We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a nice two night stay at the hotel. Just inside the city walls and within an easy 10 minute walk to the town center. A little quirky in that there was only single beds and no handsoap or shampoo (only shower body gel) offered by the hotel, so you might want to bring your own; not a big deal, but a little odd. Breakfast was fine for the hotel size. No major issues. 3-3.5 Star is a fair rating.

We rented bikes (brochure at the hotel) just outside the old city and road down through the valley below the town, which was beautiful and quiet. On the return, we were passed by a couple in their late 60s coming back up the hill on electric bikes, so that might be a good idea to try (our younger buddy said that we should've listened to him and gone electric!).

We did an hour or so guided tour of Rothenburg which was excellent and well worth the time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    98
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
41
105
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were fortunate to be in Rothenburg the day of the annual Heritage Festival. Residents and locals in period attire, medieval performing groups, arts/crafts, knight battles, etc. Our stay at the Prinzhotel added to the enjoyment. The room appeared to have recently been renovated and was clean and roomy. A good sized bathroom as well. Convenient parking, polite staff. There was some street/celebrant noise outside in the courtyard, but nothing too distracting. Rothenburg is a "must see" if in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Ernest and his staff certainly made up for the earlier issues with ordering a room. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with our requests. The room was so beautiful with views of the fortified city. By going through their website, we enjoyed a bottle of wine. I would highly recommend this hotel. Parking right out front and a short walk to many activities. The Nightwatchman tour is a must! Christmas shops too are one of a kind. All together a wonderful experience with English spoken everywhere as well.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Ilsimms,

We are all very glad, that we could live up to our promise which you rated as fabulous!! Thank you for your excellent comment which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcome you again - and.... spread the fabuöous message

I remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Rothenburg was one of our stops along our drive through the Romantic Road. We picked the Prinzhotel on a whim and found the hotel staff to be friendly, the room to be clean and all bedding to be crisp and fresh. The breakfast buffet was your typical German fare, however on request of a hot chocolate, we were told it would cost extra. A little surprising as this was offered at other hotels we've stayed at along the route for no extra charge. On the flip side, upon checking out we received a complimentry bottle of water with well wishes for our onward journey, which was a nice gesture.

The only downside that we experienced at this hotel was the water pressure in the shower. It was way too low and adjusting the temperature was something that needed to be done constantly. This may have just been our room though (room 112).


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimNancyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Jim & Nancy,

Thank you for your positive comment. Regarding the water pressure I checked myself and nearly lost the shower out of my hand, because of a fantastic pressure which could have been in a adventure bathing park;-)
Here comes the free handyman tip:-)
Sometimes a little bit of fine granulated material can get stack in the little mesh filter every handheld shower has. An experienced traveller will unscrew the shower and let water run through, clear the little mesh filter and screw it back on. Power shower again! Now, of course this should never occur, but then again - it does happen in every household worldwide. A good maintenance is preventing this normally. We like guests, who tell us whilst on the premises things like that, so we can alter it for them - because guests should - of course - not act as janitors....

Hot chocolate, or hot milk along with coffee and big tea selection from Ronnefeldt is always included in the breakfast price. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding, as to our nice coffee specialities like Latte Macchiato or Cappucino which are available at extra cost. Why? Since we offer the very big selection of our breakfast buffet at a very little price, additional coffee specialities cost extra.
Why not included? Of course, if the regular price of the breakfast would be higher like in other hotels things like that can be again included. But a higher breakfast price is disliked by guests who do not care about coffee specialities.

So, I hope this little detour will be accepted as a clear signal that we care about your comments.

Looking forward to serve you a nice hot chocolate soon in the Prinzhotel Rothenburg

With best regards, Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely old building in the heart of Rothenburg at least from the outside, the rooms need refurbishing, our room on the top floor had wet carpet & smelled damp & musty, the pillows were stained with no pillow cases provided...the staff were unhelpful & unfriendly & made you feel more like an anoyance than a guest...would not recomend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vpmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear vpmuscat,

We love guests - they do not annoy us, since they pay our wages! What annoys, is your unfair claim that the room would need refurbishing. What?

Are you perhaps refusing deliberately to notice that rooms actually have been renovated fully with: Double glazed windows, doors with security vingcard key, boy-spring beds, mattress, thick carpet, curtains, curtain rails, lamps, comfortable chairs, mini bars, new bed linen and duvets, as well as a brand new full bath with powerful shower. A wide 32” TV with 74 satellite TV channels in multi-language. So, we are not talking about economy renovation with a bit of paint.

The damp smell you noticed was due to a tiny leak in the radiator which has been fixed. Additional reserve cushions have been stored in the wardrobe. Due to your comment we decided to put them now also on the beds - fully covered - for the benefit of our customers in superior rooms. We thank you for that hint, which helped us to improve.

And please… DO BOTHER to return - because you matter.

Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

.... the rooms aren't air conditioned (or at least the one we had), meaning that we need the windows open to try and cool the very hot room. This wouldn't normally be a problem, apart from there was a lot of noisy late night revellers passing by in the early hours of the morning (this was a Saturday night stay).

The only other minor issues were that of the wi-fi, which was expensive to use, and the bar was only open in the evening from 5:30pm to 11pm.

On the plus side, there was ample parking, the room was modest but comfortable, the breakfast was good and on the whole the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighcollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear leighcollett,

Thank you for the positive lines - also regarding our breakfast which is loved by so many of our guests.
Yes we had definitely a couple of very hot days - nearly 36 degrees. But now it is cold again, it is one somersault after another this weather is performing. No wonder you had to open the windows.

Regarding wifi we offer very competitive rates for a fast connection and also offer one free wifi hour per person, if you book breakfast on our OWN HOMEPAGE. So, a good reason to check out our PRINZHOTEL OFFICIAL website for the best offers - better than on all other booking portals!!

We look forward to welcome you back in the Prinzhotel Rothenburg soon.

I remain with best regards
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothenberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We enjoyed a nice quiet room looking out to the Plaza. Breakfast is plentiful and okay. We were told they "provided" wifi but you actually have to pay for it. The staff is a bit abrupt and not necessarily helpful. Overall, however, we enjoyed the central location and the quiet room.

Room Tip: They will attempt to accommodate your requests if you put it in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your nice compliment. Helpful hints are especially available on our OFFICIAL PRINZHOTEL ROTHENBURG HOMEPAGE. WIFi is here clearly defined under accommodation WiFi with rates and conditions which beat the roaming charges by far.

WiFi charges: 1 hrs EUR 2,50 | 2 hrs EUR 4,50 | 24 hrs EUR 12 are very fair and online time caneven be saved by logging out. Other hotels might provide free WiFi - but at a lousy brittle speed which make you mad...

Things which are free are normally no good - exept love of course ;-)

Hope to see you soon in the Prinzhotel - try then our new Restaurant Topinambur with
Cocktailbar.

Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinzhotel Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Property: Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Address: Hofstatt 3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prinzhotel Rothenburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Prinzhotel Rothenburg is located very quietly within the old town and ideally provides stairs to access the historic townwall and Roedertower, which are directly next to us. It provides 50 very comfortable modern designed room categories standard, superior and bel etage, which have been renovated recently including big new bathrooms with daylight effect, over 60 TV channels with 32" LED flatscreens and WiFi. Fantastic private breakfast buffet for individual travellers. Wellness Packages enhance the romantic weekend break. You can book the best room rates and offers, with up to 15% rebate - but only on the OFFICIAL Prinzhotel Cbooking engine. The Hotel is accessible by car without hindrance. You drive directly with your car in the front of the hotel. On the terrace of our airconditioned restaurant Topinambur you enjoy, fresh regional dishes - and a daily happy hour in the Cocktailbar TopinamBAR. We serve the best Rothenburg coffee specialities with incredible foamy variations and thick tasty waffles - try us for a fantastic coffee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prinzhotel Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing