We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
269
53
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
53
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsstained glass windowshonor systemcity parkingold housefirst floorwalled cityold cityprivate bathroomper daybreadvisiting rothenburgeach morningstayed longerno liftbreakfast was includedwalls
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I were just passing through on our journey through the Romantische Straße, and we decided to stop for the night in Rothenburg o.d.T., and we found this hotel online. It was the most charming little bed and breakfast. Beautiful and cozy, the room was quite spacious and warm (we went on a cold winter day), and WiFi worked perfectly. The lady of the house was very kind. She showed us on the maps places to visit in town and to dine out. She also prepared the breakfast next morning with delicious coffee, and generous amount of different breads and jams, and made us soft-boiled eggs--with a smiley face drawn on them :)
It was so quiet at night, and we slept very well. Loved the whole experience.
Oh, yes, the big doggie Buddy the Golden retriever, was so sweet and huggable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I took a New Years road trip and our first stop was Rothenburg o.d. Tauber. After reading the reviews, we decided to choose this hotel to spend the 2 nights we would spend in Rothenburg and we are so glad we did. The building itself must have been an old mansion and I found it architecturally beautiful. The location is perfect as it is right outside the city wall, so you are in old Rothenburg in 2 seconds.

From the beginning, we were greeted warmly by the reception (I believe one of the owners) who then quickly pulled out a map and showed us the local restaurants, along with suggestions, and points on interest. It was very helpful information and the map served as our guide throughout our trip. Our room was spacious, with a enclosed balcony, which would have been perfect for the summer, but a nice to have in December. It was clean, comfortable, and inviting- perfect for a B&B. Free wifi and a huge fridge with a selection of wines, beers, and non-alcoholic beverages were available at a reasonable price as well. Parking was convenient and close-by (and free).

Breakfast was excellent- definitely a German breakfast, so for those who are expecting scrambled eggs, bacon, etc (an American breakfast), this isn't it. However, we loved it- fresh breads from the bakery, a selection of yogurts and cereals, meats and cheeses, tea and coffee. My favorite part was the breakfast egg, which had a cute little face on it! Since it was Christmas, it even had a little Santa hat on! Of course, 100% not necessary, but I do appreciate the little things as it really does add to the experience.

We had great interactions with everyone who worked there, who were more than above friendly. They were truly warm, caring people who cared about your experience. We couldn't have been more pleased. We are planning on a trip to Rothenburg in the summer and we will be staying here again. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittischoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Many people would enjoy staying at this hotel, so I hate to give it an average rating. I'm giving it three stars because the owners eventually resolved one of the issues, otherwise I'm afraid my rating would be even lower. On this trip, my family wanted beautiful, clean rooms, a great breakfast, convenient parking, and friendly people to help us if we needed it. We received all those things with this choice of hotel, and if it would have ended there we would have given it a five star rating. However, the owner went into our room when the "do not disturb" sign was on the door, therefore ruining the feeling of privacy that we value so highly. When we asked why this occurred, the owner stated she had a right to do so because it is a "private family home" and she needed to check things. She didn't clean or anything; she just looked around. This was the first morning of our stay, so it was not as if we had been in the room three or four days making a huge mess. We put the sign on the door because we truly did not need anything or want anyone there.

I personally enjoy vacations where my family and I can go about our own business; however, I recognize that not everyone feels that way. For us, the incident and the resulting conversations made us uncomfortable and conspicuous, and even though we tried to resume our holiday, we ended up wanting to leave a day early. At this point, the second owner refused to let us out of the contract and was going to make us pay for the last day unless he could rent the room to someone else at the last minute. More conversations followed, and perhaps because it was Christmas time, they ended up allowing us to leave without having to pay for the final day. That healed some of the hurt feelings, and for that we can give three stars to the rating. Just be aware, this is a small place--a bed-and-breakfast rather than a hotel--so if something goes "wrong" you will definitely feel set apart from other guests and the atmosphere will be awkward. But if everything goes "right" you will probably love staying here, hence all the excellent ratings.

In the future, our suggestion would be for the owners to establish a policy in writing where they inform their guests that the rooms "MUST" be entered between such-and-such hours every day, to open windows, turn off lights, check for towels, etc. And perhaps they should mention to guests that any requests are best made before 16:00 when their extra help leaves the premises (Their disregard for the sign stems partially from the fact that they don't want surprise requests during inconvenient hours, so they need to "check" what you're doing to anticipate needs). Bottom line: If you enjoy getting to know people and feeling like you're part of a big family, this beautiful house is the place for you. However, if you want to be there for the sole purpose of having private family time with your own family and not socializing, and if you see yourself as paying for rooms you can call your own for the time of your stay, you might feel uncomfortable in a "family house."

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frothnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have been coming to Rothenburg for 10 years. Every year we stay at Hotel-Gerni Hornburg, and every year we are more impressed than we were with the stay the year before. The breakfast is the typical German breakfast but also has fresh fruit. The rooms are each decorated differently but perfect for a B&B. The rooms are clean, the owners EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Free interent and free parking. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPoppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have been to Rothenburg on many occasions and once we found this gem we won't stay anywhere else. We found this small hotel years ago before Rick Steve's was including it in his book and now have to make sure we reserve in plenty of time. The hotel is in a wonderful old mansion just outside the city walls which makes it a perfect location-close to everything but away from the bus loads of tourists that invade the city during the day.

Although this hotel has unique, comfortable, and updated rooms you feel as if you are staying in someone's home. The hotel is operated by a lovely couple and they make your stay! Martin and Gabriele are fabulous hosts. They are ready with all the information you need to get the most out of your stay while giving you all the privacy you desire.

They also have the most delightful dog (Buddy) that is there to pet if you are an animal person or stays out of the way if you are not. The breakfast is varied and filling and Martin is there to provide anything you need.

We have stayed here in the summer and made use of the grounds which include a outdoor table and chairs to enjoy a beverage and the weather or in the winter to look out the windows of our room while we take a break from the sights (Christmas Market) to enjoy people watching or the comfortable public seating areas to read a book or catch up back home with the free wifi.

We can't say enough about this great hotel or the fabulous hosts. You cannot go wrong and we would recommend you book more than one night and reserve early so you don't miss out on this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews