We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and romantic hotel with top warm sphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

In the main street, only 2 minutes from market on a quiet spot was this nice, romantic, hotel our most luxurious hotel of our trip to romantische strasse. Nice room and large bathroom ( no. 10) with very nice breakfast room, very old building, but nice renovated. Friendly girls in local dirndl clothes served the breakfast, the car was parked in front of the hotel with low cost parking permit of the hotel. In short, we can recommend this hotel as top-hotel of Rothenburg.

Room Tip: we shared room 10 1e floor, at the backside, very quiet, big bathroom. Car with hotel permit within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in early July 2013 - we stayed in the top floor suite. I love that room because it is extra spacious and we had our own balcony overlooking the countryside where we spent each night with a glass of wine overlooking the city wall and country. The location was perfect for a short walk to the main square and the staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was great and the decor of the hotel is really neat. You feel like you are really experiencing a sense of the Rothenburg times staying in this hotel. I was concerned that it may be hot on the top floor with no air conditioning, but we just opened the shutters and it was perfect! The town quiets down by 10pm so we didn't have any issues with noise either. I recommend this hotel and the top floor suite is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel was in the exact perfect place for walking everywhere and it was absolutely charming. The bed was comfortable, the bath was huge and well equipped and the décor was wonderful. Our room looked out over the street and was quiet. We wished we had more time to stay there. Rothenburg was our favorite town for shopping and walking around. Don't miss the Night Watchman's Tour or "Hell" Restaurant. Both were terrific.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe room. They are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I don't think you can go wrong with any hotel in Rothenberg. Your challenge is to choose between all the options. We did not take the train. We have a large car and were able to park on street for 5 euro (the hotel sold us the town parking permit to display on the dash) in a designated parking spot within meters of the hotel. Our GPS easily navigated thru the maze of one-way streets to get to the hotel. It is very conveniently located 100m from the main square, and 2 doors down from Hotel Eisenhut.
This particular hotel has parts that date back to the 1360s, but you'd never know it thru lack of amenities. The photographs on the website are very accurate. We stayed in room 10. It had no view to speak of, but the bathroom was huge with very modern shower and jetted tub and a double sink/vanity. We enjoyed a small sofa, coffee table and writing desk on one end of the room, and a double bed frame with two, single mattresses. In this bed, the seam was not very pronounced. The pillows are large, but flat. You can request others/additional pillows if you want a more robust pillow. There is a large, multi-purpose reception room as you enter the hotel. It is here you'd have breakfast, coffee and pastries during the day, or a cocktail in a cafe-style seating area. Breakfast was a small buffet style with a reasonable selection: cereals, cold meats, smoked salmon, cheeses, breads , fruit, sausages and eggs made to order brought to the table. You could choose from a variety of fruit juices, teas, or have coffee or sparkling wine for a mimosa. The owner, Axel, was friendly and gave recommendations for dining and places to visit. He was ably supported by a small, willing and friendly staff proficient in English and German. Axel said he attempted to create a home away from home and we think he succeeded.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. It had no view to speak of, but the bathroom was huge with very modern shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vballfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a great time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We even left our lame Pomeranian with "Uncle Axel" for a few hours while we shopped. The location is great and it is very easy to see so much in the old town. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved this hotel! We stayed 2 nights. It is over 700 years old and has a tremendous amount of charm. The staff was incredibly friendly and hospitable. The included breakfast was simple, but excellent. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. The bathroom is very large with a large bathtub and good sized shower. Our view from our window was amazing. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the walled city and is close to everything. Will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teethfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

To start the building is over 700 years old and was very nicely remodeled. Located inside the ancient walled city of Rothenburg and within walking distance to everything. Our suite was very large by local standards and had a large bathroom. Showering was a challenge since there was no shower curtain. The sitting room had wall to wall windows facing the street and a small fridge which we made use of. Upon request a tall fan was provided for our comfort. The beer vending machine on the main floor came in handy after hours. The proprietor, Axel Rüter, was very helpful and most professional, he would bend over backwards to make you happy. Breakfast was a delicious buffet with eggs to order. It is a really nice place from which to see the city.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nchaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £90 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing