We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location near the Old Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect Location near the Old Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed two nights here and it was a perfect location to do shopping and enjoy walking around Rothenburg. The old wall around the city is just outside the hotel. Our room was large and clean, and the breakfast is included, with plenty of food and good service. A very cute hotel with colorful flowers in the flower boxes! We would recommend this place. Parking is right there. Helpful staff too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    219
    81
    20
    5
See reviews for
147
208
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faxe
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

W had booked 5 nights on half board. We had one of the "standard" rooms. It was not very big; but it had two good beds and two chairs and ample facilities for storing the clothing + small, but functioning bathroom. Only problem: too few shelves in the bathroom for two persons! The room was clean and serviced every day.
We dined in the hotels restaurant and never left hungry; but the food was very unexciting! We believe, that the cook school forgot to tell the chef about spices! They had a good selection of german wines, and we enjoyed this.
Ther is a garden connected to the hotel, and when the weather was good, we sat there i the afternoon drinking a glass of beer or wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussiogjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Very clean and nice accommodations! Breakfast was good and location was awesome for walking to sites. Only downside was no a/c. Staff was so very courteous and helpful! Wifi was complimentary. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The location is very convenient, just outside the walls to the old city with off street free parking. The room had been recently refurbished and was
spacious and clean. Note no air conditioning or fridge. The reception staff were particularly friendly, efficient and helpful. We fully enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located just outside the entrance of the wall city. The room is clean and big enough for a family of 4. Not air conditioned thus the room is slightly warm since it is early summer. Breakfast is a decent spread of variety located at a cosy corner of hotel. Overall the stay is pleasant and recommended for short stay travellers

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstinybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had visited Rothenburg many times in the past, but never spent the night. On this trip we decided to do that and this hotel was in the perfect location. The hotel actually has three properties (adjacent to one another) and we stayed at the Gasthof, their least expensive offering. It was fantastic. The Gasthof is just outside the walled entry into the city and it offered free parking for the car (as do all their properties). We actually booked two rooms because we were traveling with our adult daughter and so I can say that both rooms were spacious, comfortable and well appointed. They offered free wi-fi, too. The cost of the room, which was reasonable to begin with, also included a delicious breakfast in the morning. Another treat this Gasthof offered was an attached restaurant that had an after 9 pm menu available for those that might want something to eat later at night. This came up because we took advantage of the Nightwatchman's tour (would recommend that, too) and weren't hungry enough to eat dinner before it began.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here with a school group and was amazed not to hear any noise from the rooms beside us. The room was modern and clean and the only thing really missing for me was a kettle (but I had my own water boiler). Our room had a verandah which would be lovely to sit out on, but we were rather busy and the one day we had time it was too hot out there. The was more comfortable than expected but we're still getting used to European pillows and my husband would have like an addtional one.
At the hotel restaurant (which is just 2 houses away) we had 2 breakfasts (basic but we LOVED the bread rolls), lunch (enjoyed in the biergarten )and 2 dinners. All meals except for one were outstanding. Being that we didn't get to chose our meals, the meals presented to us were enjoyed by all.
The location of this hotel is outstanding. JUST outside the city gates and close to the train station (which we appreciated on departure day).
We have no complaints about this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we're ever lucky enough to return to this amazing town

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Property: Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 6+10, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rappen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing