We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service!”

Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen
Ranked #6 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Breakfast was one of our best in Europe! Dinner was great, especially if you are looking for a high end meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Star_Buck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    25
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here and had breakfast from there kitchen each day. It was bountiful, fresh, and tasty. The kitchen wasn't open for dinner while we were there, so we didn't experience other meals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The food is amazing. True high-end food where the food and service live up to the price. Ate there multiple times on this trip and would go back again anytime.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CEHMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiratsuka Japan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Really Fine Upscale Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We ate here twice during a recent trip to the area. The restaurant is basically in the lobby of the hotel of the same name, and offers rather limited seating, so reservations would be highly recommended. Even though the service can be a bit spotty since the service staff also serves the hotel and sometimes disappear. Service is professional and totally competent although a refresher on the appropriate glass to use with wine types would make the service more appropriate to the prices charged. Not being a snob here, but a heavy red deserves better than a Riesling glass. The correct glasses were clearly available as they were provided to other tables, but for some reason not to me.

The food on the other hand can only be described as exquisite. It is obviously prepared from fresh ingredients, and the chef is clearly classically trained, while innovative. The wine list is good, with fine local and Fraconian selections predominating.

When we visited the clientele seemed to be mostly well dressed local people celebrating special occasions. It was not tourists, I presume because the prices can be higher than average for the town. The food is upscale and certainly not what might be described as typical regional fare.

I really have very little in the way of criticism save the very busy wait staff. I would certainly dine here again should I find myself in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had all trip!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room, welcoming staff and magnificent food! You must eat here when you come to Rothenburg ob der Tauber! We had the scallops and the oxtail appetizer. Then we had the lamb, wild boar, sea bass and duck entrees. All 4 were outstanding!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbduvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing