We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE This Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We made a last minute change to our vacation as we wished to visit Rothenburg before departing from Frankfurt. We consulted TA and inquired on this property...and luckily had one room available for us. Easy access and super location---under a 5 minute walk to the Marketplaz. Our room (22) overlooked the street . Spacious room with huge bathroom. Staff was exceptional at every encounter. Breakfast was included and offered a huge array of items...including eggs to order. We would stay no where else!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idlespur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days in May and just loved the hotel. The staff were so wonderful and willing to help you with whatever question or request. The room was so nice and the corner jacuzzi tub was huge. The hotel was within walking steps the main plaza, city hall, shops and restaurants.
Can't say anything bad about this hotel. Would definitely go back.
A must when you are in Rothenburg is to take the Nightman's watch tour. So much fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Biggzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent 3 nights in this historic hotel, so quaint and cosy, staff excellent. Loved the wooden floorboards and antique furniture is just lovely. Although the room was quite small it had a spa in the generous sized bathroom which was very relaxing after a day spent exploring this beautiful old town, they also supplied candles and matches....nice touch! Parking is on the street and cost 9 euro per day not a huge problem because it is in such a great location so we have come to expect it travelling around Europe in busy towns or cities. Plenty of lovely restaurants in the area also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

As a family of 5 (one infant and twin toddlers), it's not always easy to find the right size room that can accommodate all of us without being too crowded.

This year's Germany trip started with a short stay in the equally picturesque as touristic town of Rothenburg. It's certainly the goal to stay in the historic town and despite the plethora of hotels, there are not too many that can accommodate our family.

This hotel fits the bill. Room 21 was beautiful and spacious with a large bathroom attached. Service was great and staff friendly and very helpful.

If I had to think of something to complain about it's probably the lack of an in house restaurant or bar. Breakfast is provided though. The buffet style breakfast wasn't the most amazing I've seen in this price range, but it wasn't bad either.

Overall we were very happy with the rooms, service and location of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is pretty much everything you expect when planning a trip to and staying in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. It oozes medieval romance and is full of character.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, starting from check-in to the waiting staff. The location is right in the center of town, which naturally brings with it the difficulty to find a parking spot, but this also is efficiently solved by the reception.
Though the hotel does not offer a fully fledged restaurant, a snack menu is offered and the cakes in the display are fantastic, as is the breakfast!!!

The first word that comes to mind to describe the guest room is cute. Although the hotel appears to be almost unimpressive from the outside, the rooms are beautifully furnished, confirming the impression that you are indeed in a very old building. This does not mean that you will not find all modern amenities you are accustomed to.
Another nice touch are the complimentary non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar!
The bathroom is vast with a beautiful bath-tub, separate shower and two wash basins. In fact I am sure to have stayed in hotel rooms smaller than this bathroom...
I cannot judge if other hotels in Rothenburg are better than the Hotel Gotisches Haus. I only know it was exactly what we hoped for and that we would choose it again any time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hotelier3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Choose this hotel in Rothenburg if you like a cozy, friendly,comfortable and charming place to stay. As others note, the building is 700 years old. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The owner, Axel is welcoming and does everything possible to assure guests are comfortable. Breakfast was great. There is not a lights out at 7 policy as mentioned by others. It is true that if no additional guests are to check in, the lobby is not attended later in the evening. Your room key accesses the hotel entrance and automatic lights come on. This is not creepy but a fairly common practice for small establishments in Europe. The hotel is conveniently located. We were delighted in every way and would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 3 have slanted cielings. This is quant, but if you don't like it ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We did not stay here, but our guide told us it was the best streudel in Rothenburg, she was not wrong. Apfel Streudel, homemade, served with cream and icecream 3.80 euros. We had coffee with it, and had an amazing dessert experience. This hotel is in the same street as the Christmas shop and Teddyland. This is a great stop after retail therapy.

Room Tip: Eat inside in the quiet library area, away from the crowds on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
640 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing