We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Altes Brauhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altes Brauhaus
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We could not get enough of Rothenburg, so we went back! We wanted to stay inside Rothenburg and be able to park our car inside the wall and walk around. We decided to stay at Altes Brauhaus and we were very happy we did. The room was very nice and quite large. The location is excellent and we would highly recommend staying here. The breakfast buffet was nice but there selection was small. Overall we loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our first stop on our 8 night holiday in Europe was Rothenburg. We landed early in the morning in Frankfurt, picked up the rental car and arrived at the Altes Brauhaus by noon. To our delight our room was ready and they had a place for us to park our car (the parking garage below the hotel is a fantastic feature). We had a room for 4 people which is rare to find in Europe. The room was very spacious. The hotel was very authentic European with a nice upgraded lobby. It was a lovely small hotel feel in the most authentic medieval town in Europe. Beds had some gummy bears on them upon arrival. Wi-Fi was free, staff was helpful for things to do, see, and what to eat. The whole hotel is very clean! Breakfast was the best during our entire trip - worth the extra money! The location of this hotel is just down the main street which is very ideal. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling - we only spent one night there and that was plenty of time in Rothenburg but wish we had more hotels on the trip like the Altes Brauhaus!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

WE had a family vacation along the Romantic Road of Germany. Rothenburg and Dinkhelsbuhl were probably our favorite villages on the trip. We stayed overnight one night at Altes Brauhaus. It was convenient and very comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and the room it was served in had an authentic feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Altes Brauhaus while visiting the Christmas markets and truly enjoyed everything about the hotel. As it was winter, the indoor parking was a very welcome surprise. Our room on the top floor was very comfortable and provided a great view of the city and surrounding area. Very convenient to everything in this spectacular city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel in ROthenburg. Room was nice, clean and spacious. With a good sized bathroom.
Shame that breakfast was not included but a very expensive extra.
The room itself was difficult to find as there are 2 houses and it was not clear which lift to the correct floor was required. No Parking available, The car was parked in a Public Carpark outside of the City Wall, about 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanZiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I had the recent pleasure to stay in the Jr. Suite at the Altes Brau Haus this past weekend. The room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities you would need. The hotel was booked to capacity, yet quiet. Parking is convenient in the underground garage and only 11 euros/nite. Breakfast was traditional German style variety for a mere 5 euros, and offered plenty. The location of this hotel is superb and centrally located to the market square for strolling, shopping and all the various attractions. The staff were friendly, accommodating and spoke dual German/English to make things very easy. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The suites are definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADW-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations, in terms of quality and value. The rooms were refurbished recently and everything was new. The details were noticed and appreciated -- e.g., the new floors in the bathroom were pleasant on the feet -- not too cold. The bedding was comfortable and the room size was a nice surprise. I did not eat there, so I cannot judge the food, but the hotel staff was more than happy to pour a whiskey or beer for us and enjoy with a cigar outside in their biergarten.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the 3rd floor presented an excellent view overlooking the altes stadt, which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#11 of 45 in Rothenburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Brauhaus

Address: Wenggasse 24, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £97 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altes Brauhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altes Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Brauhaus Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing