We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Zum Schwan

Zum Schwan
Ranked #22 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Cuisines: German
Description: It shows up on Google maps...and I went there a couple weeks ago. It is a small localish place just down from the main square.
Restaurant details
Description: It shows up on Google maps...and I went there a couple weeks ago. It is a small localish place just down from the main square.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our 2nd time to Zum Schwan. The service is friendly, and very good. The food is very good and there are many choices.
I highly recommend this restaurant for nice family dinning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathiewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Bad service, long wait”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were with a local, so it can't be blamed on language barrier. After a rude comment in the garden, we moved to the front. No one came to take an order, so my hubby and the local went in 3x to try to get served. Finally someone came and took our order. No apology. We had waited at least 30 minutes and had to wait probably another 30 for the food. When we wanted to leave it was the same story to get the bill. The good part was the food was tasty, filling and reasonably priced, but we will never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leiah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoflingen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Zum Schwan”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Big meals so we split and it was plenty. The prices were decent but even better when you share. We tried the local Taulber white wine and it was quite good. We sat out back in the beer garden. The wait staff was very helpful and they had an English menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

This was the first place we ate in Rothenburg and it was average. We had the cordon blue and championrahmschnitzel. We found the meat to be a little tough. It was good, but I just expected a little better. The waitress was nice, but seemed to not like being there. They have their own beer and I asked the style of beer, she said it was beer so I asked if it was a hefewiezen and she frustratingly said, "no, it's beer" and when I looked confused, she said "a pils." Perhaps it's my ignorance (is a hefe called a beer in Germany??), but I was surprised by the gruff attitude in such a touristy location. I'm sure she deals with her fair share of annoying tourists, but I didn't feel asking for help to pronounce a dish and what style of beer they had was annoying.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansbach, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy Kase Spaetzel”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We eat at this restaurant almost every time we go to Rothenburg odt. The servers speak English very well and have English menus if you need them. The food is excellent. I love their schnitzel and fries. Also their Kase Spaetzel is amazing! Comes with a salad and their dressing is very good. The prices are not so bad and the location is ideal to get back to your car if you parked in or near the P2 parking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdabelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Schwan also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Zum Schwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing