We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a bit dated facilities.”
Review of Glocke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glocke Hotel
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hiratsuka Japan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great location, a bit dated facilities.”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel has one of the best locations in town. It is a <5 min walk to the town center. The hotel itself is standard German tourist quality. The rooms were clean and well kept. Bathrooms were small with a small shower and limited counter space. Beds were comfortable, and heating was adequate, which was important as it was -10 the days we were here. The hotel has no elevators which is not unusual for German hotels but having to lug my 30kg suitcases up two flights of stairs and down a long hallway to the back of the building where the rooms were was a bit taxing for an old guy like me. There was no staff available to offer any assistance. It was very quiet at night as the rooms were at the rear of the building.

Decor was dated, and extra chairs and such for the restaurant were stacked in the dark hallway which detracted from the overall impression. Breakfast was typical, nothing special but entirely adequate and well presented.

Would I stay here again, probably not. It is worth the price asked because of its location, and I really can't complain about anything in particular as my stay was very pleasant. That said, the decor is "drab" and the rooms utilitarian rather than relaxing. That coupled with the long slug with my baggage is enough to steer me to one of my other hotels in town should I visit again. Their restaurant is very good, which is another consideration for choosing to stay here. If you are looking for a good basic tourist hotel, in a great location with a good restaurant, and can live with basic accomodations then this hotel will serve your purposes nicely.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashfield, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we've stayed in this hotel in June 2012 for a few days during our Europe vacation. Clean rooms, central location, good restaurant and excellent breakfast, helpful & competent staff- all you need in this lovely medieval city. We arrived via train in Rothenburg (late afternoon) and would have valued a shuttle service to the hotel as there were no taxis at the train station, which is a Taxi stand, ..... we waited 30 min for the taxi there, would be good to install a taxi call functionality at the train station

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinhard_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel is ideally located, close to the city centre. Breakfast was good but nothing special. I did not use the restaurant for lunch or dinner but it seemed to have a nice charming atmosphere and food looked good.

The rooms were very nice, clean, spacious and modern, but perhaps they did not match the medieval atmosphere of Rothenburg. We were a bit unlucky during our stay as the guys from the building opposite us seemed to make it a point to stay awake till 3am in the balcony with loud music and shouting going on.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, although most of them spoke only German they did their best to give us high quality service. This is definitely one of the high points of this hotel.

In our package we had a wine tasting session but this proved a bit disappointing as they only gave us a piece of paper with the wine names and the wines to taste and that's all. Not sure if I would recommend this experience.

I enjoyed my stay at the Glocke and would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesar_Melitensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowhere
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is located at one of the most famous sites within Rothenburg, making it utterly convenient for visitors who want to explore the town. It's an easy walk up the road to the main square, the protective wall is just around the corner, and shops and restaurants abound.

The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating - more so that I would have expected.

The hotel offers convenient, albeit limited parking at the back in a covered garage. If there are no more spaces available, the hotel will allow guests to block other cars IF they hand over their car keys to the reception so that cars can be moved when needed.

Rooms, just like the rest of the hotel, are clean but outdated - yet functional. Our room opened toward the back which made it utterly quiet. However, we also were stuck with looking out on old building materials, which wasn't too scenic.

Finally, the restaurant offers good and fairly priced local cuisine and I would certainly go back for dinner. Unfortunately, there is no outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and you might get a small discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank framptonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have brought small groups to Hotel Glocke for several years. Located inside the town wall of Rothenburg ob der Tauber right in front of the famous Plönlein Tower, Hotel Glocke's location can't be beat.

Although there isn't an elevator, the quality and size of the rooms is quite amazing for such an old building. Sure, some of the floorboards sag and creak a bit, but this simply adds to the charm. The bathrooms have been modernized and have all the comforts you;ll need.

The food here is outstanding - be sure to try the Sauerbraten paired with one of their own Franconian wines - that's my favorite when I am in Rothenburg.

The service is very friendly and efficient. The owner seems to be present daily and she takes a hands-on approach to ensure the guests are all satisfied. And be sure to try the adjacent wine shop - they are proud of their own wines, have a fantastic selection, and the direct-from-the-maker prices are extremely good - especially for Rothenburg!

Whether staying as a guest or just using the restaurant, you can't miss with Hotel Glocke!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayernTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Located at the most photographed point in rothenburg and handy to both the main street and the walls. We enjoyed walking the walls, especially on a rainy day. A great way to get to the abbey museum which has a vast range of exhibits from the local area and an amazing array of medieval armor and weapons. The Glocke hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the meals were good. The only complaint is the pillows but these seem typical of Germany. Rothenburg is a delightful town, especially if you get away from the main square and the area around the Christmas museum and experience a little more of the ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a very suggestive location in the centre of Rothenburg. Rooms are spacious and clean, some of them with balcony, very confortable bed, bathroom are very clean too.
There isn't a lift, so you have to go up a lot of stairs.
Very good breakfast and friendly staff.
Hotel has free garage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrantedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 45 in Rothenburg
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glocke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glocke Hotel

Property: Glocke Hotel
Address: Ploenlein 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel Glocke)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glocke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glocke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing