We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting romantic Rothenburg with your loved one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
osann-monzel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting romantic Rothenburg with your loved one!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and I drove to Rothenburg on a whim and picked this hotel because it was very close to the gate of the old city. We didn't have a reservation, but they had a room and it was within our price range. The room was decorated in deep reds for a romantic appeal and it was very clean. Breakfast was included and was delicious, located in a nearby cozy restaurant. It was a wonderful place to stay for the evening!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moony606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    225
    83
    20
    5
See reviews for
151
213
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I went on a two week tour of Europe, and this was easily the best hotel I stayed at on my tour. The interior of the hotel was all very modern and looked brand new. The room was very large as far as European hotel rooms go, was very bright, had a nice large television and a very nice balcony. The bathroom was also very nice and was well ventilated so the mirror didn't fog up. One drawback was as expected, there is no air conditioning and the room can get quite warm during the day so we had to keep our window shades rolled down to eliminate any solar radiation. The food at this hotel was also very good. Rothenburg is a very unique town and I truly enjoyed its layed back atmosphere. Also, this hotel did have a computer available for use in the lobby and they charged €2 for 30 minutes of use. It was nice because you could reserve a time for use, however I found that the desk attendant did not monitor the computer real closely so I would recommend saving money and just using the computer if you need to. Again, I very much enjoyed this hotel and wish I could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had to change our arrangements at the last minute and the staff were extremely helpful and really went that extra mile for us. Our roomwas more like a suite than a double, with a separate lounge area two wall mounted plasma TVs,, double sinks - and plenty of storage. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. All this for such a low price too. The inclusive breakfast was delicious, and the coffee came in huge jugs. We only ate out on one night because the hotel restaurant was so good, with a varied menu to suit all tastes. The hotel was busy but not over run, with plenty of local customers - always a good sign.

The town is beautiful - one of Germany's hidden gems. We were there when there was a weekend festival: all the townspeople wore medieval costumes, there were medieval markets,, troops billeted in the beer gardens, dancing and singing in the streets.. It was like stepping back in time. Even in the rain, there is plenty to see, fascinating museums, and good shopping. We loved everything about it!

.

,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clariyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We only stayed overnight - and what a good choice of hotel!
We drove, and it was easy to find. It has a free car park.
Our room was room 190. It was simple but clean, and the ensuite was adequate..
It had a small balcony that overlooked the car park toward the old Walled City. The hotel is right outside one of the entrances.You park up the car and walk.
The walled city is lovely - Be sure to take a walk on the wall.
We had dinner downstairs, it was a huge meal. Good food, good service.
This hotel is great value. We could've easily stayed another night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
488 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The hotel is beside the city walls, so you can go to the city centre by foot. We spent 2 nights in Rothenburg (wonderful city!) and didn't need our car (the hotel has a free parking). Our room (at the corner) was very confortable and quiet, the size was good (really big), including the bathroom. The room is, however, better than the reception and the corridors (annex), with a oldish atmosphere.
The breakfast is rather good, but not exceptional. There is several pastry shops available near the hotel, if you want.
The check-in and the check-out were very fast ans efficient. We didn't try the restaurant at night (we've preferred to go to the city).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odsmal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Hotel is just outside city wall within easy walking distance of the sights. Try to get a room in the main building and avoid the annex. The rooms are ok but with an oldish feeling to them. Reception staff helpful, breakfast buffe average. The hotel restaurant serves fine dishes in a cosy atmosphere.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

First off, there are two hotel locations within the Zum Rappen - the main and the Gasthof building. We booked in the Gasthof. The hotel was very convenient to the train station and Rothenburg market center. The rooms are OK but nothing spectacular as with the bathrooms, the staff at the main building were more lively and nice than those at the Gasthof. The price was on par with the accommodation I think.

Upon arrival, we had a 7 minute uphill walk from the train station - the staff at the hotel let us store our bags until check-in at the Gasthof later in the day. (If you travel to Rothenburg via train, you would have to pass this hotel on the way in.) It appeared that the restaurant staff handles the check-in at the Gasthof building.

The rooms were a bit dated, but nothing bad - on the large side for Europe. The bed was large, the bathroom small, with the 2 sinks located in the living quarters, which actually proved convenient. Our room was above the restaurant, which made it a bit smoky (and the staff smoked in the hallway). The doors were very thin and other guests doors closing were loud.

Breakfast was included but nothing spectacular - typical breads, meats, cheeses - I'd recommend a local shop (very cheap for excellent pastries) for breakfast. The walk to the center of town was about 5 minutes with some nice pastry shops along the way.

All in all, it was an average hotel with average ratings; but on par with the price. I would recommend this hotel with the notes above.

  • Liked — Location to train/town
  • Disliked — Nothing stood out to being good/bad - just average all around
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrStylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Property: Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 6+10, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rappen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing