We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for overnight”
Review of Altes Brauhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altes Brauhaus
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed overnight in the quad room. Setup reminded me of an old dorm room...4 beds, a tv, a closet, nightstands, couple of chairs, and a table all in an open space. Space was good though. Only problem was the room had a funny smell...maybe from a pet? Location was good. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed for one night on a south Germany trip. We got a really nice big suite directly under the roof. Boy oh boy what a view over the rooftops of Rothenburg with a nice sunset!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

As a family party of 10, we spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. We booked 1 x double and 2 x quadruple. The doubles were spacious but the the quad rooms were HUGE (possibly the biggest I've stayed in, in any hotel) and well equiped. They bathrooms were spacious too. The hotel itself is a lovely building steeped in character (as you would expect in this treasure of a town). The breakfast room was an amazing room and the breakfasts were just as amazing at only an unbelievable 5 euro per night!! The next hotel we stayed at in the french alps charged 15 euro per night and was much more inferior. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms but they did offer a complimentary bottle of water and packs of Haribo on the beds each day, which I thought was a nice touch. Although this is not a negative against the hotel, it is worth mentioning that there is not what you would call much of a public bar area or a place to get tea or coffee. The person at reception will serve you a limited choice of beer or wine and will go off to the kitchen to make coffee, but it did take quite along time and it left the reception area unattended. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northamptonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It is a wonderful little hotel that is pure southern German. It is also a great value. You are centrally located, just a few steps off the main drag and quick walk to the shops. A walk around the city wall is also worth the effort. We had no problem parking under the hotel but had a choice of an outdoor garage too,.You got a wonderful German breakfast with fresh rolls, cold cuts, boiled eggs etc. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizVeniceFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel Altes Brauhaus was nicely renovated and the staff was very friendly. If you are driving, be sure to reserve a parking space right away. (regardless of what the booking website may say)

We thought there was an actual biergarten at the hotel, but there was not. You can buy a bottle of beer at the front desk if you wish. There is also a vending machine with a few snacks.

The pillows are those HUGE european ones, we all had kinks in our necks after the rather sleepless night. Because there is no A/C, we had to have the windows open & of course that allows all sorts of bugs & noise in.

Breakfast was a typical European buffet style with eggs, deli meats & cheese, yogurt, granola, rolls, cereal, coffee & juice. The fee, if not included in your room rate is €5 per person.

The location was good. Because the day we went, there was a festival going on & no vehicles were allowed to drive in or out of the walled city. Thankfully, it wasn't a bad walk from the gate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredithm1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Rothenburg is a must! Lovely medieval city, inside castle walls. Very touristic, but even so it deserves the visit. We choose this hotel for its location and because it was announced as a 4 star hotel, with good reviews (in general).
Well, the truth is that in what concerns location, it is not easy to find if you don't know the city, but once familiar to it things become more easy. The hotel is quiet big for the Rothenburg standards, but with the exception of the beautiful breakfast and restaurant room, all the rest is very sad and boring. Please be aware that if it is raining you don't have absolutely nothing to do in the hotel.
The rooms are equipped with cheap and very basic furniture, the same kind you can find in a poor 2 star hotel. Even the TV is very small. With all the lights of the room switched on you can hardly read a newspaper.
Quiet and convenient location, nice staff, good breakfast, but that's it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAVPina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Ideally located, this is a nice hotel with clean, simple rooms. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good, and they have on-site parking. Perfect location for exploring the beautiful old city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFromBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#10 of 45 in Rothenburg
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#11 of 45 in Rothenburg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Brauhaus

Address: Wenggasse 24, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £96 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altes Brauhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altes Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Brauhaus Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing