We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh well.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Oh well.”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I'm not sure how we ended up here but we did. Rooms very small, poorly equipped and serviced sparingly. Very uncomfortable bedding and getting bags up the stairs can be a bit of fun. Breakfast is really a non-event, go find a cafe, it will be better and more comfortable.It was only one night, so no harm done. If you can't get in anywhere else it will do.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    29
    6
    11
See reviews for
29
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Hotel is located within the castle right behind the famous clock tower on the main street. Breakfast was very good. Hotel clean and well kept. Inn keeper and the rest of the staff were very friendly and went out of the way to assure a great stay. Room was quaint and roomy. Bathroom was modern, nice shower. Great value for the price. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return as well as recommend this hotel to our friends and family. The Am Siebersturm made our stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber a wonderful memory for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This used to be one of our favorite hotels in one of our favorite cities in Europe. Not so much anymore. The original owners have moved on and with them has gone their great German warmth and hospitality. The new owners are friendly enough when you arrive but if you have any problems they just don't seem to care. The "free" wifi never worked despite how many passwords and networks they gave us. The rooms seem much smaller than they used to, but that's probably because our family has grown, and the buffet breakfast was small and uninspiring.

The location of the hotel is nice and convenient to the town square but with all the road construction this year (not the owners fault obviously) the area was dusty and noisy. Another problem is that the town itself no longer seems to care. They used to limit the cars in the "old town" during the day and forbid them in the evenings, but now the narrow roads are littered with every size of vehicle at all hours zipping around distracted tourists everywhere you go. You can no longer sit for a relaxing drink in the town square in the evening without someone driving within a few feet of you blaring bad rap music from their car. It's unfortunate and I hope the town reverts to its old rules, but I'm afraid that isn't likely to happen and their tourism will eventually suffer for it.

I can no longer recommend this once quaint and enjoyable hotel, nor the city/town of Rothenburg itself until such time as there is an improvement in both. So much for one of our favorite places.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Friendly reception (we got lost and the owner directed us over the phone) in the middle of Rothenburg.
Good sized room, small bathroom, free Internet, reasonable parking (€6 per night).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel was perfectly located within the walls of Rothenburg and allowed for easy access to all of the attractions. The family running the hotel were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are fair in size compared to most European hotels. A typical European style breakfast is served every morning consisting of an assortment of bread, cheeses, fruit, and dried cereal. Highly suggest this hotel for your stay in Rothenburg!!

Room Tip: Room 12 had a great view and room 1 comes with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
448 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Basic but clean 2-star hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and the receptionist at check in rode with me to show me where to park our car, along the old town wall. 82 Euros with breakfast for two people. A short walk straight to the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We arrived late, not sure exactly where to head. The hotel was super easy to find though, just through the main gate. I hadn't paid for parking so parked my car outside the gates(to be dealt with post checkin...we were almost late). When the owner checked us in and found out we had a car, he told me to bring it in the gates and he would let me park in his spot for free "until 2014." He even guided me into the tightest parallel parking spot I've ever seen - giving me a hard time for being American and not knowing how to park in anything but a large spot all marked out for me. What a great and lighthearted way to start our stay.

The room was old looking, but cute. It had a very cottagey sort of feel to it. It was extremely cold that day so we were glad to find that the heat worked VERY well.

So my advice is STAY HERE! The owner was superb with service and very entertaining on top of that. Oh, and the price is smoking for the proximity of this hotel to the main area. Trust me, book here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacoSEVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#28 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#31 of 46 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
#14 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#12 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#34 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel "Am Siebersturm"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Am Siebersturm"

Property: Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Address: Spitalgasse 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel "Am Siebersturm" 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in the heart of the medieval town Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel has a wonderfull view to the valley. Run by family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel "Am Siebersturm" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing