We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gerberhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gerberhaus
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This gasthaus is just inside the city wall in the long neck area if you look at the map. It took a moment to find but the location is right next to the wall which I liked because we had free parking against the wall which is where the entrance to our room was located. We had the two room apt with small kitchenette. This accommodated 5 of us and was perfect for privacy. This is our second stay in Rothenberg and I've liked both of our different accommodations. It is expensive to stay in Rothenberg but worth it. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because of the expense. I thought the breakfast was fine but enjoyed the quaintness of the main building. Staff was friendly. WiFi was good. The only issue was an odd eye level lamp in the middle of our room and lack of thicker drapes to keep out the light. Overall you will be happy with your stay here especially if you have children and like to have a separate room with door for them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mommoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    74
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
61
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Okay - Rothenburg is an amazing, albeit tiny town and much of what is there possesses a tremendous amount of character.

Here are the pluses of this hotel: 10 min walk to city center, free wifi, great breakfast, adequate storage in the room for a family of 4, the exterior garden is lovely with plenty of seating and it's clean.

Here are the minuses: the bed was awful, our bathroom was periodically occupied by several dozen ants (I realize ants happen, and it's not the end of the world), the front door is locked very early in the evening requiring you to walk around the back to the rear entrance in an alley, and there is stuff (antique decor) everywhere. It adds to the character of the hotel, but occasionally you can't enjoy the character of the hotel for all the decor.

Side note: when we discovered the ants it was in the evening after we'd returned from dinner and there was no way to reach anyone to alert them to the problem. Turning on the bathroom light seemed to make them scatter so it wasn't the end of the world. The next day, the cleaning staff must have see them and there were less so we didn't say anything to the management.

Overall, the manager/owner and the staff were very nice, but for the price of this hotel I would have expected a bit more above and beyond service and attention to details (i.e. - shampoos, soaps, water bottles, later access to the building from the front, a book that details the attractions in the town).

That being said, it is Rothenburg and maybe I'm expecting too much for what we paid (approx 500euro for 3 nights including breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhmtuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have stayed here on 2 occasions and enjoyed the experience each time. Very typical German Gasthaus with traditional décor and trimmings. Exellent breakfast with all the expected German selections of meats, cheese, rolls etc. More of a Pension atmosphere in that you have to "sneak" in the back door in the evening because the front of the building is closed and locked. The added plus is the rear courtyard where one can enjoy an afternoon coffee or a refreshing beverage after spending the day walking the village. There is an "undercover" area in the event of rain or one can sit amidst the garden area with your friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgewaterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel has more of a B&B feel. It was very quaint and homey. The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful. We really liked the location, just inside the town gates (so we didn't have to drive far through the narrow streets), and easily in walking distance of the entire town. The breakfast was very good, and there is a beautiful courtyard, which is a lovely place to relax and have a glass of wine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

As part of our road trip across Germany, we made a pint to stop int the picturesque, walled town of Rothenburg. Friends of ours recommended staying at Gerberhaus, and we happily took their advice. Our room was perfect, it may as well have been straight out of a fairytale. The blue and white gingham bedding was the icing on the cake. Gerberhaus staff were friendly and knowledgeable, happy to help us find whatever we we after. The hotel gardens were also beautiful, where one could sit and enjoy a cup of tea, or a one of the movies shown by staff in the evening.

We visited the many shops in Rothenburg, took in more Christmas shopping than is healthy, visited the medieval crimes museum, enjoyed the nights watchman tour, had dinner at Hell (a great little pub) and finished the evening with a late night walk along the wall.

Gerberhaus was a delight and their breakfast was divine :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassbrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Rothenberg is a jaw droppingly beautiful medieval city. The ancient city is walled, and easily accessible on foot. There are a number of hotels in the city, all of which fit architecturally. They will all have their own plus points, but Hotel Gerberhaus is a small, beautiful hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are quite spacious but beautifully appointed with much attention to detail. The breakfasts are traditional with fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses and bread. There is a small, shaded beer garden, and it is certainly tranquil there. The hotel allows immediate access to the city. Car parking is available on street, but beware of parking fines if you're in the wrong place or the right place at the wrong time, at the rear of the hotel, or in a garage at extra cost.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the street but it is not noisy; rooms at the back may veer look th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family stayed in this hotel in July 2013. We were given the lower and upper apartments and they were lovely. The apartments are located toward the back of the property and look out over the wall surrounding the town. Both apartments looked very new and modern. As you enter there is a kitchen area with a stovetop, refrigerator and sink and plenty of dishes and pots and pans to set up housekeeping. Off the kitchen area there was a fairly large bathroom with a decent size shower. There was one bedroom with a regular bed and tv in it. The other room had a couch that could be converted to a large pull-out bed, small kitchen table and tv. We loved these apartments because their was plenty of room to spread out without tripping over luggage. The hotel was a short walk from all of the sights in Rothenburg, make sure to do the Nightwatchman's tour if you get a chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerberhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerberhaus

Property: Hotel Gerberhaus
Address: Spitalgasse 25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gerberhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a tannery in the 16th century, this hotel was lovingly restored in the middle of the 1980s according to the specifications of the monument protection act. Romantic rooms in country-style offer a four-poster bed and modern bathrooms, most offering Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy a gourmet breakfast buffet featuring fresh fruit, bread rolls, different types of marmalade, desserts and champagne. Guests take coffee and cake during the day and warm snacks in the evening. On sunny days enjoy the idyllic beer garden, where beer, wine, cake and ice cream are offered. During the winter months the hotel offers mulled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gerberhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerberhaus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing