We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant not quite there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
347 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Restaurant not quite there yet”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We wanted to try something different a bit lighter than the copious traditional German cuisine. The cadre was pleasant, well-appointed with good quality furnishings.
The waitress was very good, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She was serving all the tables that evening not sure if that is always the case as it was over the Easter period fortunately the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy.
The food looked good, but the flavours and cooking isn’t quite there yet. Parts of the meal were either under/overcooked not seasoned correctly and the textures were a bit strange. This could have been a bad day for the chef as there is definitely potential there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    79
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
42
157
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mittermeier for 4 nights and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel itself is adorable with lovely rooms. Our room was spacious and looked out over the Main Street and just across the street from one of the main entrances to the walled town of Rothenburg. I have to mention that the shower was great with a heavy rain shower effect.
Natasha was the person managing the desk when we checked in. She was great! She brought us up to our room & made sure we were happy with everything. We had some special requests that she made sure we were satisfied. She provided suggestions and assisted with any questions we had. During the morning hours Caroline managed the check in desk and she was great too. I had asked about Munich & she provided a detailed map and points of interest to visit. The service was so pleasant and friendly. The service was first class.
I would also suggest if you stay take advantage of the breakfast. We did for four mornings and everyday was delicious. I did not catch the name of the lady who managed the breakfast crowd, but she was full of life. Very energetic and accommodating. Have the eggs, any style, these were great! The eggs are cooked to order and there is an amazing buffet selection. So good I did not eat lunch once the four days we were there.
I absolutely recommend this hotel. You feel at home while being pampered!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
308 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

But the room was so small, that the bed was against the wall on my side. I know, it was probably bigger when the bath was down the hall back in the 1800's..... Not the bath is quite nice, but there's not a lot left of the room. Oh well, enjoy the town and sleep away. The staff of the hotel is excellent, parking is convenient and free, and they have one of those Nespresso machines that makes a great cup of room coffee. Excellent breakfast included, and very convenient to the city entrance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Mittermeier is a wonderful hotel - it's an older mansion-like building with completely unique, somewhat crazy rooms. Fantastic! My husband and I stayed in one all done in black and yellow with spectacular wallpaper and my sons in a blue and white room. Excellent coffee machines in the rooms and all else was great - clean and comfortable. The staff was superb and the location is perfect. The restaurant was very good, too! I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this hotel, I really cannot. I would return for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleWisteria56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a sweet hotel. The decor was fabulous. Our room was bright and spacious - our daughter loved the pink theme. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and the food was spectacular - fit for foodies. The buffet breakfast was perfect, excellent selection. The location is convenient, right outside the wall. A short stroll from the main square.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel and the restaurant are definitely well furnished and some rooms have a special charme, the food is good and the breakfast buffet is very good. it's just outside the old town, 5-10 minutes walk from the main square. it is quite expensive compared to other hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hectortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The decor in this hotel is unique and lovely. Everything is very tasteful. OUr room was beautifully furnished with the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee machine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and were not disappointed by the meal. The wine waiter brought us wines to match the food and his suggestions were excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel

Property: Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 9, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing