We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, great location, super breakfasts and more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gerberhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gerberhaus
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint, great location, super breakfasts and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed several times here over the years and was always delighted, as we're my preteen grandchildren. It is clean, quiet and personal with a superb breakfast bar, many choices! Nice outdoor garden and indoor parking spaces. Tight but workable. An easy walk to the center of town. Accommodating staff, comfortable beds for a rest fool sleep. Tastefully furnished breakfast room, cozy christmassy in winter. We will go there again, every time we are in the area which is at least once a year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreambunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    74
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
61
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

A group of eight of us arrived after three days of cycling down the Tauber as part of a 40th birthday celebration. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and very much in keeping with the feel of this area of Germany. After some initial confusion about the room allocations, the staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast options were the best I've seen anywhere.

A few wobbles with the WiFi access, which was a shame, are about the only thing I can think of to criticise the hotel for - everything else was wonderful. It's a great location, and not at all far from the centre of Rothenburg - easy walk (if you don't mind hills). The courtyard and garden are charming. Several people have commented upon the fact that the main entrance is closed from 10pm ish - this is true, as is the fact that access to the rear entrance is quite dark, but to us this wasn't a problem at all, in fact it all added to the charm and distinctiveness of the place.

I'll certainly be going back.

Room Tip: It's a little warm in the height of summer on the top floor - lower down is probably cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitalMissives_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Located inside the ancient walls of Rothenburg, the hotel is an easy walk to the sites and shops of the city. Our room was very comfortable with 21st century facilities. The property features a nice outdoor garden with many tables. We were dropped off outside the city walls and walked thru a gate to the hotel so parking was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric98275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a wonderful night in Rothenburg at Hotel Gerberhaus! Absolutely lovely room, comfortable beds, The bathroom was large and luxurious for our (tall!) family of four. Located in the heart of beautiful Rothenburg. Amazing buffet breakfast! Friendly, helpful staff who made us feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Plains
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were three women traveling together and finding a room with 3 beds wasn't always easy. But this hotel had a lovely one at a reasonable price. One bed was a sort of a camp bed that wasn't the greatest sleep, but everything else, including the bathroom was fine. They have parking in a garage for 7E per night which was handy, and they also have a beautiful courtyard/garden where you can sit and relax that was a wonderful plus. The breakfast was a buffet that was truly beyond belief - a gourmet wonder! The service was excellent and the location is handy to all the charming shops and restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel was our favorite of all places we stayed in Germany. It's located within the walled city and an easy walk to everything. The hotel is laid out and decorated beautifully and the rooms are very comfortable. I wish the weather had been warmer so we could have used the outdoor area in the back yard. The apple trees were in full bloom so there were fresh apples at every turn. Breakfast was very good. Parking is available for a few cars behind the hotel. If that is full it wouldn't be that far of a walk to the parking lot on the other side of the wall.

The staff gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner (Reichskuchenmeister). We also really enjoyed the Night Watchman Tour,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed with another family to begin a 10 day bike trip. The hosts were very welcoming and made all nine of us feel right at home. Great English and great breakfasts. No complaints whatsoever. Fantastic location inside the walled city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerberhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerberhaus

Property: Hotel Gerberhaus
Address: Spitalgasse 25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gerberhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a tannery in the 16th century, this hotel was lovingly restored in the middle of the 1980s according to the specifications of the monument protection act. Romantic rooms in country-style offer a four-poster bed and modern bathrooms, most offering Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy a gourmet breakfast buffet featuring fresh fruit, bread rolls, different types of marmalade, desserts and champagne. Guests take coffee and cake during the day and warm snacks in the evening. On sunny days enjoy the idyllic beer garden, where beer, wine, cake and ice cream are offered. During the winter months the hotel offers mulled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gerberhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerberhaus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing