We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - a bit outdated”
Review of Glocke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glocke Hotel
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is located at one of the most famous sites within Rothenburg, making it utterly convenient for visitors who want to explore the town. It's an easy walk up the road to the main square, the protective wall is just around the corner, and shops and restaurants abound.

The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating - more so that I would have expected.

The hotel offers convenient, albeit limited parking at the back in a covered garage. If there are no more spaces available, the hotel will allow guests to block other cars IF they hand over their car keys to the reception so that cars can be moved when needed.

Rooms, just like the rest of the hotel, are clean but outdated - yet functional. Our room opened toward the back which made it utterly quiet. However, we also were stuck with looking out on old building materials, which wasn't too scenic.

Finally, the restaurant offers good and fairly priced local cuisine and I would certainly go back for dinner. Unfortunately, there is no outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and you might get a small discount.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank framptonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Glocke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have brought small groups to Hotel Glocke for several years. Located inside the town wall of Rothenburg ob der Tauber right in front of the famous Plönlein Tower, Hotel Glocke's location can't be beat.

Although there isn't an elevator, the quality and size of the rooms is quite amazing for such an old building. Sure, some of the floorboards sag and creak a bit, but this simply adds to the charm. The bathrooms have been modernized and have all the comforts you;ll need.

The food here is outstanding - be sure to try the Sauerbraten paired with one of their own Franconian wines - that's my favorite when I am in Rothenburg.

The service is very friendly and efficient. The owner seems to be present daily and she takes a hands-on approach to ensure the guests are all satisfied. And be sure to try the adjacent wine shop - they are proud of their own wines, have a fantastic selection, and the direct-from-the-maker prices are extremely good - especially for Rothenburg!

Whether staying as a guest or just using the restaurant, you can't miss with Hotel Glocke!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayernTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Located at the most photographed point in rothenburg and handy to both the main street and the walls. We enjoyed walking the walls, especially on a rainy day. A great way to get to the abbey museum which has a vast range of exhibits from the local area and an amazing array of medieval armor and weapons. The Glocke hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the meals were good. The only complaint is the pillows but these seem typical of Germany. Rothenburg is a delightful town, especially if you get away from the main square and the area around the Christmas museum and experience a little more of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a very suggestive location in the centre of Rothenburg. Rooms are spacious and clean, some of them with balcony, very confortable bed, bathroom are very clean too.
There isn't a lift, so you have to go up a lot of stairs.
Very good breakfast and friendly staff.
Hotel has free garage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrantedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Good location for town centre. Rate paid €95 per night. Parking €6 per night. Dated hotel which we probably didn't see at its best as the restaurant and bar close on a Sunday evening. Felt a bit lacking in terms of life. Good welcome and nice farewell but nothing much else in between. The town is well worth a visit and we would return but would probably choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Best not to be at the front due to noise from cobbled street.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great hotel, superb service and garage parking so great for bikers wanting to stay in town centre with safe parking. Rooms excellent large size and large bathroom spotless throughout .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbiemcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I've been a Hilton diamond member for many years and travel extensively. Glocke Weingut is a typical European hotel with a comfortable atmosphere. Staff is extremely helpful and the hotel has underground parking around the corner. The hotel is located on a main street close to the main square town hall. This is our second stay there and it was as enjoyable as the first time. A good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 45 in Rothenburg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glocke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glocke Hotel

Address: Ploenlein 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel Glocke)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glocke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glocke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing