We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Klosterstueble
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I traveled in Germany with my 2 adult sons so we needed a place to accommodate us. We were lucky enough to rent the top floor apartment at the Klosterstueble for 1 night. For only 170 Euro, we had 3 bedrooms that can sleep 6, a living room, kitchen, and dining area. There was even a small deck off the back. And since this was on the top floor, it was very quiet. Our host Erika, showed us around and was super helpful with all of my questions about Rothenburg. She was a bundle of energy as she went around working with all of the guests to make sure they were comfortable at the hotel. The breakfast was excellent as was the small bar downstairs. Only wish we had planned to spend more time in this amazing medieval city.
If you are traveling with a family and need the space, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for availability of the top floor apartment for groups of 3 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    132
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
266
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was my third visit to Rothenburg, but my first stay at this Hotel. If/when I return, this is where I will book. Stayed here for two nights with my family of five. Because we added another night to our stay, we had to change rooms -- allowing us to experience five different rooms in this hotel. Each of the five rooms were different, but all were exceptionally charming. We were in Europe for two weeks, but this hotel was -- by far -- the one we will remember the most. The ambiance is without rival in this town filled with ambiance. We also had dinner here one night. The restaurant was filled with locals and -- after experiencing the meal -- we could understand why. The hotel staff were the nicest group of people that we met during our entire vacation. This hotel was perfect in every way. Stay here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The restaurant opens at six. Be there when they open and order a meal from the daily specials. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We only spent one day/night in Rothenburg but it was the highlight of our trip to Germany and the Hotel Klosterstueble helped in that regard. The room was very big and comfortable. The wifi worked great and the included breakfast was excellent. In fact, instead of a steam table with eggs they made eggs to order for everyone! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

I recommend seeing Rothenburg and staying at least 1 night so you can do the Night Watchman tour and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I were in Munich for a three day stay...not finding it a place we wanted to continue...we came upon this charming hotel on Bookings.com...we booked a night...packed up and drove to Rothenburg, traveling on the Romantic Strabe....when we approached this medieval town, our months dropped at the sights! Hotel-Restaurant Klosterstuble was as charming as it gets. The parking for us was not much of an issue...the hotel found us a place nearby. The room was comfortable...cosy...and Bavarian charm-filled. The breakfast offerings were delicious, plentiful as well as the staff could not have been more helpful. We would definitely returned to this wonderful city and fab inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannersKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are planning to stay in Rothenburg, this hotel is a must. The location is one of the best in the great walled city, close to the Marketplatz and the beautiful gardens. The restaurant has to be one of the best in the city. The Rome are very well appointed and quiet. The staff is friendly and accommodating. They were quick to help us with parking, getting us situated in our room, recommending things to do and see (You must do the Night Watchman tour-very entertaining and funny), and in making us feel welcome. In fact, after the Night Watchman tour, we went back to our room with a real yen for some apple strudel. Knowing the restaurant was already closed, I told the Mrs. that we would have to have it another time. However, they were still cleaning up and allowed us to have our wonderful dessert. Keep this hotel in your radar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Two stars are for the location, which is smack dab in the middle of Rothenburg. That's where the goodness ends.

Let me just give you the bullet points:

- Ugly hotel. You get to your room through the same entry as the kitchen service area. About as nice as it sounds.
- Dirty hotel in disrepair: Mildew in the (plastic) shower, broken sink and tiles, refrigerator was broken, and to top it off there were dirty undewear beneath the bed from the previous (or prior to that, who knows) guest.
- Staff knew about the broken things in the room and told us "there's nothing we can do." That's the biggest no-no in service.
- Breakfast is not included.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Rothenburg as this was my first time here but I definitely would recommend you look elsewhere for accomodations if you're planning on visiting (and you should visit, it was a beautiful town).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ufmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all! Number one was Erica, your own personable Jeeves! Hospitality with a capital H! She helped find parking, restaurants, seasonal specialties, took luggage up to the room and so much more...she has a wonderful welcoming personality! The rooms were meticulously clean, with German charm which made you feel welcomed! Breakfast was excellent! Juices, fruits, breads and pastries, cheeses, meats and cereals, hot breve rages and eggs cooked!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klosterstueble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterstueble

Property: Hotel Klosterstueble
Address: Heringsbronnengaesschen 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klosterstueble 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is hardly a town in Germany that is more charming and traditional than Rothenburg. In the historic part of this enchanting city you find the Kloster-Stueble, your romantic home for unforgettable moments. For three generations now the Kloster-Stueble has been owned by the same family who want to welcome their guests in a very personal atmosphere. That's why we only have individually appointed, romantic rooms, reflecting the cozy atmosphere of our town. He offers you a traditional, yet sophisticated cuisine, using only fresh, local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Klosterstueble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterstuble Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing