We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

plenty of free parking , great location just out side city wall , found a place to do laundry about 5 or 6 blocks from hotel. great breakfast, we will stay here again when we come back again, nice out door garden area to sit in durning nice weather . We stayed in many hotels and gasthouses and we rate this as one of the top places . Their dog (Buddy) was very polite and and also greeted us to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    47
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
79
188
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here in late September- easy to find and free parking basically next door (across the pedestrian/biking trail) just outside the walls of the city (thus easy place to stay if you drive because you don't have to worry about driving within the walls...which can be rather tight). When we walked in to find their dog Buddy (lab/golden?) lying stretched out in front of the desk, we knew we were in the right place. ?Gaby gave us a map of Rothenburg and circled areas of interest, gave us info about the night watchman tour and recommendations on restaurants. We had the triple room on the top floor (the only one available for the dates we needed)- which had one main room and a small bedroom with a large shower/tub and separate room with toilette. It was cozy and warm. Woke up each morning to the smell of breakfast... can't think of a better way to wake up. Breakfast was cereal/yogurt/fruit/bread/coffee and hard boiled egg with a smiley face :) There is a pedestrian path right outside of the hotel which was nice as a runner- it was easy to follow around the city.
The only down side is the wifi did not work in the main room, but we figured out that it did work in the small bedroom...which was better than sitting out in the hall.
We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality here - with such a great location, I would highly recommend staying here (especially if you like dogs)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visit Rothenburg for the last 8 years. We always stay at Hotel Hornburg, a beautiful small hotel where you feel like home.
Great place, great rooms, hearty breakfast and a lot of friendship are the characteristics of Hornburg.
We will come back dear friends....very soon!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own character.I suggest to visit the place many times in order to stay to all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greek_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Due West, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff at the Hotel Garni-Hornburg could not be more accommodating. My wife asked if we could sit in some chairs outside on the lawn, and the proprietor replied, "Of course! This is your home." We felt as if we were staying with friends. The location is unbeatable, it is only a ten minute walk to the train station, and the room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my 6 year old daughter. The hosts were very nice.
It is a nice building with a nice garden. The location is nice just outside the city walls.
Breakfast is of good quality.
The room design was tacky and worn out. The room was big enough but the floor was creeky, and made terrible noises when walking on it.
I enjoyed my stay but would not rate this hotel more than ok.

Room Tip: Don't chose room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH2SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Rothenburg.Very good location , spacious room , good beer , large garden , peacefull place.City center is very near and a lot of restaurants are in a walking distance.
The dog is also amazing .
We loved it and we'll be back here someday.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitrescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hotel Hornburg was a great place for us to stay while we visited Rothenburg. It is right outside the walled city and is situated on a large property with room to relax outside. The owners, Martin and Gabrielle were cheery, helpful and very pleasant. We had a nice room overlooking the walled city which was very nice. My only hesitation in this hotel is the eclectic and "tacky" decorating the rooms. However, this was easy to overlook because of the great service and location of the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding with various breads, cheeses, cold meats, yogurt, fresh fruit salad (made that morning), granola, sweets, boiled eggs (that Martin put a happy face on) etc. A great way to start the day! I would definitely stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Hornburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Property: Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Address: Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Hornburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Garni Hornburg is a individual hotel which offers you ten charming and tastefully decorated rooms with modern comfort like Cable-Television, radio etc. All rooms are NON-SMOKING rooms! Quiet, central location. Official German Hotel-Classification is 3*. Special service is a Internet Terminal just for the use of our guests without charge as well as free of charge WiFi in all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Garni Hornburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Garni Hornburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Garni Hornburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing