We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for this quaint town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights - both enjoyable. This is a small town- book early! We stayed in the main building- but I believe the building across the street is also part of this hotel.

TIPS:
1. If you are arriving late, phone ahead as the front desk closes down at 10pm. That may sound late-- but miss a train (like we did) and you're risking not getting in that night. I called ahead at 6pm to remind them we were on the way and the young man said "Oh good, people have asked about your room three times and I almost gave it away" (wait, what?! Check in is permitted until 10pm and you're going to charge me... so, "give it away"?) We got there at 7:45pm so no problem. But, we were the last check ins that day apparently.

2- The ELEVATOR also stops working around that time. You're asked to use your key to enter in a side door (totally lit and safe), but they forgot to mention no elevator. This was fine for us to walk up a few flights, but if you have someone who has mobility issues (such as my senior mother) this would've been a terrible shock. (*so note to the hotel- remind ALL guests, you never know by looking at them who has a bad knee...etc*)

3- the TOWN- it closes down early. After 8pm you'll find only 3 places serving food (besides the ice cream stores). Seriously- what's with that?! :-) But-- do stay in town- it's so lovely and magical at twilight. (if you do the math, you can figure out that that first night, we had trouble finding dinner!)

That's it. We also could never quite figure out how to make our air condition work properly- but that's our fault for not following up with that. it worked, we just couldn't get it cold enough.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely- I'd book the same room.

Room Tip: See my list of TIPS in the full note- but if you have trouble with stairs, ask for the lower floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckles92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We only stayed for one night at this hotel, but it was a great stay! We traveled with my in-laws and we both had very nice, renovated rooms on 2 different floors. The hotel is definitely more like a guest house and is incredibly charming. You can easily walk anywhere in Rothenburg from the hotel, so we were able to park our car in their lot and leave it until we left the next day. Breakfast was included in our rate which was a very nice treat. They had a lot of cold meats, bread, fruit, and yogurt plus made to order eggs. We picked this hotel specifically because it had parking, a/c, and breakfast included. We were not disappointed by any of these three things. We booked this hotel through hotels.com and prepaid the room rate. My in-laws used booking.com and prepaid as well. We had no issues using either of these reservation sites. Highly recommend this hotel for someone looking for a hotel with lots of charm and character in the quaintest little town in all of Germany. You don't necessarily need to stay in Rothenburg for more than one day, but it was certainly a great day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinnegirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Check-in was smooth. Did not get a good room the first night (room10). We had corresponded months earlier but the room suggested by them was not available that day. We picked this hotel because the rooms had a/c. Unfortunately the first room was not laid out well, only had one window far from the bed, barely any natural light. The a/c was useless and there was no way to get a breeze on that side of the hotel. So pretty much a sleepless night. Manager a little grumpy when we asked to move the next day but he did accommodate our request.

Second night in room 9 was a total different experience. Cooler Room (2 a/c units) and a bunch of windows. So tons of natural light and natural breezes with the windows open.

Both rooms had a mini-bar and safe.

Had dinner at the hotel one night - very good.
Breakfast was ok. Nothing special - but they will cook eggs to order.

Walk from train station was a bit long dragging luggage behind us. We opted for cab back to the train station (7 eu). Grocery outside the wall very reasonable. Found pretty good sushi and Italian food close by. Recommend night watchman tour.

Overall, very charming town worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for room 9. A/C does not cool rooms well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suelivesinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed 2 nites July 30 & 31. We arrived by train from Wurzburg around noon and were delighted that our room was ready for immediate check-in, no formalities at check-in, courteous desk clerk just checked us off his list and gave us a key and showed us to the room, good elevator. Taxi to the hotel was under 7 euros each way, it seems like a bunch of really nice friendly ladies have cornered the cabbie market in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. We had a long-standing booking of the standard room which looked just like its pictures on the booking engine we had used. Good A/C. Really good water pressure and immediate hot water in large bathroom, washcloths, ample towels and bathmats, full-size shower enclosure with a good adjustable pole-mounted shower head that stayed where you put it, and never had a problem with water spraying out of the shower stall onto the floor. Very good modern TV with countless selection of satellite channels including Bloomberg, CNN, BBC, CNBC, Russian Television (in English), maybe a few others English speaking. Excellent comfortable bed, again the two-in-one setup, but the beds did not have any noticeable separation during the night. The hotel's location was ideal for exploring the compact historic old center, easy walk to everything of interest. It turned out that the restaurant is a separate operation from the hotel, as we I discovered the day following check-in when I wanted to put the drinks tab on my room. No can do dat. We arrived on a Monday, which is a closed day for many establishments including the restaurant at the BurgGartenpalais. We were able to get very good pork dinners at the "other" restaurant immediately next door that night, recommended by Rick Steves, too much food actually, very reasonably priced. We enjoyed great budget friendly Italian at another Rick Steves recommended place our second nite so we can't offer an opinion on the "hotel" restaurant - except that they have a delightful garden out back of the hotel, they have a fairly high-priced menu for our standards, and they put out the hotel's absolutely wonderful breakfast buffet which was included in the price of the room. The buffet breakfast had just about everything you could possibly hope for, so I won't go into further detail.

This is a very good hotel which we can easily recommend and at which we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myomayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had stayed at another hotel in Rothenburg where the walls were paper-thin and was worried that all hotels in the area would be like that! However as other reviewers have said, the hotel has been renovated but maintains its old-fashioned charm. We were there in a very hot period so we were so thankful for the air-conditioned rooms! The staff was friendly. Although the hotel advertises plenty of parking, they only have 2 spots in the front that you have to pay 5 euro to park in overnight. Then you have to move your car and try to find an open spot. It worked out fine but just beware. The location is great -- inside the wall but not a problem to get to and close to everything you want to see. The only problem we had was the hair dryer and face mirror in our bathroom need a little work.

Room Tip: We had a standard double on the backside and our in-laws had a superior double on the front side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We called and let them know we were checking in late. They checked us in At Midnight With No Problems. Loved This Little Hotel AnD Would Stay Here Again Without Hesitation. Complimentary Breakfast Was Outstanding. Thanks For A Great Stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperHogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The contrast in this place to the many other places we stayed during our trip for only a few euros less was unbelievable. The building is one of the original eight century old wonders of this historic village. The greeting by the proffesionally dressed manager interrupted from his luncheon was most gracious as we tried not to drip too much from our soaked motorcyle gear. The spotless room had been renovated with fine modern materials. What a challenge it must be to install four seasons climate control in these ancient buildings. Dinner and the buffet breakfast were superb and we were lent an umbrella when needed and allowed a spot to stow our riding gear while shopping in the morning. The free Internet was a real benefit to us as well. I am extremely grateful for this lucky find that provided my wife with a little bit of luxury after being subjected to some less than comfortable conditions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibertyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BurgGartenpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BurgGartenpalais

Address: Herrngasse 26, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BurgGartenpalais 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is not difficult to find a room for the nights in Rothenburg. One of the loveliest is to be found in the Herrngasse. It goes without saying that to live in a building from the Middle Ages has its attractions. Not luxurious, perhaps, but very comfortable, yet homely in the best sense. The atmosphere is welcoming and friendly, so that an enjoyable stay is assurd. One of the oldest nobleman`s house with individual and stylish interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel BurgGartenpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing