We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an old fashioned family run hotel with excellent wi fi connection and good breakfasts. The city walls are two minutes from the hotel. The family that runs the hotel is friendly and very helpful. If we visit Rothenburg again we would not hesitate using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try for a room which overlooks the old city walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed two nights the room was lovely very large with a seating area, the breakfast was excellent. The owners could not have been more helpful recommending restaurants etc you could tell that they had great pride in their hotel. Rothenburg is a must to visit it is one of the most lovely towns on the Romantic Road.

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was lovely and had an enclosed terrace which would have been lovely to sit in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurfers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

plenty of free parking , great location just out side city wall , found a place to do laundry about 5 or 6 blocks from hotel. great breakfast, we will stay here again when we come back again, nice out door garden area to sit in durning nice weather . We stayed in many hotels and gasthouses and we rate this as one of the top places . Their dog (Buddy) was very polite and and also greeted us to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here in late September- easy to find and free parking basically next door (across the pedestrian/biking trail) just outside the walls of the city (thus easy place to stay if you drive because you don't have to worry about driving within the walls...which can be rather tight). When we walked in to find their dog Buddy (lab/golden?) lying stretched out in front of the desk, we knew we were in the right place. ?Gaby gave us a map of Rothenburg and circled areas of interest, gave us info about the night watchman tour and recommendations on restaurants. We had the triple room on the top floor (the only one available for the dates we needed)- which had one main room and a small bedroom with a large shower/tub and separate room with toilette. It was cozy and warm. Woke up each morning to the smell of breakfast... can't think of a better way to wake up. Breakfast was cereal/yogurt/fruit/bread/coffee and hard boiled egg with a smiley face :) There is a pedestrian path right outside of the hotel which was nice as a runner- it was easy to follow around the city.
The only down side is the wifi did not work in the main room, but we figured out that it did work in the small bedroom...which was better than sitting out in the hall.
We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality here - with such a great location, I would highly recommend staying here (especially if you like dogs)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visit Rothenburg for the last 8 years. We always stay at Hotel Hornburg, a beautiful small hotel where you feel like home.
Great place, great rooms, hearty breakfast and a lot of friendship are the characteristics of Hornburg.
We will come back dear friends....very soon!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own character.I suggest to visit the place many times in order to stay to all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greek_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff at the Hotel Garni-Hornburg could not be more accommodating. My wife asked if we could sit in some chairs outside on the lawn, and the proprietor replied, "Of course! This is your home." We felt as if we were staying with friends. The location is unbeatable, it is only a ten minute walk to the train station, and the room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my 6 year old daughter. The hosts were very nice.
It is a nice building with a nice garden. The location is nice just outside the city walls.
Breakfast is of good quality.
The room design was tacky and worn out. The room was big enough but the floor was creeky, and made terrible noises when walking on it.
I enjoyed my stay but would not rate this hotel more than ok.

Room Tip: Don't chose room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GH2SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Hornburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Address: Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Hornburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Garni Hornburg is a individual hotel which offers you ten charming and tastefully decorated rooms with modern comfort like Cable-Television, radio etc. All rooms are NON-SMOKING rooms! Quiet, central location. Official German Hotel-Classification is 3*. Special service is a Internet Terminal just for the use of our guests without charge as well as free of charge WiFi in all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel-Garni Hornburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Garni Hornburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Garni Hornburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing