We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely! :)”
Review of Altes Brauhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altes Brauhaus
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely! :)”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I love this hotel. I am definitely going back to Rothenburg and book a room there.
The room was spacious and very clean. Really liked the furniture and fixtures.
Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was Ok, they could make it better but the eating area had a lot of character. Didn't have to drive anywhere once I parked. Walked everywhere inside the wall. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFlores120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    75
    30
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
58
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here when my parents came to visit me and travel around Europe. Room was big but a bit dated. Our room had a balcony that overlooked a small garden. During our stay the hotel was so quiet it seemed that we were the only guests. Staff was nice, parking was good. Our only complaint was the heat in our room seemed to be on high with no way for us to turn it off. Overall the hotel was just average, nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I don't have too much to add to all the other 4 and 5 star reviews of this place. Huge room with four single beds, excellent updated bathroom. We were here in May, so didn't have the L&K of air conditioning problem. Nice garage to park the car in, elevator, good breakfast in an amazing room that wold be great for a bridal shower. Close to the city center, walking distance down charming cobblestone streets. We came for the Meister Trunk festival. Lots of people in period costumes and a cute mini Renaissance Faire type of thing. I would have liked to stay longer.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaryQU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We would recommend this hotel for its value, location, friendliness and the best breakfast we had during our entire European stay. The room was clean and spacious and the comfort of the bed was what we needed after being up for 30 some hours. Peace and quiet were in abundance. Our self-guided trip only scheduled one night in Rothenburg. If we pass thru here again, we'll stay longer and at the Altes Brauhaus.

John and Connie Bauer

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
711 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Rothenburg is a magical place, and there is no better place to stay than the Altes Brauhaus. We were in the top floor of the old building: the room was large, included a comfortable sitting area as well as a bed, and had amazingly up to date plumbing wedged in among its ancient exposed beams. The views over the rooftops were spectacular in the snow. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, and the parking is excellent. the one drawback is the breakfast: the dining area is large and gorgeous (good place for a wedding), but there are very limited food options. Of course, they don't charge much for the breakfast, so I guess it's a question of you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the top floor of the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great room for my wife and I on our honeymoon. We lucked out and got a room on the top floor, looking out on the town and the surrounding hills -- it's quite a view. The room was nice but basic, with a no-nonsense bathroom, a sofa and chair, and (as European hotels usually are) two double beds pushed together to form a full/queen bed. Staff was very polite and friendly; you may luck out and meet the hotel's resident friendly dog.

The icing on the cake was a mini bag of Haribo gummy bears on the pillows!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We found this hotel by chance. We think that we made a good choice. The location was perfect, close to most important attractions of the city. The staff were friendly (Klaus) , the room was clean, spacious and quiet. Nice shower, confy beds and good breakfast. Internet is free, but you have to use close to the reception. They have parking lot (+11 Euros). I would stay again there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNOBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#12 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Brauhaus

Property: Altes Brauhaus
Address: Wenggasse 24, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altes Brauhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altes Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Brauhaus Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing