We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Due to a reservation mixup (my fault) at another hotel, the other hotel referred us to this one, which had a room available at a similar price. They showed us three different rooms, at different prices, and let us choose.

The room appeared to be recently refurbished, was quite clean, modern and comfortable, and looked over the cafe-table-covered street below.

The location is perfect; the town square was a short block away. (After staying here I can't imagine staying at the hotels outside the wall.)

The staff were not always present, but were friendly and helpful when found.

Breakfast was very good in a roomy, pleasant dining room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillInSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2008

It is average in nearly every way. While it has a fine location, the old city is so small that you are no more than a 5 minute walk from anything! Over-priced restaurant. The included breakfast was below-average and service was poor. Granted, we came down late (9am) but were essentially subjected to the scraps left by those before us. Note to any traveler: If you discover that a contingent of bicyclists are staying at your place, get down to eat early. They (cyclists) will eat nearly everything in sight and then take whatever they do not with them. That said, the room was good-sized and comfortable but it seems they charge a premium price for less-than-premium accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tobolski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived minutes before the Rothenburg Night Watchman's tour began, and explained that we did not
want to miss this tour on our only night in Rothenburg. The staff
stored our bags for us, told us we could worry about the checkin later, and gave us directions to meet the Night Watchman. These directions were easy, as this hotel is in a prime location right near the town center.

The temperature in Rothenburg was unusually warm for May, at close to 90 degress Fahrenheit. This hotel doesn't have air conditioning, and the floors get warmer and warmer as you move up. Unfortunately we
were on the top floor, making the room quite uncomfortable. I don't know whether any other hotels in Rothenburg have air conditioning, but this is something to consider if travelling there in the summer. If staying at this hotel, try requesting a lower floor.

The room itself was quite nice. The bathroom seemed recently updated.
The bed was of average comfort. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff spoke English well. No internet access that I was aware of, but didn't need it for just one night.

If using their parking garage, be sure to get clear directions. The garage is in back of the hotel, so navigating through the one-way streets to get there was not so obvious.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Rothenburg is a lovely town with many beautiful guesthouses and hotels, but zur Sonne is well located, very clean and quiet, it has a nice restaurant and friendly staff. Our room was really big and quiet, breakfast was nice and we had no problems during our stay. We would like recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.
Maristela and Rodrigo

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maris05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

The Gasthof zur Sonne is an excellent Gasthof and Restaurant managed by Klaus Sackenreuther and family. The property is located in a pedestrian only [car free] Fußgängerzone only 30 yards from the Rathaus town square and 75 yards to the main Käthe Wohlfahrt store. However, it is too far to walk from the Bahnhof but the taxi fare was only 4 €.
Our 3-day visit was during the second weekend of the Christmas Markt. Klaus greeted us and the entire staff was overwhelmly friendly and spoke very good English. You will find a reserved table for Frühstück, which consisted of the basic breads, cold cut meats, cheeses, yogurt and cereal. There was a nice selection of typical German food and wine from the restaurant menu.
There is a mini-Mart across the street and a larger market with beer a short walk away. Our room, Zimmer #1, did not have a minibar but a window ledge always works well for us.
We booked our stay directly with Klaus and his reply to our e-mails was always prompt. TA does not allow me to post their www or e-mail address but you can look it up. Their location and price [73 €] were by far superior to any of the other hotels that I had contacted.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jasmine_H_0v0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne

Address: Hafengasse 11, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing