We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of old world charm”
Review of Hotel Raidel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Raidel
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Little Neck, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Full of old world charm”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Amazing is the word that best describes this hotel. First the price is bargain 69 Euros for a double room. Second the location in the heart of the old town is simply amazing, everything is within easy walking distance. Third the owner and staff are friendly and helpful. Fourth the breakfast included is very nice, Lastly the old world charm this hotel oozed from everywhere simply cannot be matched. The creaking stairs, old furniture and bookcases and other little charms fail to have adequate words describe them We fell in love with this hotel after only one night, if you are planning to stay in Rothenburg definitely give this hotel a try. You will feel you have walked into a story book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGreco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We loved this place. After our last hotel cancelled our reservation we called hotel Raidel and the owner was willing to wait for us and give us a room. Very evenly priced and a very friendly owner. This place was worth it for the homey feel and the welcome we received from the owner. The breakfast was great and the whole place was like a step back in time. The room was great with a nice bed. The shower was a little dated, but still worth it. Close to the center of Rothenburg and about a ten minute walk from the train station. The owner also let us leave our luggage after we checked out so we could tour the town a little.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I just happened on this hotel, unfortunately they only had room for me for one night. The room was small but simple, however it was perfectly located, Internet was great and the service was fantastic! Breakfast was lovely with juice,meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, egg and coffee. I would recommend it to any single female traveler as well because it was also very safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chikilove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Such a cute hotel! More like a B&B. Old, charming, quaint house. Breakfast is included. I paid 69 Euros for 1 night in May, standard room with double bed and private bath. Mr. Raidel is a kind older man, helpful and accomdating. This hotel is within the town's old wall, extremely close to the center of town/town hall (maybe a 3-4 min walk) called Marktplatz. Basically every great Rothenburg ODT attraction is a 1-10 minute walk. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were in Rothenburg for a night and stayed at this hotel, which met our needs for a night. The hotel is antique and has lots of character, but had an indeterminable creepy and dark feel to it. I think this was mostly due to us being the only guests at the time in this huge house converted to hotel. The owner is accomodating, but not so personable for someone in the hospitality business. We had a triple room that was spacious with an en-suite bathroom. It was decently clean, although a good scrubbing would have helped. The room faced the street and there was a lot of early morning traffic that woke us up. We are typically not light sleepers, but it was enough to bring us to an early rise, which was okay because we wanted to get out and tour anyway.
The breakfast is basic-- store bought jams and meats and cheese, with an addition of what seemed to be a homebaked pastry.

We had a nice enough stay, although on return to Rothenburg we would probably stay somewhere else.

The best thing about this hotel is its location-- right up the little road from what I would term "central" Rothenburg, cute shops, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwanderer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in 3 rooms: 2nd floor my husband and I and 3rd floor 2 adjoining rooms with 2 teenagers in each. We knew from Rick Steve's book that this would be a rustic-charmer, but wished the toilet wasn't so. It ran constantly and my husband did some quick plumbing repair and we tried to explain with our limited German to Mr. Raidel. Mr. Raidel is very kind and quite the craftsman; all the wood work he has done himself. Breakfast was served by Mr. Raidel and traditional German food which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idgrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the Raidel Gueshouse many years ago, Mrs Raidel became a friend and we spent hours talking in a mixture of german, english and romanian - quite an effort but our hands came in handy too. The guesthouse is average but it has become one of the highlights of our life, Rothenburg is a step back in time and the many toyshops are enchanting.
We also met Mrs Raidel's son and would recommend this place to anyone. Many many fond memories.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altes Brauhaus
Altes Brauhaus
#16 of 45 in Rothenburg
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raidel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raidel

Property: Hotel Raidel
Address: Wenggasse 3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 164

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing