We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed the night of August 14.

Staff speaks limited English, but are very friendly. Rooms were quaint and cozy.

Wonderful place. Did not take breakfast so I can't speak for that.

Near the entrance to Rothenburg, so it is a little walk to the Markplatz

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ropee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We weren't sure how to enter the city by car so we parked outside and walked into the city. The hotel was easy to find and the owner speaks excellent English. Reception is in the restaurant. We actually kept our car in the public parking outside the city as there is an entrance to the city quite close to the hotel, plus it meant not having to try driving inside. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is quite good. It is just a short walk up to the main square. We had a family room with a double bed for us and bunk beds for the kids. The free wifi worked just fine for us. Breakfast is included in the cost and is served in the restaurant. Keep in mind that it is a more traditional breakfast -- eggs, cheese, meat, bread. There is cereal and yogurt available. Be sure to eat at least a lunch or dinner at the restaurant -- the food is excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amyegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We got a family room. We were a group of three and we got a room with double (two singles put together) and a bunk bed.
Kids would have loved it.
The building seems quite old but the room (especially the bathroom) seems to be have been renovated recently.
The bathroom is tiny, but clean and modern.
The bed was comfy too.

The location is superb.
After having dinner we took a tour of the town even though we didn't follow the night watchman.
Rothenburg is such a beautiful town and strolling around the town makes you feel as if you are walking into medieval era.

One downside. I booked the hotel informed that the hotel offers free parking (only two spots) so I wrote that we want to reserve a parking spot when booking.
When we arrived we were told that there's a parking fee of 6 EU at the hotel's parking spots. :(

As for the friendliness, the staff (owner family members, I think) are not that friendly. The middle aged guy didn't speak English (he was not speaking German either...) and seemed a bit sullen. A young lady we met the next morning at breakfast seems to speak some English but not very kind and attentive.

But still, I think the hotel was very good with its location and the room was pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sookyoung1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The pictures don't lie :)) this hotel is situated 2-3 doors down to the entrance of one of the clock towers into the medieval town. And you can park right in front of the hotel. When the owner learned that we had to leave early the next morning for Frankfurt Airport (therefore missing the breakfast that was included in the room price), he kindly upgraded us to bigger rooms. Just note that the bathrooms although modernised, are small. Also, as in most older hotels all over Europe, there are no lifts.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: there is one room on the 2nd Floor with a charming, 4poster bed ... might cost more ... but if you l...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneSequerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siebersturm, Manager at Hotel "Am Siebersturm", responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Am Siebersturm in Rothenburg for your stays and your valued comments.
It’s our pleasure to look after our guests and make them feel comfortable!

Thank you for your preferred recommendation.

Our team is pleased to hear that you will continue choosing our hotel for leisure.
Thank you for your views and highly recommend again.
We are expecting for your next visit sincerely under www.siebersturm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We wanted a clean bed at a reasonable price. We got that, and a beautiful view of the City wall and nearby countryside. The location is just a couple of blocks off the main square, in the old part of the City.We took a cab from the train station for 5 Euros and were immediately checked in by the owner/manager. We knew there was no elevator, so we were prepared for a hike up four stories to our room, but the room was nice, with a closet and a newer bath with a glass shower. The view was off the rear of the building. There's no restaurant, but breakfast is served in the lobby/dining room, including an assortment of cheeses, meat, and bread, cereal and fruits. There are many good restaurants close by.The owner speaks very good English, and is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear-facing rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siebersturm, Manager at Hotel "Am Siebersturm", responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Am Siebersturm in Rothenburg for your stays and your valued comments.
It’s our pleasure to look after our guests and make them feel comfortable!

Thank you for your preferred recommendation.

Our team is pleased to hear that you will continue choosing our hotel for leisure.
Thank you for your views and highly recommend again.
We are expecting for your next visit sincerely under www.siebersturm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, good location, small cosy rooms, well maintained, quiet and clean hotelroom. Staff friendly helpful. Breakfast nice and sufficient. Location ideal for visiting centre and parking the car.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeJee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siebersturm, Manager at Hotel "Am Siebersturm", responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Am Siebersturm in Rothenburg for your stays and your valued comments.
It’s our pleasure to look after our guests and make them feel comfortable!

Thank you for your preferred recommendation.

Our team is pleased to hear that you will continue choosing our hotel for leisure.
Thank you for your views and highly recommend again.
We are expecting for your next visit sincerely under www.siebersturm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The staff was great and the room was clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view. The location was great; it was still within the gates, but not directly in the city center. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyssaSeverts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siebersturm, Manager at Hotel "Am Siebersturm", responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Am Siebersturm in Rothenburg for your stays and your valued comments.
It’s our pleasure to look after our guests and make them feel comfortable!

Thank you for your preferred recommendation.

Our team is pleased to hear that you will continue choosing our hotel for leisure.
Thank you for your views and highly recommend again.
We are expecting for your next visit sincerely under www.siebersturm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#35 of 45 in Rothenburg
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#36 of 45 in Rothenburg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel "Am Siebersturm"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Am Siebersturm"

Address: Spitalgasse 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £64 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel "Am Siebersturm" 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in the heart of the medieval town Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel has a wonderfull view to the valley. Run by family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel "Am Siebersturm" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing