We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Glocke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glocke Hotel
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our road trip of Germany. Lovely traditional hotel right in the centre of Rothenburg. Friendly staff and welcome on our arrival. We were instructed on how to get to their underground parking and were met in the car park by a member of staff to take us and our luggage up to our room. The room was large and very traditional in its furnishings. It was spotlessly clean, with a tv, safe, mini bar etc. The bathroom was very modern with free toiletries supplied. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (but this seems to be the case in Germany out of the 5 hotels we stayed in, only one had these facilities). There is free wi-fi in the rooms but only for the first night, then you pay 4.95 euros.

On the first night we ate in their restaurant and the food was lovely and also very reasonably priced. The service was excellent and the staff friendly.

The breakfast was great with a wide variety of food available.

Rothenburg town is excellent. It is so full of character and charm. I would definitely come back here again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Also we found this hotel very good value for money.

The only negatives are there wasn't any air conditioning so our room was rather warm.

Also no lifts, which was no problem for us but might be for other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This medial town was recommended by a german friend as a nice stopover between Münster and Munich. It was just super. Quaint town, cobbled streets, old style houses, bakeries, restaurants…

Good covered parking which is necessary because there is no street parking space in the town. good wifi, good breakfast, room very nice and not too expensive. all in all a very good experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EagleEye_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

i have spent a lot of time in this hotel for business, and I have to say this is by far one of the best places i have been in Germany, the room are just as you would hope for in a small place, soft beds, warm rooms in the winter, a parking garage in house, the food is great, real family tradition style, and the whole crew are the nicest people in the world, if you get the chance take wit wine cellar tour, it's a lot of fun, just don't expect a lot of night life in this town, but a fantastic place during the day

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whig650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the Glocke Weingut und Hotel in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and wished we had stayed more! Our room was perfect with windows overlooking the the Plönlein. The size of the room made it very comfortable. The staff were absolutely brilliant making us feel very welcome. Breakfast was exceptional value for money. The location was perfect! If you are planning a trip to Rothenburg ob der Tauber, I suggest this place is hard to pass by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in this supper cute town! Very good serivce. I was sad to find a better price online than what they told us as we were walk in's. but it was nice and clean and we had a great nights rest! Love Germany! Very ancient building. Not something u stay in everyday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Our room was freshly redecorated, and the staff was incredible. The location next to the old clock tower is convenient to the whole village. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended for a romantic visit to Rothenberg or as a one night stopover on a longer journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a great Locarno in Rothenberg. The furnishings were dated. OK for the ,ones in Rothenberg - 78€. Has a parking garage for an extra fee which is nice on Rothenberg. The furnishings were dated. Breakfast was basic German, certainly the most basic we have had in the past week in Germany. Desk staff was helpful but if I were to return, I would spend the money on the Berghotel where friend stayed, much nicer .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB9MNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#30 of 45 in Rothenburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glocke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glocke Hotel

Property: Glocke Hotel
Address: Ploenlein 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel Glocke)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glocke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glocke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing