We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Cafe Uhl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Returned to Rothenburg hoping I wouldn't be disappointed. I needn't have worried, it surpassed my memories of 35 years ago. What an amazing, fairy tale place! Cafe Uhl is a bakery which serves wonderful cakes and pastries. The breakfast was served in the bakery and was great. Our accommodation, for my husband, myself and our teenage son, was in a nearby apartment. The accommodation itself consisted of an open plan living/sleeping area which included cooking facilities. There was a separate bathroom. All was clean and well-furnished. The block was shared with another apartment owned by someone else. Unfortunately during our stay there was a large amount of rubbish in the yard outside. We let the owner know and he apologised.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the bakery itself rather than the separate annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    66
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
54
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I loved this place. The Wi-Fi is weak which might be a problem with some, but not me.
We got 2 rooms. My son got a cute room upstairs, attic style. Just perfect.
Bathrooms are all brand new and renovated. Downstairs , like most other gasthof, is a café/restaurant. We ate there the whole time. Really friendly staff.

Room Tip: This is a beautiful place. highly recommended. I saw other families also, American, and they were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Rothenburg with limited time to explore the township. This Cafe is located away from the main marketplace so was not busy.

Service was quick as was the preparation of our lunch. The quality of the lunch was good and serving ample.

We returned later in the afternoon for a coffee and cake which was sufficient for 2 people. (Please disregard room rating but could not delete)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our group of 6 stayed overnight in this charming hotel. Above all, it has a great location. Rooms are cozy. Walking distance to all the attractions and eateries. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, but the pastries at the counter facing the street are some of the best, a little like fantasy island for your taste buds! Parking is tight, but that is to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for two days in this cozy and charming inn and just loved it! The location is just perfect, walking distance from nice restaurants and attractions, a few steps from the Siebers Tower. The staff is really helpful and friendly and treats you as special guests. Breakfast is simple but good, including delicious pastries from their bakery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Perfect location. The room is spacious and clean. The parking garage is in a short walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great. There is no elevator but the staff can help you with the luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

In "Hotel Cafe Uhl", the Cafe is the thing to remember. They offer a modestly rich fare of local dishes, but of consistent quality. But they excel in pastries and chocolate pralines which they sell in the Cafe facing the Schmiedgasse. Would come here and eat and enjoy their food again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#33 of 45 in Rothenburg
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#15 of 45 in Rothenburg
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Uhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Uhl

Property: Hotel Cafe Uhl
Address: Ploenlein 6-8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cafe Uhl 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cafe Uhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing