We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in the Prinzhotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our stay in the Prinzhotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel at the end of July. The hotel is well situated at the wall surrounding the town and very convenient to walk into the town. The hotel is modern with large airy rooms. The staff were very friendly. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - the service was excellent. We only thought that they could have had a bigger choice on the menue. The breakfast for €10.50 per person was very good although I feel this should be included in the price of the room. We were very lucky to get a parking space directly in front of the hotel as parking is a problem in this town. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aika1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Aika,

Thank you for your very positive comment and your visit to our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so well including dinner in the restaurant topinambur.

I love this fantastic subject! Breakfast is a global topic and is endlessly discussed since many decades pro and contra.
On one side you have the “breakfast-includers” on the other side the “breakfast-excluders” who want the lowest room rate and nothing included. You have even guests who want to have their money back “because they didn’t have any” when the rate included breakfast. Funny isn’t it?

That is the reason why we split it up. Our breakfast price and the value for money speaks for itself and nearly everybody takes it.
Nobody has to pay for a service he or she might not take advantage of.

An option would always be if you ask us to include the breakfast in the room rate and have one price, but then you might not want to have breakfast on that certain morning…;-)

Again we thank you for your thoroughly recommendation and look forward to welcome you in the Prinzhotel Rothenburg.

Warmest regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    103
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
43
107
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The outside of the building matches the medieval feeling of the old town. How when we entered we found it ultra modern not in keeping with the exterior. The staff were great and the resturant was outstanding but we were turned by the ultra modern feeling inside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear dickrainey,

Here we meet again!

So nice that we could welcome you in Rothenburg also and not only in Heidelberg in the Le Gourmet.

Yes, the new modern design was a welcome breakout of the mediaeval embracement with all its towers, mighty walls and gates, cobbles and all. In Rothenburg more than in Heidelberg we have a concentration of medievality. If you are underway all day in the town, it is quite nice not to have the same atmosphere in the evening. We found it a good move to position us in a unique niche, which also gives the contrast a little bit of way. Perhaps that came a little bit unexpected, but a lot of our guests love the design.

How about a compromise? If you are sitting on the lovely terrace with the fountain you are still in the shade of the mighty town wall and the roeder tower you still feel like a knight. Hope to see you again.

I remain with best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

You could ask for a better location to see the Medieval city to Rothenburg, Had a great breakfast buffet. The rooms where simple and functional. I would say the only draw back was no free WIFI, but your on vacation in Europe who needs it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Wandering Soldier,

Thank you very much for your positive comment. We appreciate it, that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet so much. Did you try our freshly baked waffles? We just bought a new kitchen aid super waffle baker and are happy to top them with chocolate or fresh fruit compote - If you give us the looks then we also do whipped cream. Yummy!
WiFi yes, who needs it - use your time in the beautiful nature and inhale analogue the scenery:-)

I remain with best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Rothenburg for 22 years and find the general tourism offering average to occasionally downright hostile. For a town that lives in large part from tourism they don't put a lot into customer service in their restaurants, hotels and cafés. They seem to take it for granted that the town sells itself and we are just a necessary inconvenience.

The Prinz is, however, a great new find for me. It's located inside the city walls, has decent sized rooms, has been well refurbished and all the staff I encountered were genuinely lovely.

Plus points: breakfast (small selection but high quality); dinner (extremely high quality); staff friendliness; cleanliness; location; fresh modern feeling.

Minus points: no air conditioning, no free wifi (€12 for 24 hours; reception locks up at 10pm. None of these things are in any way unusual for a small German town, however.

It's not a 4 star hotel by any internationally accepted standard, but it's the best I've come across personally here, and a marked improvement to 3 other Rothenburg hotels I've regularly stayed in.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Peter,

At last, after 22 years you have found us - we are glad that it happened and it was a Rothenburg connoisseur :-)

We must admit the last 7 years have been one of the very important years in the life of the Prinzhotel - a lot of big renovations - step by step - have been carried out through the years.
One can say now that we have turned the Prinzhotel into a complete new place. Whereby, we are already planning a fresh up on the first rooms, which we introduced when we started with the hotel update... when you are finished in the top you can start again at the bottom.

Staffing is a challenge these days and the whole hospitality industry in Germany is looking desperately for apprentices and professionals. These circumstances apply to us to a certain extend as well - therefore we have to deal with it and "stretch" our rota to the limit. By becoming better with our product we hope to succeed in the end and attract more good staff. Of course I would like to open our cocktailbar until 3 a.m.- but if the staff has breakfast duty at 5.30 a.am. this is sometime not possible. (Clap your hands with just one arm)

Air conditioning is a very very costly project, roughly about EUR 380.000, which needs a lot of air circulation and a lot of space for the cooling machines - if, then we would like to have for all rooms - we'll wait and see what will be possible in the future. To supply AC at extra charge with ineffective loud mobile machines like in other Rothenburg hotels does not enter our minds.

Wi-Fi is a costly thing from network infrastructure and hardware and bears in Germany a very high danger of being prosecuted for illegal downloads and infringements of rights in the music industry. We had already law suits claims of EUR 50.000 which we had to battle against. The problem - and here we enter the nitty-gritty section is that in Germany you have a so called" Stöhrerhaftung", meaning: you own the Internet Connection therefore you can be also held liable whatever your customers do within this Wi-Fi network. A complete nonsense regulation from the eighties - but lawyers love it, since the can earn money with careless hotels which do not consider the security logging standards and sue them.

Anyway, nobody gives a toss about that and customers are only interested if it is free, regardless if somebody is taken to court. At present we have so much administrative work with logging all customers’ accesses and dealing with issuing tickets that we have to charge for it. Perhaps in the future, if laws change and we can be relaxed about the legal side, we probably will make it complimentary, again let's wait and see.

At this point, I want to thank you for your loyality to good old Rothenburg over this 2 decades and hope that we can be of service to you in the future again.

Share "your great new find" with others - and thank you for supporting us.

I remain with best wishes
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One night in Rothenburg. Great, lovely town.... Regarding the hotel, I must say I'm disappointed by the hotel rating in Germany... Prinzhotel is my argument. The location is great (inside the city walls). The exterior looks very good. Probabily we've stayed in a room different from the others, because:
- the furniture was scratched and dirty
- unpleaseant smell in the room and the lobby (probably from the shoe cleaning machine right next to it)
- NO WINDOWS
- NO AC
- NO breakfast and wi-fi included
- how even it is possible for a 4stars hotel to have the numbers on the doors and direction signs fixed with duct tape??
- free parking lot

I took some pictures...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mihai M,

Thank you for your comment - which leaves us puzzled.

You were shown a superior room which was only 10 EUR more than the standard room which you have chosen actually.

It was your own decision to take that other room, which is well liked especially by families with up to 4 persons - they are very big, but for that have a little bit less dayligh and are cooler because they are - you might guess - not exposed to that much sunlight. Still they are good rooms with nice big new bathrooms. The chair was stained by previous guests with little children - this has been corrected by our housekeeping which should have noticed that instantly - sorry for that.

Our direction signs are being produced new at the moment since all our public areas have been renovated, and appointed with new guest room doors and nice carpets - a mere inbetween situation which soon changes.

YES Wifi is not free - a normal situation - also in 5 star superiour hotels - you have not encounterd that for the first time...

YES breakfast is optional and our guests love the value for money ratio which no "baker around the corner" can offer.
We have even outside guest visiting us for our renown good breakfast. Other house guests do not have breakfast. Why should we include charges for something which is not used by them?

For that you had a free carpark which is not always normal.
So the moral is: live and let live - one of my favorite quotes from John Ruskin might help you to understand :

“It's unwise to pay too much, but it's worse to pay too little. When you pay too much, you lose a little money - that's all. When you pay too little, you sometimes lose everything, because the thing you bought was incapable of doing the thing it was bought to do. The common law of business balance prohibits paying a little and getting a lot - it can't be done. If you deal with the lowest bidder, it is well to add something for the risk you run, and if you do that you will
have enough to pay for something better.”
― John Ruskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Superior room. We would recommend you to stay in the superior room as it is newly renovated. The size of the room is reasonably spacious. They even have inter-connecting rooms in the hotel.

We are impressed with the interior designs of the hotel, especially the hotel lobby and its restaurant. It is tastefully done.

Due to the hotel's limited parking space, we were instructed by the hotel staff to park our rental car along the town wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, interconnecting rooms, that is a very nice feature which is quite comfortable and bookable over our own official website of the Prinzhotel.

Thank you for loving our interour design - we have put a lot of effort in it to make it stand out of the crowd.
Parking is normally no problem, but of course due to sometimes high demand times has to handled flexible. We can help with easing instructions.

We look forward to your next visit and remain with best wishes
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Location in the middle of the "Altstadt", can't be beat, however, that comes with the difficulty of dealing with limited parking near the hotel. The hotel was undergoing some moderate renovation during our stay, so it wouldn't be fair to comment about appearances. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, to include speaking excellent English. Overall a good place to stay, but expect an increased rate and limited availability during peak season.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber K E,
ja unsere Lage ist schon herausragend. In der Altstadt direkt an der Stadtmauer - dem Wahrzeichen von Rothenburg, aber nicht direkt im Trubelgebiet.

Mit Parkplätzen sind wir eigentlich sehr gut versorgt. Einmal direkt vor dem Hotel und zusätzlich nur 4 Minuten von uns zu Fuß auf dem öffentlichen Parkplatz P4.

Der Hinweis wegen erhöhten Raten und Verfügbarkeit ist sehr gut von Ihnen. Deswegen bieten wir - und zwar NUR auf unserer eigenen offiziellen Prinzhotel Website die günstigsten Raten, Konditionen und tolle Arrangements an. Für Frühbucher bis zu 15% günstiger. Dazu noch mitwachsende Prämien, wenn man direkt bei UNS bucht. Wenn man dann trotzdem bei HRS & Co bucht ist man selbst schuld...

Man fährt immer besser erst bei uns zu schauen und die Preise zu vergleichen. Uns gehört das Hotel - deswegen gibt es bei uns auch die besseren Raten und Angebote - das ist doch klar! Wir gehen sehr offen mit unserer Ratenstruktur um. Sie sehen auf Monate im voraus zu welchen Preisen wir unsere Zimmer verkaufen. Das ist kundenorientierte Transparenz.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Direktbuchung und verbleiben mit herzlichen Grüßen aus dem Prinzhotel Rothenburg - Ihr Ernest Kraft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinzhotel Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Property: Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Address: Hofstatt 3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prinzhotel Rothenburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Prinzhotel Rothenburg is located very quietly within the old town and ideally provides stairs to access the historic townwall and Roedertower, which are directly next to us. It provides 50 very comfortable modern designed room categories standard, superior and bel etage, which have been renovated recently including big new bathrooms with daylight effect, over 60 TV channels with 32" LED flatscreens and WiFi. Fantastic private breakfast buffet for individual travellers. Wellness Packages enhance the romantic weekend break. You can book the best room rates and offers, with up to 15% rebate - but only on the OFFICIAL Prinzhotel Cbooking engine. The Hotel is accessible by car without hindrance. You drive directly with your car in the front of the hotel. On the terrace of our airconditioned restaurant Topinambur you enjoy, fresh regional dishes - and a daily happy hour in the Cocktailbar TopinamBAR. We serve the best Rothenburg coffee specialities with incredible foamy variations and thick tasty waffles - try us for a fantastic coffee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prinzhotel Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing