provided very nice views of the valley below as well as the walls and gardens to the sides. The food was typical hot European hotel fare, with scrambled eggs and sausages, a good selection of cereals and baking, yogurt, and cold cuts and cheese. The one thing that stuck with me was that the coffee was excellent.

To summarize, the Goldener-Hirsch is a very quaint, clean, and historic building from which to explore the streets and shops of Rothenburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley below to ensure a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Awsome hotel from 1476, I just wish the walls could talk.
Big spacious rooms, ours had a view of the valley, and very friendly staff.
Very good beds.
The hotel in it self is an attraction, just walking through the mingeling areas, and look at all the history that is saved.
Will definetly be my choice again it we go back to Rothenburg!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the vally, beautiful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnOvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spectaular town, awesome hotel. Building is from the 12 century and maintains its structure. The room we has was very large with soaker tub and shower, plenty of space with a nice bed. Elevevator, free breakfast, free parking and some awesome staff, very friendly, and helpful. Helps if you know some German however.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Be careful driving into Rothenburg; many of the streets are impassable. Our daughter and I were trying to locate a recommended hotel to find there was "no room in the inn". We thought to drive and just check to see who had vacancy. Turning down one narrow street we had to reverse and back up as the trash truck in front of us also had to backup. Only one way in and backing up to return. That return put us in front of the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. Lovely front and sign, and ,yes, they could accommodate us. It was the last leg of our trip and money was running thin. We read that there is a 2% charge if you use a credit card. We paid 135 Euro for one night and charged the second night. The owner did not add on the 2%. There are a few steps to a lift. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The windows opened to a spectacular viel of the valley and mountains. It was a nice way to end our trip.
There is parking available for 7 Euro a day, just around another corner, within a block.
Breakfast was generous and very nice. The dining hall also overlooks the valley; a nice place to relax and not feel rushed. Owners and staff were very helpful and polite. We often saw their little son walking around and observing people; a good education for him.
Overnight tours often stay here as we discovered the next morning when we went down to breakfast and 50 some people had gathered waiting for the dining room to open. We went for a walk and returned later; there was still plenty of food and chafers were being refilled.
The hotel is quiet; we never heard any of these other guests. Lovely people and a lovely hotel in a lovely town.

Room Tip: Room 218 overlooked the valley and mountains; very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to find and the parking provided was simple to navigate.

We were really surprised at the size of the rooms. Ours was massive! We had a hallway/entrance, a smaller bathroom with toilet, then the main room with a little dining nook, a mini lounge area, sinks and of course the bed. We were at the back of the hotel so we had views out over the wall and beyond.

Service was great. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon after the tourist information centre had closed but the lady at check in gave us all the information we needed.

Breakfast the next day was really good in a room once again looking out over the wall.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just before Christmas, we had a room at the front of the Hotel, could not fault it, spacious and very comfortable.
Large bathroom with load of hot water.
Staff were friendly and helpful, only downside was the lack of a bar, although they did supply drinks from behind the front desk.
Good location within the City Walls and a large car park not too far away.
There are plenty of good eating establishments close at hand, but did enjoy the selection, though expensive, available in the Christmas Markets.
Don't forget to walk with the Night Watchman.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geranimo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Address: Untere Schmiedgasse 16-25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldener Hirsch is centrally located in the Altstadt (old city centre). The spacious hotel offers a peaceful stay with spectacular scenic views of the Tauber Valley and historic sights. Enjoy a traditional buffet breakfast on the baroque-style Blaue Terrasse overlooking the Tauber River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing